Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Anthropology Plus: indexes over 2500 journals in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and interdisciplinary studies.
- JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive - Full-text digital archive of over 700 scholarly journals, including jouranls in anthropology and archaeology.
- Academic Search Elite: (General database with some major Anthropology journals)Provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers in a wide range of subject areas. Features abstracts and indexes for over 3000 publications, approximately 1700 are peer-reviewed journals. Over 1200 publications are available in full text. The coverage is from 1984 to present; with fulltext articles from1990 to present.
- Animal Behavior Abstracts: Animal Behavior Abstracts identifies significant papers relevant to animal behavior, summarizing the results of both field and laboratory inquiries. It surveys all of the important journals dealing with the biology of particular taxonomic groups. Major areas of coverage include: aggression; anatomical correlates; applied ethology; avoidance learning; behavioral ecology; biological and biochemical correlates; brain lesions; brain stimulation (electrical and chemical); communication; complex learning; discrimination; learning; dominance; evolution and survival value; external stimulation; foraging and ingestion; genetics of behavior; habituation and extinction; hormones; locomotion; memory; methodology; motivation; navigation; neurophysiological correlates; ontogeny; orientation; navigation and migration; parental-filial behavior; reinforcement (positive); rhythms; selected drug studies; sexual and reproductive behavior; sleep; social behavior; social spacing; theoretical models and overviews; and visual stimulation. Updated monthly.
- GeoRef: (Early humans and Archaeology) The premier database from the American Geological Institute, is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 80,000 references a year. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered. To maintain the database, GeoRef regularly scans more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. Each month between 6,000 and 7,000 new references are added to the database.
- HRAF~ eHRAF Collection of Ethnography: (Cultural Anthropology and Linguistics) This database published annually by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF), is a full-text, fully-indexed cultural database. It focuses on mostly pre-industrial cultures from around the world, and on North American immigrant groups. eHRAF differs from and other databases because the documents (e.g. books, journal articles, dissertations) are indexed at the paragraph-level with over 700 subject codes from the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM).
- American Periodicals Series online: over 1,240 American magazines and journals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including general magazines, literary and professional journals, and other historically-significant periodicals. For periodicals that continued into the 20th c., the cut-off date is 1940.
- American History and Culture Online: Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 is the correct title for this database["Sabin Americana Collection"]: searchable full-text of works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets and other documents about North, Central and South America, including accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, Native Americans, and much more. Based on Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.
- Directory of Published Proceedings: DoPP provides information on locating and procuring published proceedings from conferences in many fields, including sciences, medicine, ecology, and humanities.
- MasterFILE Premier: (General database with some major Anthropology journals)Provides access to articles from nearly 2800 general magazines and periodicals. Over 1800 publications are available in full text. The coverage ranges from 1984 to present; with fulltext access ranging from 1990 to present.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega: (General database with some major Anthropology journals. Combines the Social Sciences Abstracts and the Humanities Abstracts with other databases.) This database provides cover-to-cover indexing for 492 key international English language periodicals in the Social Sciences and 500 English language periodicals in the Humanities. It is updated weekly with coverage from 1983 to the present. Abstracting begins with material in 1994.
- ProQuest Research Library: (General database with some major Anthropology journals)A general database of magazine, journal, and newspaper articles from approximately 2350 publications in a wide variety of subject areas. The database consists of two components: a core list of about 740 periodicals, and 15 subject-specific modules in the areas of Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests. Any combination of modules may be searched simultaneously. Searches may be limited to only peer reviewed titles or only newspapers. Many articles are available in full-text, full image format. The coverage begins in 1986.
- Web of Science: (Anthropology in General) Web of Science includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index. Collectively, these indexes cover 8,700 scholarly and technical journals completely and 13,300 selectively, in more than 230 disciplines. The Web of Science gateway allows searching the indexes singly or in combination. Features include cited reference searching, access to records related to a particular article, and number of times an article has been cited. Coverage extends back to 1977.