Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Understanding & Assessing Well Established Technologies and Processes
Do you need to quickly learn about a well-establiahed technology or process? Searching in Knovel returns sections of engineering and science focused ebooks and other resources, with your search terms highlighted.
EngNetBase is another collection of engineering-focused eBooks that allows you to search the full text for relevant sections for your work.
Search for Books & Media Purdue owns
Select the "Books & Media" tab. This tool will search descriptive information (title, author, subjects, etc) about ebooks, books, and media owned by Purdue.
Engineering Village (Compendex & INSPEC Combined)
Locate research articles from the perspective of engineers and/or engineering academics.
Web of Science: Core Collection
See how an idea has evolved over time in the literature by following references backwards and forwards.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Effective patent searching involves more than using keywords. Save time and maximize your success by completing this module:
Patents Search Strategy Tutorial (approx. 5 minutes)
Public & Free sources:
Free, user-friendly, open access resource for world wide patent research. Years of coverage vary by country.
Worldwide patent search provided by the European Patent Office (EPO). Years of coverage dependent on country.
Perform a quick search for patents (not comprehensive - if a patent is located through this search engine it is recommended you search the patent number through the USPTO or Epacenet to ensure you have the most up-to-date version.)
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO)
Official database of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Full text searching from 1976-present, limited searching back to 1790.
Patents Databases (Purdue users only):
Derwent Innovations Index
Provides enhancements to patent searching, such as simplified names and descriptions. Content includes patents from 40 world-wide patent-issuing authorities, including the U.S. 1963-present.
Researching your Design's Environment and Users
Time is precious. Prepare to get the most out of your client and stakeholder meetings by establishing context for your design.
Need help? Contact the Libraries Liaison to Mechanical Engineering