Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Parrish Library of Management & Economics
Find Full-Text Articles
ABI Inform Collection Featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Coverage is 1984 to current.
Business Source Complete Indexes and abstracts articles in business and management, marketing, MIS, accounting, finance, international business, and related disciplines. Provides indexing to more than 3,800 publications, including nearly 1,600+ peer-reviewed journals in business fields. Full text of over 3,000 periodicals including 1,000+ peer-reviewed journals.
Health Source Consumer Health Source Plus is a database of both general health magazines and professional health care journals. It includes full text from nearly 300 periodicals, nearly 1,200 pamphlets, 20 books, 7,000 Clinical Reference Systems reports, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and Clinical Pharmacology.
Materials Business File This database is a comprehensive index to world literature on the business and industry aspect of materials science, engineering, aerospace and advanced technologies. News, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade data, government regulations and management issues are all covered.
Coverage: 1985 - current
Security and Management Practices SMP provides access to reports covering topics like deploying network security appliances, using biometric technologies for network and physical security, managing organizational risk, planning for disruptions, securing the enterprise network and more. Access to all archived reports and a weekly digest to keep you on top of security industry-related news.
Risk Abstracts Provides coverage on risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. Risk-related concerns ranging from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects are included.
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports Covers over 800 companies and contains digital reproductions for more than 43,000 reports. Key data include: financial information; Fortune 500 ranking; industry classification; key people; location; auditor; and related companies.
Market Reports and Industry Overviews
Conducting Market Research
Market research involves finding and analyzing competitor information, demographics, and industry information. It is a combination of examining the existing products available to consumer and needs, expressed or unexpressed of the consumers themselves.
The databases and links available here will lead you to relevant, quality information. Further assistance is available by visiting the Reference Desk of the Parrish Management Management & Economics Library.
Identification and description of the customers
- Describe the potential customers
- Find statistics and demographic information
- Identify a target selling price
- Find similar products
- Identify a target sales quantity
- Determine how much it will cost to run your company and what the potential market will be
Customer and engineering requirements and target values
- Review recent research and federal regulations
Descriptions and analysis of competitive products and relevant patents
- Seek companies producing similar products
- Conduct effective patent research
IBISWorld Industry Reports Information on over 700 US Industries in the US economy. Classifying Industry Reports at the 5-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), IBISWorld Industry Reports are at the granular level covering industry-specific titles from the popular to the not so popular. Each Industry Report is some 35-50 pages in length with abridged, 6-page Executive Summaries also available.
BizMiner Bizminer contains detailed industry analysis to small and large businesses and entrepreneurs through its local and national Marketing Plan Research Profiles, Financial Analysis Profiles, Local Business Summaries, State Market Index Profiles. BizMiners proprietary research methodology tracks and analyzes the experience of over 18 million US business facilities, condensing millions of data points into the unique measures found in the profile series. Time Series: 2010-2014
Frost and Sullivan Direct access to Frost & Sullivan's business intelligence portfolio, providing practical industry insights and analysis with real-world statistics and research results. Provides the latest technology, company, econometric, demographic, and industry information. Industries covered include: Communication and IT, Transportation, Consumer Products, Healthcare, Environment and Energy, Aerospace and Defense, Electronics and Semiconductors, Chemicals, Materials and Food.
MarketResearch.com Academic Contains comprehensive full-text market research reports with broad range of coverage on markets, industries, and companies worldwide.
SimplyAnalytics SimplyAnalytics enables users to quickly create thematic maps and reports using thousands of U.S. demographic, business, and marketing variables. SimplyAnalytics contains extensive data including demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending (CEX), D&B business points-of-interest file, and marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI). Users have access to SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data with information on over 8,000 brands and 450 unique categories. Additionally, the EASI Life Stage Clusters classification system is available. Data is available at the State, Congressional District, County, City, ZIP Code, Census Tract and Block Group level as well as custom trade area and the entire United States.
Mintel Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US. Reports cover a variety of sectors including consumer goods, travel and tourism, financial industry, internet industry, retail, and food & drink. Reports discuss market drivers, market size & trends, market segmentation, supply structure, advertising and promotion, retail distribution, consumer characteristics, and market forecasts.
Coverage: Most recent two years
Note: Personal registration is recommended to avoid cutoffs due to excessive downloading.
BCC Market Research BCC Research contains market research reports, industry reviews, newsletters and conferences for competitive business intelligence.