Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Civil Engineering Graduate Student Orientation: Standards

A collection of resources useful to graduate students in Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, and Building Construction and Management

Databases for Identifying Standards

Two databases, Specifications and  Standards and NSSN are helpful for identifying standards of interest. There are full-text links in Specifications and Standards for several orgaizatons' standards. 

For other organizations, check the Purdue University Standards Database for print titles and the Find Major Series for more possibilities.

Specifications and Standards: IHS Standards Expert is a database of national and international standards, including full-text online access to ASTM, AASHTO, ASHRAE, ASME,ICC, and NFPA for Purdue University users.  Tutorial for Specs and Standards

Purdue University Standards Database contains a substantial collection of print standards available in the Engineering Library or the Hicks Repository.

NSSN: Search Engine for Standards: Powered by ANSI is a free website that indexes many standards.

 

Major Print and Online Full-Text Standards Series

AASHTO - Full Text - American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

ACI Manual of Concrete Practice - Print - American Concrete Institute. Engineering Library (Reference) Call Number: 620.136 Am345a 2005

ANSI and ANSI approved - Print - American National Standards Institute. Purdue University Standards Database is used to determine whether the library owns the standard. It may be searched by organization abbreviation, standard number, and title keywords.

ASABE - Full Text - American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers or ASAE - American Society of Agricultural Engineers

ASCE - Print - American Society of Civil Engineers shows a list of ASCE standards. The library subscribes to print and CD. The standards are cataloged separately and shelved in Engineering Library (Standards) by call number.

ASHRAE - Full Text - American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineering

ASTM - Full Text - American Society for Testing and Materials

ASTM - Print - American Society for Testing and Materials historical collection. Engineering Library (Reserve) 1998-1999. Earlier years are in the Hicks Repository, Call Number: 620.1 Am31

BSI - Print - British Standardization Institute. Purdue University Standards Database is used to determine whether the library owns the standard. Most are shelved in the Hicks Repository, Call Number: 620.03 B77

DOD ASSIST - Full-Text contains Department of Defense and federal specifications and standards

ICC - Full Text - International Code Council contains the International Codes. For example: International Building Code. Print editions are available

IEST Handbook of Recommended Practices - Print - Institute of Environmental Sciences, Contamination Control Division. Engineering Library, Call Number: 628 In7h 2004

Indiana Building Code - Print - Engineering Library (Reserve) Call Number: 343.77207869 In2i, 2008 is most recent. See "Indiana Codes" for Full-Text

NFPA - Full Text  - National Fire Protection Association

NISO - Full-Text Free - National Information Standards Organization


Subject Guide

Thomas Gerrish's picture
Thomas Gerrish
Contact:
3053R WALC
(765) 496-9620