Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Government Documents on Midwestern U.S. History: U.S. Government Internet

Government Documents on Midwestern U.S. History

U.S. Govt. Internet

Internet Resources

Although only a small portion of the historical literature produced by the U.S. Government and U.S. state governments is Internet accessible, there is a significant body of historical documentary material that has been digitized. A limited portion of this digitizing has been done by U.S. Government agencies such as the Library of Congress and, in selected instances by midwestern state government agencies. The following is a partial sampling of the growing variety of historical government information resources and finding aids on midwestern history that is Internet accessible:

American Memory Project Library of Congress-Provides access to a wide variety of digitized
U.S. History resources. Haymarket Affair trial transcripts and African-Americans in Ohio 1850-1920 relevant midwestern history resources.)
A Century of Lawmaking for New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents & Debates 1774-1875
 Documents from the Continental Congress & Constitutional Convention 1774-1789

National Archives and Records Administration

General Land Office  Records (Courtesy:  Bureau of Land Management)

GovINfo Federal legal, legislative, and regulatory information resources 1994/95-present and some earlier years..

Hathi Trust Catalog (Selected resources from CIC Institutions)

Historical Census Browser-Courtesy University of Virginia Library, this resource includes access to decennial census data from 1790-1960
Census of Population & Housing 1790-Present
Governor Morton (IN) Telegraph Books (Courtesy-Indiana State Archives & IUPUI Library Digital Collections
National Archives Chicago

National Archives Kansas City, Missouri

National Archives-Dayton, Ohio
National Park Service History & Culture
Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections

Index to Records Groups (National Archives)

Territorial Papers of the United States

War Department Papers 1784-1800 (Courtesy-George Mason University)

William Henry Harrison Papers and Documents 1791-1864 (Courtesy:  Indiana Historical Society)

Subject Specialist