- Federal Agencies: Federal Agencies that regulate and oversee archaeological work and historic preservation, etc. Maintained by the Archaeological Research Facility (ARF) of the University of California, Berkeley.
- Federal Laws & Archaeology: North Carolina's office of State Archaeology.
- State Historic Preservation Officers: The American Cultural Resources Association.
- State Archaeologists Maintained by the National Association of State Archaeologists, this site provides a directory of State Archaeologists for the United States and its possessions. State Archaeologists can answer questions regarding laws, procedures, current research, educational programs, and other aspects of archaeology for each state and possession. Many State Archaeologists can be contacted by email, and some State Archaeologists maintain their own web pages which can be reached through this site.
- Indiana Division of Historic Preservation & Archaeology
Tutorials, Bibliographies, and Databases
- AATA: Abstracts of International Conservation Literature: a comprehensive database of 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage, A service of the Getty Conservation Institute in association with The International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works.
- Archaeology: An Introduction: An introductory book about archaeology for students, or anyone else who would like to start learning about the subject. The book is by Kevin Greene, a senior lecturer in Archaeology at the University of Newcastle in the UK.
- Area: Archives of European Archaeology is a research network dedicated to the history of archaeology, with particular emphasis on the archives of the discipline, their promotion and preservation.
- British and Irish Archaeological Bibliography: Council of British Archaeology.
- Southeast Asian Archaeology Scholarly Website: The University of Pennsylvania Museum. This web site was created for the dissemination of scholarship on the archaeology and anthropology of Southeast Asia.
Links to Lists of Resources
- African American Archaeology, History and Cultures: The principal focus is on providing links to online presentations concerning African American archaeology projects, set out in the first sections below, with links listed alphabetically by state within each regional section. Additional links to online resources and presentations concerning African American history and culture, African archaeology, African history and cultures, and the subjects of slavery, resistance and abolition are also provided. Bibliographies and research guides to print publications within each subject area are included.Created and maintained by Christopher C. Fennell Dep't of Anthropology University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.
- Ancient World Mapping Center: From the University of North Carolina. This project exists to promote cartography and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies.
- ArchNet: The Archaeological Research Institute at Arizona State University.
- Archeology: CyberPursuits: A list of resources maintained by Beverly Freed.
- ASOR: The American Schools of Oriental Research supports and encourages the study of the peoples and cultures of the Near East, from the earliest times to the present.
- Index of Native American Archaeology: This site was constructed primarily to provide information resources to the Native American community and only secondarily to the general community. The information is organized, insofar as possible, to make it useful to the Native American community and the education community. It is maintained by Karen M. Strom.