Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

CE 498 Civil Engineering Design: Indiana Codes

A selection of sources useful for the CE 498 Senior Design Project

Information Assistance

If you need assistance determining whether the library has access to a specific standard, please call the Library of Engineering & Science Reference Desk at (765) 494-0831. You may also use the Libraries' Ask A Librarian service.

Specific standards not owned by Purdue may be requested via the Library of Engineering & Science's Purchase Request

 

Indiana Codes Available on the Web

This is a partial list of various Indiana codes which were linked to the Indiana Administrative Code on July 9, 2014. The list of codes has been taken from Indiana Association of Building Officials' Current Codes, effective July 9, 2014.

There may be changes on December 1, 2014. Each code begins  with changes and items that have been repealed.  Make sure that you are using the latest version of the code.  

For a more complete list of Indiana Codes, Standards, and Other Rules, please review the links in the first box.

The codes below  are used with several ICC codes which are available through the Specifications and Standards Database. If other standards are cited in these codes, ask for help when trying to locate the publication at the Engineering Library's Information Desk.  Phone 494-2873

Indiana Building Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-13). Based on 2006 International Building Code (1st printing) with Indiana Amendments, effective June 16, 2008.  Also uses ANSI A117.1-2003; ASCE-7-2005.

Indiana Residential Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-14). Based on 2003 International Residential Code (5th printing) with Indiana Amendments, effective April 15, 2012.

Industrialized Building Systems - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-15), with Indiana amendments, effective 9/17/05

Indiana Plumbing Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-16). Based on 2006 International Plumbing Code, 2nd printing effective 12/30/2012.

Indiana Electrical Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-17). Based on NFPA 70 - 2008 National Electrical Code, 1st printing, effective 8/26/09.

Indiana Mechanical Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-18). Based on 2006 International Mechanical Code (1st Printing) with 2008 Indiana Amendments, effective June 16, 2008.

Indiana Energy Conservation Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-19). Based on ASHRAE 90.1 - 2007 Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings, effective May 6, 2010. 

Indiana Swimming Pool Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-20). General provisions and definitions, public swimming pools, public spas, and water attractions, with amendments, effective April 24, 2011

Indiana Safety Code for Elevators, Escalators, Man Lifts and Hoists - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-21). Based on many ANSI/ASME standards, effective April 13, 2011

Indiana Fire Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (75-IAC-22). Based on 2006 International Fire Code, (1st printing), with 2008 Indiana Amendments, effective June 16, 2008.

Migrant Day Care Nursery Fire Safety Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-24-1), effective October 11, 2001.

Indiana Fuel Gas Code - Full Text - Indiana Administrative Code (675-IAC-25), Based on 2006 International Fuel Gas Code (1st printing), with Indiana Amendments, June 16, 2008

Indiana Codes, Standards and Other Rules

Indiana's Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission maintains a list of Codes, Standards and Other Rules that are used in Indiana. The list arranged by topic includes a citation to the Indiana Administrative Code (IAC), Title (related code), and Dates (effective, amended (if any) and repealed (if applicable).  

For example:  

675 IAC 16-1.4         Indiana Plumbing Code, 2012 ed.             Effective 12/24/12

Sometimes the related international code is not on the list but is mentioned in the Indiana code.       

The full text of the Indiana Code is contained in the IAC. Open the IAC link and find the IAC Cite box in the lower left-hand column. Search for 675 IAC 16.

When reading the Indiana Plumbing Code, 2012 ed. in 675 IAC 16, go to 16-1.4 and you notice that the International Plumbing Code, 2006 edition is mentioned. The two codes are used together with differences mentioned in the Indiana Plumbing Code.

The full-text of the International Plumbing Code, 2006 ed. is not available in the IAC. Purdue users will find it in the TechStreet Enterprises as an ICC code.  Others may purchase the code separately.

Notice of Changes Expected to Be Effective December 1, 2014

Since many Indiana codes are in the process of revision, you should check this Indiana Fire Prevention and Building Safety Commission/Code Services website for announcements, especially those related to the rulemaking docket.

On August 5, Mara Snyder, Director of Legal and Code Services informed us that changes to several codes will become effective on December 1. 

The new rules will be published in the Indiana Register on August 27. There will be a link on the Commission’s website to the rules. You may also browse the Indiana Register (left column, current issue) to find the August 27 issue.  If you have any questions about the new rules, please contact Mara via email: msnyder@dhs.in.gov

Subject Guide

Thomas Gerrish's picture
Thomas Gerrish
Contact:
3053R WALC
(765) 496-9620