Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SimplyAnalytics enables users to quickly create thematic maps and reports using thousands of U.S. demographic, business, and marketing variables. SimplyAnalytics contains extensive data including demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending (CEX), D&B business points-of-interest file, and marketing data from Mediamark Research (MRI). Users have access to SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data with information on over 8,000 brands and 450 unique categories. Additionally, the EASI Life Stage Clusters classification system is available. Data is available at the State, Congressional District, County, City, ZIP Code, Census Tract and Block Group level as well as custom trade area and the entire United States.
Pew Internet Research - Datasets
Pew Research Center research internet use, especially among younger Americans.
Includes reports on online data. mobile shopping, health, etc
MRI Simmons Insights
MRI Simmons Insights, formerly known as Mediamark Reporter, provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences reported by a sample of over 25,000 United States consumers.
COMPANY FINANCIAL & STOCK PRICE DATA
Thomson ONE Banker
Thomson ONE features market quotes, earnings estimates, financial fundamentals, press releases, transaction data, corporate filings, ownership profiles and company research.
NOTE: Requires the use of customized settings in Internet Explorer. Instructions to customize your IE settings are available here: https://answers.lib.purdue.edu/faq/336157
**Tip: Some library web pages do not display properly when using Internet Explorer. Instead, copy the Thomson ONE Banker link from your current browser and paste it into the IE browser. This can be done by right-clicking the database link and selecting "Copy link address."
Thomson Reuters Datastream Professional is a powerful tool that integrates economic research and strategy with cross asset analysis to seamlessly bring together top down and bottom up in one single, integrated application.
The Bloomberg Professional® service is the most powerful and flexible platform for financial professionals who need real-time data, news and analytics to make smarter, faster, more informed business decisions.
Compustat Capital IQ
COMPUSTAT (from Standard & Poor\'s) provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies.
Note: Must register for a WRDS account.
The Center for Research in Security Prices maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NADSAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolio, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases.
CRSP also provides CRSP/COMPUSTAT Merged Database, a database that simplifies matching COMPUSTAT financial data to the CRSP security price data.
Note: Must register for a WRDS account
Financial statements, company news, industry analysis, historical information on M&A activity, country information, product and brand names, historical ratings, US executive biographies and compensation details, historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.
Key Business Ratios (D&B)
Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
TOOLS AVAILABLE TO PURDUE STUDENTS FOR DATA ANALYSIS
Venture-based data company
Google Public Data Explorer
A lot of data we subscribe to elsewhere- just prettier
Pew Internet Research
Pew Research Center research internet use, especially among younger Americans. Includes reports on online data. mobile shopping, health, etc.
Google Dataset Search
A lot of public data, just more findable
Google Advanced Search
Limit by pdf, excel, ppt, etc
Databib is a tool for helping people identify and locate online repositories of research data.
Open data portal and hackathon with a variety of current trends and research topics.
STATS Indiana provides access to economic and demographic statistics for states, counties, cities and towns, townships, regions, census tracts and more.
International Postsecondary Education Data
International Financial Statistics
Data gathered by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) on exchange rates, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government finance, and national accounts for most countries.
Coverage current month and historic data going back 15 years.
Primary Use: Searching and downloading financial data on countries of international and domestic finance
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Produced by the St. Louis Federal Reserve Bank, this resources provides current and recent historical U.S. economic and financial data in categories such as; business/fiscal data, GDP, monthly commercial financial data, employment data, interest rates, and producer price indexes.