This is the "Databases at Purdue" page of the "Searching for Alternatives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Searching for Alternatives   Tags: alternatives, iacuc, pacuc, reduction, refinement, replacement  

A guide to support searching for alternatives
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/searchalternatives Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases at Purdue Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librari

 

Feedback VETM

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Databases Available at Purdue include:

AGRICOLA
developed by the National Agricultural Library, covers agricultural literature including animal care and welfare topics for laboratory animals, zoo animals, and livestock including; animal care and handling, humane treatment, animal rights, alternative to animal testing and laws and regulations. It is also a good resource for toxicology information especially pertaining to agricultural chemicals. [Coverage: 1970 to date].

BIOSIS Previews
covers the life sciences literature and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and is essential to the researcher working with animals. Use the concept codes field to retrieve two broad subject areas: testing and nonanimal. [Coverage: 1926 to date]

CAB Abstracts
provides comprehensive coverage of research in agriculture, biology, veterinary medicine and related fields. As the premier index to the world's veterinary literature, it is an excellent resource for researchers working with animals [Coverage: 1910 to date].

INSPECT
available with Compendex as part of Engineering Village 2, is a comprehensive database for physics, computing, and electrical engineering, and an excellent place to look for applications of artificial intelligence, robotics, computer simulation, neural networks, and cellular biophysics to studies that normally use animal models. [Coverage: 1898 to date]

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts [IPA]
provides clinical, practical, theoretical, economic, and scientific information on the development and use of drugs and the profession of pharmaceutical practice including the testing of drug and cosmetics in animals. [Coverage: 1970 to date]

PubMed [also known as MEDLINE]
developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), is the first database of choice for searching the medical research literature including testing done on animals. Using the relevant MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) keywords, such as acute toxicity tests; animal testing alternatives; animal use alternatives; animal welfare; handling; models, animal; or skin irritancy tests can provide great power in searching. Using the Purdue Libraries link to PubMed provides direct links into the Libraries' online journals. [Coverage: 1946 to current (records prior to 1965 lack MeSH indexing)].

PsycINFO
provides comprehensive access to psychological research including the use of animals for studies on behavior, brain development, cognition, and other areas of research. [Coverage: 1806 to date].

SciFinder Scholar
provides access to Chemical Abstracts, a good source for animal testing of the effects of chemicals (drugs, agrochemicals, cosmetic ingredients, industrial solvents, etc.). Chemicals can be searched by name, structure, CAS registry number, and molecular formula. [Coverage: 1907 to date].

Web of Science 
provide good cross coverage of the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities as well as the options of doing author and cited reference searching  [Coverage: 1900 to date for Science Citation Index portion of database].

Additional Databases available through the Purdue Libraries by Title:

http://www.lib.purdue.edu/find/databases

      

    Contact

    Profile Image
    Gretchen Stephens
    Contact Info
    Veterinary Medical Librarian
    & Associate Professor of Library Science
    Veterinary Medical Library
    Lynn Hall, Rm 1133
    Purdue University Libraries
    ph: 765-494-2852
    Send Email
     

    VM Library Hours

    Spring Semester 2014

    Mon -Thu      8 am - 10 pm
    Friday            8 am -  5 pm
    Sat                 1 pm -  5 pm
    Sun                1 pm - 10 pm

    Spring Break: closed March 15-16;
    open 8AM-5PM March 17-21;
    closed March 22; open 1-10PM March 23.

    Library doors are locked 15 minutes prior to closing.

     

    VM Library Contact

    Questions, comments or suggestions...

    vetmlib@purdue.edu

    Telephone: (765) 494-2952

    Federal Depository Library
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip