Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Northeast US History
Government Documents on Northeastern U.S. History
U.S. Government publications and state government publications are excellent sources for studying the development of U.S. History from the 1600s to the present. Purdue Libraries have many government publications on the historical evolution of the northeastern U.S. For definitional purposes, this guide covers the following states: West Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Massachusetts, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Maine. Many publications in this guide are U.S. Government publications. Paper copies of many of these publications are in the HSSE Library. While some recent U.S. Government publications are in the Library Catalog many historical government documents are not in the Library Catalog and accessing them requires using a number of print indexes which are listed below.
The principal index to U.S. Government publications is Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications HSSE REF & Periodicals 016.353 Un36. This indexes all U.S. Government Publications distributed to federal depository libraries through the Federal Depository Library Program administered by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Additional indexes to U.S. documents include:
- Cumulative Title Index to U.S. Public Documents 1789-1976 HSSE REF 016.353 C913
- Checklist of U.S. Public Documents 1789-1909 HSSE REF 016.353 Un3c3 (Online version courtesy Evergreen State College)
- CIS U.S. Serial Set Index 1789-1909 HSSE REF 328.73 C761c
- CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents 1789-1909 - HSSE REF 351.73 C497 1990
- CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents 1910-1932 HSSE REF 351.73 C497 1996 (These two indexes feature a microfiche collection which Purdue doesn't have but which are available at Indiana University and the University of Illinois Urbana/Champaign and can be requested thru Interlibrary Loan.)
- CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings Index 1833-1969 HSSE REF 348.731 C76 (Hearings from this index from 1869-1934 are part of the U.S. Senate Library microfiche collection in HSSE's 2nd floor microforms collection.)
- CIS Index to Unpublished Senate Committee Hearings 1823-1964 HSSE REF 348.731 C497
- CIS Index (1970-present) HSSE REF 328.73005 C76
- Guide to U.S. Government Publications HSSE REF 015.73 G943
Connect HERE for information on downloading Purdue Libraries Ebooks