Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Resources
Online reference resources are a great place to search to find background information on any of the historical events you include in this project. Unlike scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, these resources generally give you an overview of events without focusing on one highly-detailed aspect of a given topic the way that peer-reviewed journal articles do. These sources are still scholarly, and reliable, but they serve a different purpose than peer-reviewed journal articles.
Online reference library provides advanced searching and full-text of hundreds of dictionaries and encyclopedias in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Cross-reference links and interactive concept maps provide answers and enable further exploration of topics. Images include 17,000 works of art from the Bridgemann Art Library Archive.
Gale In Context: World History (includes U.S. History)
Cross-searchable with Gale In Context: U.S. History. Use dropdown menu in search bar to search World History, U.S. History, or both.
Primary sources, reference, and multimedia content are aligned to curriculum to deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe.
Oxford Reference Online
Searchable full-text of more than 150 reference books published by Oxford University Press on many subjects in the arts, history, and sciences. Includes dictionaries, encyclopedias, and several of the Oxford Companion series.
How-to Search the Libraries' Catalog
Searching for Materials in the Purdue Libraries' Catalog
This brief video shares strategies for searching the Purdue Libraries’ main catalog for books, articles, and more for a research project. Specifically, this video explores the simple searching, advanced searching, and faceted searching, as well as strategies that can be employed within other subject databases available through the Purdue Libraries.
African American Periodicals
Over 170 African American newspapers and magazines published in the U.S. from 1825-1995, from slavery during the Antebellum Period to the struggles and triumphs of the modern era. Publications include African Repository (1825-92), Black Panther (1967-75), Black Worker (1929-68), and Soul (1966-76). Search full-text by any or all of these periods: Slavery and Antebellum Era (1825 to 1860), U.S. Civil War (1861 to 1865), Reconstruction and Post War South (1866 to 1895), Segregation and the Rise of Black Protest Thought (1896 to 1920), African American Culture in the New Era (1921 to 1945), Civil Rights Era (1946-1960), The Second Reconstruction (1961-1972), Modern / Contemporary Era (1973-1998). The collection is based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography (Harvard, 1998) and drawn from holdings of the Wisconsin Historical Society.
From the Library Company of Philadelphia's Afro-Americana Collection, this still-growing resource provides researchers with full-text searchable, digital facsimiles of more than 12,000 printed works. These books, pamphlets and broadsides, including many lesser-known imprints, span nearly 400 years,
America: History and Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals published worldwide. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals
Searchable full text and page images from over 6,500 historical periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society. The collection covers a wide range of topics including agriculture, art, business, industry, education, entertainment, science and medicine, religion, family life, literature, politics, and women’s studies.
Over 1,240 American magazines and journals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including general magazines, literary and professional journals, and other historically-significant periodicals. For periodicals that continued into the 20th c., the cut-off date is 1940.
An influential black newspaper founded in 1905 by Robert Sengstacke Abbott, The Chicago Defender has been the voice of the African-American Community in Chicago and across the United States. Contains the full text backfile from 1905-1975.
Provides access to full-text articles from 200 magazines, journals, and newspapers published by the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Newspaper Source Plus
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale's range of historical newspaper collections. Users can simultaneously search or browse across the Times Digital Archive, the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, The Financial Times Historical Archive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, and many more. Providing access to over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale Historical Newspapers provides an unparalleled window to the past.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an interface that offers discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Registration is not necessary for use, but is required for alerts and saved searches.
Ask a Librarian
If you need any help as you are researching your topic, please reach out to the librarians listed on this page or visit the Ask a Librarian website. From here you can chat, email, text, or Tweet with a librarian.
Typical chat and text hours:
Monday-Thursday, 9 AM-10 PM,
Friday, 9 AM - 5 PM,
Saturday, 1 PM to 5 PM, and
Sunday, 2 PM to 10 PM.