Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Web of Science: Spreadsheet of metric terms and sources

Spreadsheet

Metric

Explanation

Sources

Impact Factor™

The trade marked number provided by ISI/Thompson Rutgers, that gives a quantitative indication of impact though the evaluation of citation rates.  This number underrepresents the field of education, and while it should be used when available its relative value should be considered lower than other indicators of impact.  Generally numbers closer to 1 are considered high.

Journal Citation Reports (ISI)

SCImago Journal & Country Rank (SJR)

This number provided by Scimago Lab and drawn from data provided by Elesvier in their Scopus databases that gives a quantitative indication of impact though the evaluation of citation rates. This number better represents the field of education, its relative value should be considered as higher than other numbers.  Generally higher numbers are considered to be better.

http://www.scimagojr.com/index.php

h-index

Developed by Hirsch this number indicates the productivity and impact of a scholar.  Most often used to represent individuals this a quantitative indication of impact though the evaluation of citation rates can also be calculated for individual publications including journals and books.  Sources derive the number from accessible online sources.  Its relative value should be considered as higher than other numbers.  Generally higher numbers are considered to be better.

http://www.scimagojr.com/index.php

http://www.harzing.com/pop.htm

Google Scholar Metrics

g-index

Developed by Egghe this number indicates the productivity of a scholar based on publication record.  .  Most often used to represent individuals this a quantitative indication of impact though the evaluation of citation rates can also be calculated for individual publications including journals and books.  Sources derive the number from accessible online sources.  Its relative value should be considered as higher than other numbers.  Generally higher numbers are considered to be better.

http://www.harzing.com/pop.htm

i10-index

Number of academic publications by an author that have at least 10 citations. Designed and implemented by Google.  Generally higher numbers are considered to be better. 

Google Scholar Metrics

Total Number of citations

A raw number of citations that has not been used to compute an factor or index from above.  Generally higher numbers are considered to be better.  Also can be used to show increase or decrease of citations over time.  Can also be shown for individual articles as well as for entire bodies of work.

http://www.harzing.com/pop.htm

Google Scholar Metrics

Number of downloads

An indication of how much a scholarly work has been used by others.  Gives a wide representation of use.   Generally higher numbers are considered to be better.

Database management systems

Libraries

Number of views

An indication of how much a scholarly work has been viewed by others.  Gives a wide representation of use.   Generally higher numbers are considered to be better.

Database management systems

Libraries

Number of links

An indication of how many times others have linked to or directed individuals to a scholarly work.  Gives a wide representation of use.   Generally higher numbers are considered to be better.

Database management systems

Libraries

Indexing Services

Indicates where the scholars work is indexed and presented.  Context and indications of prestige for databases or indexing services should be given.  Major databases for Education include: ERIC, Education Full Text, and PsycInfo are considered the most prestigious.

Cabell’s Directory

Ulrich’s

Publication Website

Libraries

Number of Subscribers/Readers

Indicates how many scholars/ readers interact with an individual publication or its outlet.  Indicators can also include number of copies sold for books and other formats.  Generally higher numbers are considered to be better.

Ulrich’s

Publication Website

Libraries

Personal Communication

Company Information

 

chart from Rachel Wadham <rachel_wadham@BYU.EDU>

Subject Guide

John Fritch's picture
John Fritch
Contact:
HSSE Library-Rm 346

(765) 49-46735

Links to databases