Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

English 544 - Milton: Books at Purdue

List of Rare Books at Purdue Pertaining to Milton

L'allegro ; Il penseroso / by Milton, John, 1608-1674. Published: 1954

Call Number: 821 M64aL 1954; Located: Archives & Special Collections - Heritage Press

L'allegro; by Milton, John, 1608-1674. Published: 1954

Call Number: 808.86 M64a; Located: Archives & Special Collections - Bruce Rogers Collection

The masque of Comus; by Milton, John, 1608-1674. Published: 1954

Call Number: 821 M64cL2; Located: Archives & Special Collections - Limited Editions Club

The masque of Comus; the poem by Milton, John, 1608-1674. Published: 1957

Call Number: 821 M64cL; Located: Archives & Special Collections - Heritage Press

Paradise lost / by Milton, John, 1608-1674. Published: 1940

Call Number: 821 M64p8; Located: Archives & Special Collections - Heritage Press

Milton's Paradise lost / by Milton, John, 1608-1674. Published: 1880

Call Number: 821 M64p 1880; Located: Archives & Special Collections - General Collection

Paradise lost : and, Paradise regain'd / by Milton, John, 1608-1674. Published: 1936

Call Number: 821 M64p 1936; Located: Archives & Special Collections - Limited Editions (Oversized Book)

Joannis Miltoni Angli Pro populo anglicano […]. by Milton, John, 1608-1674. Published: 1652

Call Number: 923.142 C379szm; Located: Archives & Special Collections - Krannert Collection

A manifesto of the Lord protector of the commonwealth […] Published: 1738

Call Number: 972.903 G798d; Archives & Special Collections - Krannert Collection

A dictionary of the English language: in which the words are deduced from their originals, and illustrated in their different significations by examples from the best writers... by Johnson, Samuel, 1709-1784.Published: 1755

Call Number: 808.83 J636d;Located: Archives & Special Collections (Oversized Book)

An American dictionary of the English language : containing the whole vocabulary of the first edition in two volumes quarto, the entire corrections and improvements of the... Webster's dictionary. by Webster, Noah, 1758-1843.Published: 1860

Call Number: 423 W39a 1860;Located: Archives & Special Collections - Krannert Collection

The Doré Bible gallery, containing one hundred superb illustrations, and a page of explanatory letter-press facing each. by Doré, Gustave, 1832-1883.Published: 1900

Call Number: 220.9 D73b 1900;Located: Archives & Special Collections - General Collection 

A True of the Journal of the High Court of Justice, for the tryal of K. Charles I, as it was read in the House of Commons, and attested under the hand of Phelps, clerk to that infamous court. Published: 1684

Call Number: 942.062 G798t  Located: Archives & Special Collections - Krannert Collection

Searching Books and Rare Books at Purdue

Searching for various works by Milton and other books relating to 17th century British Literature and Milton criticism can easily be done through our online catalog: http://www.lib.purdue.edu/

Some useful Library of Congress Subject Headings are:

Great Britain--History--Stuarts, 1603-1714.

Great Britain--Religion--17th century.

Milton, John, 1608-1674

Milton, John, 1608-1674--Bilbiography.

Milton, John, 1608-1674--Criticism and interpretation.

Milton, John, 1608-1674--Criticism, Textual.

Milton, John, 1608-1674. History of Britain

Remember that setting limits can help refine your searches.  The bar to the left of your search results allows you to search within a specific library, which is extremely useful for finding rare books in the Purdue Archives and Special Collections.  Limiting results to books or other formats, genres, topics, and languages will help you to locate the most useful of books for your studies. 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and Purdue UBorrow

Two excellent resources are Interlibrary Loan and UBorrow.  They are extremely useful when the Purdue Libraries does not have a book that you need or has a book that is currently checked out.  The main differences between Interlibrary Loan and UBorrow are: items requested through UBorrow are guaranteed a 12-week loan period with one four week renewal period and items should be received within 5-7 days. 

Request books through Interlibrary Loan: 

http://www.lib.purdue.edu/access/ill/#borrowing

Request books through UBorrow: 

http://uborrow.relaisd2d.com/index.html