Bioinformatics at Purdue
This is the "Library Resources & Databases" page of the "Clinical Research Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A guide for VCS 60300 - Introduction of Clinical Research, Trials, and Translational Medicine
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/vcsclinresearch Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Library Resources & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librari

 

Feedback VETM

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Library Resources

Veterinary Medical Library

The Veterinary Medical Library is one of 12 libraries in the Purdue University Libraries with specialized resources linked to its website. To find information and resources, try:

  • The Libraries Catalog searches for books, journal titles, and A/V materials
  • Online Journals allows access on online journals directly
  • Databases provides access to a variety of online journal indexes, statistics, and other data; many with full-text access

Key databases include:

CAB Abstracts
provides comprehensive coverage of research in agriculture, biology, veterinary medicine and related fields. As the premier index to the world's veterinary literature covering 2,380+ veterinary journals, it is an excellent resource for those working with animals [Coverage: 1910 to date].

PubMed [also known as MEDLINE]
developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), is the first database of choice for searching the human medical research literature. Covers 90+ veterinary journals. Using the Purdue Libraries link to PubMed provides direct links into the Libraries' online journals. [Coverage: 1946 to current]. 
  -- also has a Single Citation Matcher to help figure out partial references.

Web of Science 
provides good cross coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities as well as the options of doing author and cited reference searching  [Coverage: 1900 to date for Science Citation Index portion of database].
  -- also have access to Journal Citation Reports which provides journal "impact factors."

For resources that are not available at Purdue, you can fill out the Interlibrary Loan online request form.

 

Veterinary Clinical Research

Resources relating to veterinary clinical research:

Cover Art
Handbook of veterinary clinical research - Holmes, MA, Cockcroft, PD
Call Number: 636.089550724 H736h 2008 Veterinary Medical (Reserves)
ISBN: 140514551X
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Veterinary clinical trials from concept to completion - Dent, N.
Call Number: 636.089072073 V641 2001 Veterinary Medical
ISBN: 157491121X
Publication Date: 2001

 

Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine

Selected resources on evidence-based veterinary medicine:

The Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine Association
(EBVMA) is professional organization with an international scope that was founded to better organize the emerging research, training and practice of evidence-based medicine. Evidence-based veterinary medicine is the formal strategy to integrate the best research evidence available combined with clinical expertise as well as the unique needs or wishes of each client in clinical practice. Much of this is based on results from research studies that have been critically-designed and statistically evaluated. See links to latest articles and books on EBVM.

Books on Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine in the Purdue Libraries
A search of the Purdue Libraries catalog on "evidence based veterinary medicine" yields both print and electronic titles.

Books on Evidence-Based Medicine in the Purdue Libraries
A search of the Purdue Libraries catalog on "evidence based medicine" yields both print and electronic titles.

Cover Art
Handbook of Evidence-Based Veterinary Medicine - Cockcroft, P., Holmes, M.
Call Number: 636.089 C644h 2003 Veterinary Medical
ISBN: 1405108908
Publication Date: 2003
AVAILABLE ONLINE As Well -Click Title

Librarian

Profile Image
Gretchen Stephens
Contact Info
Veterinary Medical Librarian
& Associate Professor of Library Science
Veterinary Medical Library
504 W. State Street - VETM
Purdue University Libraries
ph: 765-494-2852
Send Email

Subject Guide

 

VM Library Hours

Spring Semester 2014

Mon -Thu      8 am - 10 pm
Friday            8 am -  5 pm
Sat                 1 pm -  5 pm
Sun                1 pm - 10 pm

Spring Break: closed March 15-16;
open 8AM-5PM March 17-21;
closed March 22; open 1-10PM March 23.

Library doors are locked 15 minutes prior to closing.

 

VM Library Contact

Questions, comments or suggestions...

vetmlib@purdue.edu

Telephone: (765) 494-2952

Federal Depository Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip