Skip to main content

Standards Resources: Major Standards Issuing Bodies

This is a basic subject guide to standards series that are paid by subscriptions, individual purchase, or free.

Major Print and Online Full-Text Standards Series

Many print and online standards are available. These series include many that are limited Purdue users. Others are available free online or to clients who visit the Engineering Library at Purdue.

AASHTO - Full Text - American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials

ACI Manual of Concrete Practice - Full-Text  - American Concrete Institute.  One-login/password will be available for Purdue Users only.

ACI Manual of Concrete Practice - Print - American Concrete Institute. Engineering Library (Reference) Search by call number: "620.136 Am345a 2005."  Other older volumes of MCP are also available in print.

AISC Code of Standard Practice (2010) - Full Text (free download) - American Institute of Steel Construction.  Available for free download in the AISC freePubs collection.

ANSI and ANSI approved - Print - American National Standards Institute. Purdue University Standards Database is used to determine whether the library owns the standard. It may be searched by organization abbreviation, standard number, and title keywords.

ANSI Incorporated by Reference IBR Standards Portal is hosted by ANSI and contains read only access to Standards Incorporated by Reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations.  No Purdue subscriptions are involved.

ASABE - Full Text - American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers or ASAE - American Society of Agricultural Engineers

ASCE - Full TextAmerican Society of Civil Engineers.  The titles are in reverse number order. When you find the title you want, click Complete Book PDF below the title. For example ASCE/COPRI 61-14. You may also you the pull-down browse feature.

ASCE - Print - American Society of Civil Engineers shows a list of ASCE standards. The library subscribes to print and CD. The standards are cataloged separately and shelved in Engineering Library (Standards) by call number.

ASHRAE - Full Text - American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineering. Access through the IHS Engineering Workbench platform.

ASME - Full Text  - American Society of Mechanical Engineering. Access through the IHS Engineering Workbench platform.

ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code - Full Text  (New) - American Society of Mechanical Engineering.  Access through the ASME Standards Collection platform.

ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code - Print - Engineering Library (Standards). Most recent is 2007.  Selected volumes are part of the Knovel database.

2013 ASME Boiler & Pressure Code Vol. II, Materials - Full-Text  Available from Knovel

ASTM Compass - Full text access to ASTM International standards

BSI - Print - British Standardization Institute. Purdue University Standards Database is used to determine whether the library owns the standard. Most are shelved in the Hicks Repository. Search by call number "620.03 B77"

DOD ASSIST - Full-Text contains Department of Defense and Federal specifications and standards

ICAO - Full Text  - International Civil Aviation Organization

ICC - Full Text - International Code Council contains the International Codes. For example: International Building Code. Print editions are available but may be out of date

IEEE - Full Text  - Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers

IEST Handbook of Recommended Practices - Print - Institute of Environmental Sciences, Contamination Control Division. Engineering Library, Call Number: 628 In7h 2004

ISO - Print - International Standards Organization. Select ISO standards are available in print. Purdue University Standards Database is used to determine whether the library owns the standard. It may be searched by organization abbreviation, standard number, and title keywords. 

ITU-D - Full -Text Free - International Telecommunication Union -Telecommunication Development. For more publications from ITU-D, browse the sector on the left-hand side of ITU Publications.

ITU-R - Rec - Full-Text Free - International Telecommunication Union - Radiocommunication Recommendation.  For more publications from ITU-R, browse the sector on the left-hand side of ITU Publications.

ITU-T - Full-Text Free - International Telecommunications Union - Telecommunication.  For more publications from ITU-T, browse the sector on the left-hand side of ITU Publications.

MIL Standards and Specs - United States military specifications and standards. Many documents available freely by searching DOD ASSIST

NASA - Full Text - NASA Technical Standards and Center Standards (freely available)

NFPA - Full Text  - National Fire Protection Association

NISO - Full-Text Free - National Information Standards Organization

SAE - Full-Text - Society of Automotive Engineers. 

USP-NF OnlineUnited States Pharmacopeia and The National Formulary (USP–NF) - book of public pharmacopeial standards. It contains standards for chemical and biological drug substances, dosage forms, and compounded preparations, excipients, medical devices, and dietary supplements.

 

Subject Guide

Margaret Phillips's picture
Margaret Phillips
Contact:
3053P WALC
765-494-3649
Website / Blog Page

Standards Organizations

Here are valuable websites from national and international standards organizations: 

Standards Developing Organizations (linked from ANSI website)

ISO Members arranged by country

Organizations that work in cooperation with ISO 

Standards Citation in APA Format (Adapted) - ONLINE

ASTM International. (2013). Standard terminology of facility management (building-related).  ASTM E1480-92 (Reapproved 2013). West Conshohocken, PA: ASTM International. Retrieved from ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library.

or

ASTM International. (2013). Standard terminology of facility management (building-related).  ASTM E1480-92 (Reapproved 2013). West Conshohocken, PA: ASTM International. doi:10.1520/E1480-92R13