Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Post-Communist Jewish Identities: Holocaust Commemoration

Annotated bibliographies on several aspects of the subject.

Holocaust Commemoration

This section was compiled by
Eunsol Kim.

Articles

Bar, Doron. "Holocaust Commemoration in Israel During the 1950s: The Holocaust Cellar on Mount Zion." Jewish Social Studies. 12.1 (2005): 16-38.

Baumel, Judith Tydor. "Articles - "In Perfect Faith": Jewish Religious Commemoration of the Holocaust." Studies in Religion. Sciences Religieuses. 30.1 (2001): 5.

Baumel-Schwartz, J.T. "Holocaust Commemoration." Tradition. 42.2 (2009): 99-100.

Brog, Mooli. "Victims and Victors: Holocaust and Military Commemoration in Israel Collective Memory." Israel Studies 8.3 (2003): 65-99. Historical Abstracts. EBSCO. Web. 16 Feb. 2010.

Chametzky, Peter. "Global Art, National Values, Monumental Compromises: "German" 9/11 Commemoration in America, "American" Holocaust Commemoration in Germany." The Massachusetts Review. 50.1 (2009): 155.

Dejung, Christof. "Review Article: A Past That Refuses to Pass: The Commemoration of the Second World War and the Holocaust." Journal of Contemporary History. 43.4 (2008): 701-710.

Feldman, Jeffrey D. "Museum Anthropology - Review Essays - One Tragedy in Reference to Another: September 11 and the Obligations of Museum Commemoration - Yahrzeit: September 11 Observed. Museum of Jewish Heritage -- A Living Memorial to the Holocaust . A Shared Experience: 04.19.95-09.11.01. Oklahoma City National Memorial Center Museum, Oklahoma City . A Day of Reflection and Remembrance: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum." American Anthropologist. 105.4 (2003): 839.

Fuchs, Anne. "Towards an Ethics of Remembering: The Walser-Bubis Debate and the Other of Discourse - Engaging with Current Theories of Cultural Memory, This Article Combines a Largely Phenomenological with a Psychoanalytic Perspective in Order to Address Those Alternative Modes of Cultural Transmission That Communicate Through the Unsaid, the Sous-Entendu and Silence. Questioning the Sufficiency of Narratalogical Models of Cultural Memory, the Article Focuses on Memory As a Rupture of Presence with a View to Outlining an Ethically Driven Theory of Cultural Memory, In Light of the Recent Proliferation of Various Forms of Holocaust Commemoration, the Article Highlights Some of the Dangers Associated with an Overly Didacticized Approach to Remembering. It Proposes That Cultural Memory Must Be Reconfigured in Terms of an "ethics of Remembering" Which Is Based on the Indexicality of Historical Experience. These Insights Are Then Applied to the Walser-Bubis Debate, Arguing That, Entangled in a False Opposition between Shame and Pride, Walser Ultimately Failed to Recognize Both the Indexicality of the Past and the Alterity of the Other." The German Quarterly. 75.3 (2002): 235.

Kaplan, L. D. "A Future for Holocaust Commemoration." Tikkun. 22.2 (2007): 49-52.

Kushner, Tony. "The Holocaust and the Museum World in Britain: A Study of Ethnography." Immigrants & Minorities 21.1 (2002): 13-40. Historical Abstracts. EBSCO. Web. 16 Feb. 2010.

Meyers, Oren, Eyal Zandberg, and Motti Neiger. "Prime Time Commemoration: An Analysis of Television Broadcasts on Israel's Memorial Day for the Holocaust and the Heroism." Journal of Communication. 59.3 (2009): 456-480.

Meyers, Oren, and Eyal Zandberg. "The Sound-Track of Memory: Ashes and Dust and the Commemoration of the Holocaust in Israeli Popular Culture." Communication Abstracts. 25.6 (2002): 755-909.

Meyers, Oren, and Eyal Zandberg. "The Sound-Track of Memory: Ashes and Dust and the Commemoration of the Holocaust in Israeli Popular Culture." Media, Culture and Society. 24.3 (2002): 389-408.

Miles, William F. S. "Post-Communist Holocaust Commemoration in Poland and Germany." Journal of Holocaust Education 9.1 (2000): 33-50. Historical Abstracts. EBSCO. Web. 16 Feb. 2010.

Nitka, J. "Education and Commemoration of the Holocaust as an Instrument of Shaping the National Identity of the Israeli Society." Przeglad Zachodni. 63 (2007): 176-198.

Niven, Bill. "Remembering the Holocaust: Representation, Neglect, and Instrumentalization." European History Quarterly 36.2 (2006): 279-291. Historical Abstracts. EBSCO. Web. 16 Feb. 2010.

Santner, Eric L. "On the Difficult of Saying 'We': The 'Historians' Debate' and Edgar Reitz's 'Heimat'." History & Memory 2.2 (1990): 76-96. Historical Abstracts. EBSCO. Web. 16 Feb. 2010.

Schacter, J.J. "Holocaust Commemoration and Tish'a Be-Av: The Debate Over ``Yom Ha-Sho'a''." Tradition. 41.2 (2008): 164-197.

Sheffi, Na'ama, and Martha Grenzeback. "Between Collective Memory and Manipulation: The Holocaust, Wagner and the Israelis." Journal of Israeli History 23.1 (2004): 65-77. Historical Abstracts. EBSCO. Web. 16 Feb. 2010.

Steinlauf, Michael. "Fifty Years Later: The Warsaw Ghetto Uprising. The Most Important Holocaust Commemoration in Our Lifetime Will Take Place This April in a World That Is Beginning to Lift the Amnesia Surrounding Jewish History's Greatest Trauma." Tikkun. 8.2 (1993): 29-32.

Stewart, Michael. "Remembering Without Commemoration: The Mnemonics and Politics of Holocaust Memories Among European Roma." The Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute. 10.3 (2004): 561-582.

Zandberg, Eyal. "Critical Laughter: Humor, Popular Culture and Israeli Holocaust Commemoration." Media, Culture & Society. 28.4 (2006): 561-579.

Zubrzycki, Genevieve. "Auschwitz, Poland, and the Politics of Commemoration, 1945-1979 (Review)." Holocaust and Genocide Studies. 19.2 (2005): 292-295.

Books

Ashplant, T. G., Graham Dawson, and Michael Roper. The Politics of War Memory and Commemoration. Routledge studies in memory and narrative, 7. London: Routledge, 2000.

Balf, Micha. Ḳol she-lo neʼelam: ʻitsuv zikhron ha-Shoʼah ṿe-darkhe hantsaḥatah ba-Tenuʻah ha-ḳibutsit. [Tel Aviv]: ha-Ḳibuts ha-meʼuḥad, 2008.

Berman, Judith E. Holocaust Remembrance in Australian Jewish Communities, 1945-2000. Crawley, W.A.: University of Western Australia Press, 2001.

Blum, Michael, Stella Rollig, and Steven Nyanga. Monument to the birth of the 20th century: [a campaign. an exhibition. a book]. Frankfurt am Main: Revolver, 2005.

Brog, Mooli. Levaṭim be-hantsaḥat ha-Shoʼah be-Erets Yiśraʼel, 1942-1949. [Jerusalem]: ha-Makhon le-ḥeḳer toldot Ḳeren ḳayemet le-Yiśraʼel, ha-ḳarkaʻ ṿe-yishuv ha-Arets, 1997.

Conway, Brian. Commemoration and Bloody Sunday: The Work of Memory. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.

Davies, Martin L., and Claus-Christian W. Szejnmann. How the Holocaust Looks Now: International Perspectives. Basingstoke [England]: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.

Ensink, T., and Christoph Sauer. The Art of Commemoration: Fifty Years After the Warsaw Uprising. Discourse approaches to politics, society, and culture, v. 7. Amsterdam: John Benjamins Pub, 2003.

Ensink, T., and Christoph Sauer. The Art of Commemoration: Fifty Years After the Warsaw Uprising. Philadelphia, PA: John Benjamins Pub, 2003.

Greenberg, Irving, and David G. Roskies. A Holocaust Commemoration for Days of Remembrance: For Communities, Synagogues, Centersand for Home Use. Washington, D.C.: United States Holocaust Memorial Council, 1981.

Huener, Jonathan. Auschwitz, Poland, and the Politics of Commemoration, 1945-1979 / Jonathan Huener. Ohio University Press Polish and Polish-American studies series. Athens: Ohio University Press, 2003.

Huener, Jonathan. German Deeds, Polish Soil, Jewish Shoah: Auschwitz Memory and the Politics of Commemoration. Thesis (Ph. D.)--University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1998, 1998.

Jewish Community Relations Council (San Francisco, Calif.) and Holocaust Center of Northern California (San Francisco, Calif.). Holocaust Remembrance Day: 50th Anniversary of Liberation, 1945-1995: Commemoration of Yom HaShoah and the 50th Anniversary of the Liberation of Nazi Concentration Camps. San Francisco, Calif: Jewish Community Relations Council, 1995.

Lawson, Tom, and James Jordan. The Memory of the Holocaust in Australia. London: Vallentine Mitchell, 2008.

Littell, Marcia Sachs. Liturgies on the Holocaust: An Interfaith Anthology. [Philadelphia]: Anne Frank Institute of Philadelphia, 1986.

Littell, Marcia Sachs, and Sharon Weissman Gutman. Liturgies on the Holocaust: An Interfaith Anthology. Valley Forge, Pa: Trinity Press International, 1996.

Markovits, Andrei S. The Dilemmas of Commemoration: German Debates on the Holocaust in the 1990's. New York: Berghahn Books, 1999.

Ruedenberg, Lucia Meta. "Remember 6,000,000": Civic Commemoration of the Holocaust in New York City. Thesis (Ph. D.)--New York University, 1994, 1994.

Schoefer, Christine. The Politics of Commemoration: The Concentration Camp Memorial Sites in the Former GDR. Berkeley, CA: Center for German and European Studies, University of California, 1993.

Stauber, Roni. The Holocaust in Israeli public debate in the 1950s: ideology and memory. London: Vallentine Mitchell, 2007.

United States Holocaust Memorial Council. Days of Remembrance, 1990. [Washington, D.C.?]: U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council, 1990.

United States Holocaust Memorial Council. Days of Remembrance, April 3-10, 1994: Fifty Years Ago, Darkness Before Dawn: Planning Guide for Commemoration Programs. Washington: U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum, 1994.

United States Holocaust Memorial Council. Days of Remembrance, April 26-May 3, 1992: Fifty Years Ago: in the Depths of Darkness : Commemoration Planning Guide. Washington, D.C.: United States Holocaust Memorial Council, 1992.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. Fifty Years Ago: Darkness Before Dawn : Planning Guide for Commemoration Programs. Washington DC: U.S. Holocaust Mrmorial Museum, 1994.

United States Holocaust Memorial Council. Fifty Years Ago: in the Depths of Darkness: Days of Remembrance, April 26-May 3, 1992: Commemoration Planning Guide. Washington: U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council, 1992.

Watson, Sheila E. R. Museums and Their Communities. Leicester readers in museum studies. London: Routledge, 2007.

Wollaston, Isabel. Auschwitz and the Politics of Commemoration: The Christianization of the Holocaust. Holocaust Educational Trust research papers, v. 1, no. 5. London: Holocaust Educational Trust, 2000.

Zerubavel, Yael. Recovered Roots: Collective Memory and the Making of Israeli National Tradition. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1995.

Zerubavel, Yael. Recovered Roots: Collective Memory and the Making of Israeli National Tradition. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1994. Anshe Chesed Congregation (Cleveland, Ohio). Yom Hashoa v-hagvura: community commemoration of the Holocaust & Warsaw Ghetto Uprising. Ohio: Fairmount Temple, 1996.

PDF Journals