Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Index to print and online reference works (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.). Provides millions of citations to 20,000 reference works. Citations are linked to Libraries print and electronic holdings.
Encyclopedia of Antislavery and Abolition
In the antebellum United States, female abolitionists brought democracy to a higher level by engaging in social reform, including organizing, speaking, and writing. These abolitionists, despite the danger, took part in the most significant program of social reform that included women.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Passage
During the Middle Passage, slaves were chained, branded, crowded into disease-infested ships, raped, and sexually abused by crewmembers and, in the New World, by slaveholders and supervisors. In 1839, the British took unilateral action against recalcitrant Portuguese slavers after negotiations failed. By 1850, millions of people were in bondage in the Americas.
Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs
Details selected major cities, suburbs, people, places, concepts, contemporary issues, history, and development of urban America. Topics range from problems typically associated with urban life such as crime, pollution, and congestion to the arts and humanities, social concerns, religion, infrastructure, key individuals, and economic issues.
Below is a list of some of the print Reference materials within the collection. These resources cover subjects ranging from history and political science, to science and the arts, all with a focus from the African American perspective.
- Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
DT14 .A37435 1999
- African Americans and Popular Culture (Three-volume set)
E185.625 .A384 2008
- The African American Encyclopedia (Eight-volume set)
E185 .A253 1993
- African American National Biography (Eight-volume set)
E185.96 .A4466 2008
- All Music Guide to Hip-Hop: The Definitive Guide to Rap & Hip-Hop
782.421649 AL51 2003
- Black Women in America (Three-volume set)
E185.86 .B542 2005
- The Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion (Three-volume set)
PS153.N5 H245 2003
- Encyclopedia of African American History: From 1619 to the Present (Eight-volume set)
E185 .E5453 2009
- Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and Culture (Three-volume set)
DT16.5 .E53 2008