It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes primary source documents such as personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera that deal with the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent, focusing on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France,
Diaries, letters, memoirs, and biographies from the American Civil War era, including the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor.
A collection of 20,005 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs) for model eukaryotes and for thousands of microbes, plus software tools for exploring them. BioCyc is an encyclopedic reference that contains curated data from 130,000 publications.
This primary source collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves.
Brings together a large collection of short fiction works produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present, compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors.
Includes seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience and covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Literature and essays on feminist issues written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of black feminism.
Oral and visual history of the culture, society, and identity of the Caribbean people, by the Caribbean people, with recordings of music, dance, interviews, and cultural programming housed in the Banyan Archives in Trinidad & Tobago.
This U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) resources is a finding tool for federal government publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
Virtual collection of zines published from the 1970s to the present gathered from the archival collections of individual DC Punk Archive donors, many of which are about (and often by members of) the DC music scene and included interviews, concert reviews, record reviews, and photos of DC punk artists. Many also include other cultural content, including national and international music coverage, arts and literature, personal essays and narratives, cartoons, political commentary, satire, and more.
From the nongovernmental National Security Archive, DNSA consists of curated and indexed declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide access to the defining international issues of our time. Countries covered include Afghanistan; Argentina; Chile; China; Colombia; Cuba; East Germany; El Salvador; Guatemala; Iran; Iraq; Japan; Mexico; Nicaragua; North and South Korea; Peru; Philippines; South Africa; Soviet Union; and Vietnam. Other topics covered include climate change; diplomacy; foreign policy; terrorism; the United States military, national security, and the intelligence community; and United States nuclear policy.
Platform for the study of performing arts and dramatic texts. Provides unlimited access to live performance of thousands of full-length productions accompanied by a range of educational resources for illustration, explanation, and critical reflection.
Primary sources, supporting materials, video, and archives supporting the disciplines of disability history and disability studies as well as other disciplines where the contributions of the disability community are often overlooked.
By integrating four bibliographies—the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine—the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine database offers outstanding value for interdisciplinary research. This database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials in biological science; computer and information sciences; engineering; geography; and mathematics.
Includes a wide variety of archival materials (digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and other primary source materials) taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. These materials are organized into four main collections: Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; Women's Studies; and American Politics and Society. Purdue’s holdings include federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers from the Black Freedom Struggle; papers from the NAACP; records from the African American Police League; information on slavery in the United States; plantation records; records from the Union and Confederate military forces; information on reconstruction; manuscript collections on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College; information on women at work during World War II, including correspondence of the director of the Women’s Army Corps; the papers of Margaret Sanger; and records of the War Relocation Authority during World War II.
Provides access to comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.
Collection of literary works, memoirs, and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.
Provides access to archival and reference materials, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, research, training materials, and artistic works all having to do with historical and contemporary events and themes in mass incarceration and prison studies.
MorphoBank is a web application providing an online database and workspace for evolutionary research, specifically systematics. Part of the new and growing cyberinfrastructure for phenotypes to house, save and share information on anatomy, physiology, behavior and other features of species, MorphoBank assists scientists building the Tree of Life - the genealogy of all living and extinct species.
Collection of classical scores covering all major musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century and includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
The NPS History Electronic Library & Archive is a portal to electronic publications covering the history of the U.S. National Park Service (NPS) and the cultural and natural history of the national parks, monuments, and historic sites of the U.S. National Park System. The information contained in this website is historical in scope containing documents on National Park Service administered sites covering science, ecology, geology, cultural resources, management plans, administrative histories, statistics, and other subjects.
Contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
The Parks Canada History Elibrary is a portal to electronic publications covering the cultural and natural history of the Canadian National Parks System, which includes 47 national parks/reserves, one national urban park, 1,001 national historic sites (172 of which are administered by Parks Canada, including nine heritage canals), four national marine conservation areas/reserves, and one national landmark, along with documents from the history of the agency that has been entrusted to manage this System: Parks Canada. Information in this website is historical in scope containing documents on Parks Canada administered sites covering science, ecology, geology, cultural resources, management plans, administrative histories, statistics, and other subjects.
Collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture covering topics that are gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender and including work on sexual and gender formations that are queer but not necessarily LGBT.
Database of queer zines for use queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.
Repbase is a database of prototypic sequences representing repetitive DNA from different eukaryotic species. Repbase is used in genome sequencing projects as a reference collection for masking and annotation of repetitive DNA (e.g. by RepeatMasker or CENSOR).
Text-based collection that showcases the literary imagination and linguistic inventiveness of Asian writers as they negotiate their varied cultural identities. It includes English-language fiction, short fiction, and poems written from the end of the colonial era to the present and can be used to support research in literature, anthropology, linguistics, postcolonial theory and criticism, history, politics, and culture.
Provides a sustainable methodology and platform for access and findability of coordination resources across a diverse range of transportation technical assistance centers and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA).
genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Gene product function data is updated every week from the latest published research literature and community data submissions.
TAIR also provides extensive linkouts to other Arabidopsis resources.
Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the Cambodian Genocide of 1975-1979, the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1983, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the ongoing conflicts in the Central African Republic and South Sudan, and anti-Rohingya mass violence. It also includes testimonies about contemporary acts of violence against Jews.
This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South. It shows how women have negotiated power and status regarding private or public programs centered on their rights and social inclusion. Stressing the historical problem of the “feminization of poverty,” coupled with women’s invisibility within most foreign aid regimes and approaches to technical assistance, the project documents how women and their allies worked to balance economic growth and social improvement while navigating equity and the fairer allocation of resources. Accompanying essays by leading scholars in the field outline and critique significant shifts in approaches to development, including that of a gendered “post-development” perspective.
