Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Government Documents on Western U.S. History: State Government and Historical Societies

Government Documents on Western U.S. History

State Governments and Historical Societies

Western State Government Historical Agency Websites & Document Collections include:

Alaska's Digital Archives

Alaska Historical Society
Alaska State Archives

Alaska State Library

Alaska State Museums

Selected fulltext Alaska State documents from Hathitrust catalog
Arizona Historical Society includes museum

Arizona Memory Project

Arizona State Library, Archives, & Public Records

Selected fulltext Arizona State documents from Hathitrust catalog

California Historical Society

California Museum


California State Archives & Golden Gate Museum
California State Library
Calisphere(Courtesy-California Digital Library)

Selected fulltext California State documents from Hathitrust catalog
Central Valley Political Archive  (Non-governmental)
Colorado State Archives
Colorado Virtual Library

History Colorado includes museums
Selected fulltext Colorado State documents.
Great Plains During World War II (Non-governmental)

Bishop Museum- Hawaii State Natural & Cultural History

Hawaiian Historical Society
Hawaii State Archives

Hawaii State Art Museum

Selected fulltext Hawaii State documents from Hathitrust catalog.


Idaho Digital Resources

Idaho State Historical Society
Idaho State Library

Idaho State Museum

Selected fulltext Idaho State documents from Hathitrust catalog
Kansas Memory
Kansas State Historical Society/State Archives
Kansas State Library

Selected fulltext Kansas State documents from Hathitrust catalog

Montana Historical Society Museum
Montana State Historical Society/Archives
Montana Memory Project
Montana State Library

Selected fulltext Montana State documents from Hathitrust catalog

Nebraska History Museum
Nebraska Library Commission
Nebraska Memories
Nebraska State Historical Society (Archives)

Selected fulltext Nebraska State documents from Hathitrust catalog
Online Nevada Encyclopedia

Nevada Historical Society includes Museum
Nevada State Library & Archives

Nevada State Museum

Selected fulltext Nevada State documents from Hathitrust catalog

Historical Society of New Mexico
New Mexico Commission of Public Records, State Records Center, & Archives
New Mexico Digital History Project

New Mexico History Museum

Selected New Mexico State documents from Hathitrust catalog
North Dakota-Digital Horizons: A Plains Media Resource

North Dakota Heritage Center & State Museum
North Dakota State Archives & Historical Research Library
North Dakota State Library

Selected fulltext North Dakota State documents from Hathitrust catalog

State Historical Society of North Dakota

Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture

Oklahoma Crossroads

Oklahoma Historical Society

Oklahoma History Center
Oklahoma State Archives & Records Management

Selected fulltext Oklahoma State documents from Hathitrust catalog
Oregon Encyclopedia

Oregon Historical Society includes Museum
Oregon History Project
Oregon State Archives
Oregon State Library

Selected fulltext Oregon State documents from Hathitrust catalog
South Dakota Memory
South Dakota State Archives

South Dakota State Historical Society includes museum
South Dakota State Library

Selected fulltext South Dakota State documents from Hathitrust catalog

Bexar Archives Online (Courtesy-University of Texas-Austin) Covers Spanish/Mexican history of Texas 1717-1836)

Bullock Texas History Museum
Texas General Land Office
Texas Heritage Online
Texas Historical Commission
Texas-Portal to Texas History

Texas State Historical Association
Texas State Library & Archives Commission

Selected fulltext Texas State documents from Hathitrust catalog
Utah-Digital Utah
Utah History Encyclopedia
Utah State Archives

Utah State Historical Society
Utah State Library
Utah's Most Elusive(Courtesy-Utah State University Library, contains U.S. and state agency documents.)
Selected fulltext Utah State documents from Hathitrust catalog.

Washington State  Historical Society (includes museum)
Washington State Library
Wyoming State Archives

Selected fulltext Washington State documents from Hathitrust catalog
Wyoming Memory

Wyoming State Historical Society

Wyoming State Museum

Selected fulltext Wyoming State documents from Hathitrust catalog

Subject Specialist

Profile Photo
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007