Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Documents on the Environment
Government agencies are major sources of environmental information. Federal, state, foreign, and international government organizations produce enormous amounts of information on environmental subjects. Subject headings you can use to search the Library Catalog for government documents pertaining to the environment include:
Hazardous Substances--Law and Legislation--United States
The principal index for U.S. Government publications is the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications HSSE REF & Periodicals 016.353 Un36. This index is also
available online from 1994-present and from 1976-present in the GPO Index. Other useful indexes to U.S. Government information include Lexis-Nexis Statistical (Purdue Users Only) covering statistical publications, Lexis-Nexis Academic (Purdue Users Only) covering legal issues including court cases, Lexis-Nexis Environmental (Purdue Users Only) covering environmental topics, and the Congressional Information Service (CIS) Index HSSE REF 328.73005 C76 covering congressional publications.
ASCE Research Library This source is an online tool for locating articles and conference papers published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. It covers full-text papers from Journals (1993 - present) and Proceedings (1996 - present)
Civil Engineering Abstracts Comprehensive bibliographic database for research on civil engineering. It indexes 3000 journals and includes 250,000 citations.
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements Abstracts of government issued environmental statements.
Engineering Research Database A combined file that searches several databases for publications in civil, earthquake, environmental, mechanical, and transportation engineering .
Environment Abstracts Contains these major categories of environmental information: Environmental Abstracts (abstracts of thousands of journal articles and conference papers with links to selected full-text); full-text news, journals and commentary; full-text federal and state codes, regulations, case law, and agency actions, as well as waste site data and hazardous materials information.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Comprehensive coverage of environmental issues from a variety of disciplines.
Environmental Studies Offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. Topic, organization, and country portals form research centers around issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
Toxicology Abstracts Toxic substances - industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals. Substance abuse.
Toxic substances - chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
Water Resources Abstracts
Characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources.