Ask a Librarian
INDIGO Newsletter (Current)
Volume 18, #1 Spring/Summer 2012
Indiana History -A Generation at War: The Civil War Era in a Northern Community This work, written by Ball State University History Professor Nicole Etcheson and published by the University Press of Kansas describes how Putnam County was affected by the Civil War and related events from approximately 1850-1880. Topics covered in this work include crime, race relations, political debate between Copperheads and Republicans, and the efforts or women to reduce the impact of liquor on their communities. Source materials used by Etcheson include serial set documents, pension applications, Census records including population schedules, 1850 Indiana State Constitutional Convention proceedings, Indiana Civil War regimental histories, personal papers, Putnam County court records and various newspapers. This work is an essential addition to Indiana History and Civil War/Reconstruction collections. (Bert Chapman).
National Reconnaissance Office History Center for the Study of National Reconnaissance-This resource provides numerous materials on the history of the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) which is the government agency responsible for designing, building, launching, and maintaining U.S. intelligence satellies. NRO was established in 1961 and its existence was publicly acknowledged in 1992. Its website contains numerous examples of declassified imagery such as the Corona imagery declassified as part of Executive Order 13526. Other highlights of this website include declassified staff correspondence, a 5 volume history of satellite reconnaissance (Perry Histories), and numerous individual histories including Congress and the National Reconnaissance Office (2001), A History of the Military Polar Orbiting Meteorological Satellite Program (2001); GRAB and POPPY: America's Early Elint Satellites (2005); and National Reconnaissance Office Journal, 2005, 2009, & 2012. (Bert Chapman).
Rare Earth Minerals-Rare earth minerals or rare earth elements are crucial in a variety of civilian and military applications. These include refining petroleum, building wind turbines, medical devices, missile defense, space-based and satellite communication systems, the automotive industry, colored televisoins, and flat panel displays including cell phones, portable DVDs, laptops, lasers, and radars. The U.S. has become increasingly dependent on importing rare earth minerals which China becoming a major supplier. Examples of these rare earth minerals include Gallium, Rhenium, Niobium, Tantalum, and Lithium. The economic and geopolitical significance of these rare earth minerals was demonstrated in 2010 border dispute between China and Japan which saw China suspended rare earth exports to Japan and produced a bubble resulting in price increases 30 times higher for commodities such as lithium. Discussions and analyses of this topic may also use the term "strategic minerals."
This is a topic that has captured the attention of civilan and military U.S. Government agencies as well as Congress. The U.S. Geological Survey has numerous resources on this subject. It is an issue of increasing concern to the military for its supply chain implications with the following reports being representative examples: China's Rare Earth Elements Industry: What Can the West Learn?, and Sustainability of Strategic Minerals in Southern Africa and Potential Conflicts and Partnerships,
Congressional committee hearings include this subject include China's Monopoly on Rare Earths: Implications for U.S. Foreign and Security Policy and Strategic and Critical Minerals: Domestic Minerals Supplies and Demands in a Time of Foreign Supply Disruptions. The Congressional Bills section of FDSYS is also a source of legislation on this topic and the Defese Dept's Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing and Industrial Base Policy also contains relevant related information. This April 25, 2012 Congressional Research Service report provides additional background. (Bert Chapman)
Volume 17, #2 Fall/Winter 2011/12
CIC Google Digitization: Purdue contributed over 57,000 items for this project and is currently collaborating with the University of Iowa to catalog and contribute individual items from the U.S. Congressional Serial Set for this initiative. (Bert Chapman)
From the Chair
Indiana University Libraries News-It's been an incredibly busy fall semester! We have had a lot of library users. We are most pleased to have three history classes delving into State Department records with many of these on microfilm. Students are studying various historical topics including Latin America, the Caribbean, Japan, and various conspiracies. Declassified Documents is another popular source.
During the Spring Semester, the University will be renovating about 2/3 of the floor currently assigned to Government Information, Maps, and Microforms to create space for the University's Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning. This necessitated a considerable amount of our collection being transferred to off-site storage. It all still should be available for Interlibrary Loan and other patron use. However, if you refer anyone here for access, advise them to request it before making a trip to Bloomington. They should email firstname.lastname@example.org and we can retrieve volumes before we visit. The Indiana Collection is not affected by this and this collection is the only collection of official state documents shelved together on open shelves for patrons to browse.
We have subscribed to the UN Energy Database. Although not officially "government" information, the biggest news is the digital release of the Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps on IU's GIS website the Indiana Spatial Data Portal. We will be linking the color scans to our Union List over the semester break, making PDF copies of these easier to retrieve. Note: When you go to the Indiana Spatial Data Portal, click on Dataset Information, then Sanborn Historic Maps, then Single File Interface, then the County you want to view, then the place. From there click on the Indiana Sanborn Historic Maps, Public Domain, PDF. Genealogists will love this, if we can get the links on the Union List. So you, might wait until January to refer users to them.
Staffing: Pam Glim and Linda Kelsey retired in August. Their positions are to be filled by one new position. Andrea Singer will retire in January, and her position will probably be re-described and assigned more to Area Studies. Be patient with us through these reductions, but do not hesitate to e-mail the department email@example.com if documents are needed. (Lou Malcomb).
Purdue Libraries News-Purdue has contributed over 57,000 documents to the Hathitrust/Google digitization project and is collaborating with the University of Iowa to catalog individual works in the Congressional Serial Set for this project. We also continue making progress cataloging pre-1976 congressional committee hearings for the Indiana Government Document Light Archive. Sometime in the next year we hope to begin cataloging publications from the Energy Department, EPA, and NASA from our Engineering Library as part of our Light Archive commitment. A large variety of students received instruction in Government Information and used these resources during the fall semester with subjects represented including Agricultural Economics, health care law and policy, Indiana Government and politics, natural resources policy, oil sands, regulatory politics, sociology, the relationship between Catholicism and labor strikes, U.S. Constitutional Law history, U.S. political and religious history. and others. I have contributed 14 entries to the Encyclopedia of Politics in the American West on various aspects of military and natural resources policy which will be published by CQ Press. I have also contributed chapter on various national and international government and military information resources to the forthcoming CRC Press work Pandemic Planning (Bert Chapman)
ARPA-E: The Energy Dept's Advanced Research Products Agency was established in 2007 by the America Competes Act (P.L. 110-69) and codified at 42 USC 16538. ARPA-E's purposes include enhancing U.S. economic and energy security by developing energy technologies to reduce energy imports from foreign sources; reducing energy-related emissions including greenhouse gases; improving energy efficiency in all sectors; and ensuring the U.S. maintains a technolgical lead in developing and deploying advanced energy technologies. Means of achieving these goals include identifying and promoting revolutionary advances in fundamental and applied sciences; translating scientific discoveries and cutting-edge inventions into technological innovations; and accelerating transformational technological advances in areas industry is not likely to undertake due to technical and financial uncertainty. ARPA-E is modeled after the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA).
ARPA-E has received several hundred million in economic stimulus funding and its FY 2012 congressional budget request was for $650,011,000. Its FY 2010 Annual Report covered program areas such as agile delivery of electric power technology; batteries for electrical energy storage in transportation; electrofuels; grid-scale rampable intermittent dispatchable storage; and innovative materials and processes for carbon capture technologies. Its website includes funding opportunity announcements, upcoming events and workshops such as an Energy Innovation Workshop scheduled for February 27-29, 2012 near Washington, DC; and information about ongoing ARPA-E funded projects such as the University of Notre Dame's CO2 (Carbon Dioxide) Capture with Ionic Liquids Involving Phase Change. (Bert Chapman)
Arctic Military Resources: Due to climactic changes, the Arctic Ocean region is becoming of increasing interest to various nations including the U.S., Canada, Denmark, Norway, Russia, and even China. This region possesses significant oil and natural gas resources and the increasing occurrence of ice free waters during the summer makes it possible for ships carrying international trade to use these waters to drastically shorten the length of some existing maritime trade routes. This region is also becoming increasingly important for military activity as many of these countries are strengthening their military presences in this region. in August 2007 Russia planted its national flag on the floor beneath the North Pole to strengthen its claims to that areas natural resources. Canada is strengthening its physical presence in this region as well. Numerous government and military agencies are producing information resources that seek to outline national Arctic policy including those with military implications. Numerous USGS and Energy Information Administration studies have documented the region's natural resources. In January 2009 the outgoing Bush Administration released the following document of administration Arctic strategy which has continued into the Obama Administration. A May 2011 DOD document Report to Congress on Arctic Operations and the Northwest Passage provides additional specifics. Russia in the Arctic a July 2011 U.S. Army War College report is another example of the Arctic's growing presence in military literature as is this July 2011 document detailing Canada's northern strategy. The Norwegian academic website GeoPolitics in the High North provides additional analyses and links to government Arctic strategy documents. (Bert Chapman)
Office of the National Counterintelligence Executive: This office seeks to integrate national counterintelligence efforts against foreign intelligence threats facing the U.S. Executive Order (EO) 12333 defines counterintelligence as "information gathered and activities conducted to identify, deceive, exploit, disrupt, or protect against espionage, other intelligence activities, sabotage, or assassinations conducted for or on behalf of foreign powers, organizations, or persons, or their agents, or international terrorist organizations or activities. Information resources on this site include the text of relevant laws including the 2008 amended version of EO 12333, a counterintelligence glossary and historical background reading, and various reports including annual Counterintelligence Strategy documents required by 50 USC 402a, and an archive of annual reports to Congress on foreign economic and industrial espionage from 1995 to the present. This site is an extremely useful information resource for those interested in counterintelligence and economic aspects of national security. (Bert Chapman)
AALL's Government Relations Office and Government Relations Committee Develop One-Pagers: AALL's Government Relations Office (GRO) and Government Relations Committee are working together to develop one-agers on our public policy proorities. These one-pagers provide background information and key talking points to influence members of Congress and other stakeholders. The new one-pagers explain AALL's support for funding the Government Printing Office, the Federal Depository Library Program, and the Faster FOIA Act. The GRO used the recent one-pager on Network Neutrality as part of the AALL's action campaign to oppose a resolution (S.J. RES 6) that would strip the Federal Communications Commission of the authority to enforce net neutrality. (Jennifer Bryan Morgan).
Volume 17, #1 Spring/Summer 2011
CIC Google Digitization: Purdue is in the process of contributing documents to the CIC Google digitization project during early Spring 2011. We prepared a list of 82,000+ candidate items and Google selected a "pick list" of 59,000 items which we are now in the process of preparing to send to Google for digitization. These items represent a variety of 20th century documents from a number of agencies we're not responsible for under the Indiana Government Document Light Archive. We are also contributing our paper congressional serial set volumes since we have the LexisNexis digital version of the serial set. (Bert Chapman)
Indiana University Law Library-Maurer School of Law News: Director Collem Pauwels is retiring. "After an extraordinary and dedicated career that leaves an incalculable legacy at our school, Colleen Pauwels has announced that she is retiring at the end of June. She leaves one of the top law libraries in the nation, and perhaps the world----a fact that is largeuly due to her vision and her wonderful ability to identify and recruit dedicated and accomplished librarians and staff." Lauren Robel, Den and Val Nolan Professor, Indiana University Maurer School of Law.
The Law Library has recently purchased ProQuest Legislative Insight Digital Archive Web Service. This is ProQuest's new compiled legislative history database and our purchase is for the entire Bloomington campus. We have also recently subscribed to a few other digital collections, which are available to the entire Bloomington campus including: HeinOnline's Intellectual Property and UN collection and Gale's Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, Part 2 (with MARC records). Our online resources are listed here. (Jennifer Bryan Morgan).
Civil War Sesquicentennial: This year begins the four year commemoration of the Civil War Sesquicentennial. This bloody conflict resulted in the deaths of approximately 620,000 individuals and profoundly changed our country's development and evolution. A phenomenal number of popular and scholarly works have been written and will continue to be written on this conflict examining political, diplomatic, military, economic, and social aspects. It is also possible to visit many sites, including battlefields, associated with the Civil War since some of these are run by federal agencies such as the National Park Service, state government agencies, and private sector owners. Government documents make up esential resources for studying this conflict with the Offical Records of the War of the Rebellion (OR) being the preeminent primary sources. These materials, covering from Union and Confederate Army and Navy operations are available through Cornell University's Making of America Digital Library.
There is not a national Civil War sesquicentannial commission, like the Civil War Centennial Commission set up in the early 1960s. However, a number of government resources are available on the Civil War to fuel your interest and enhance your desire to visit Civil War sites. The National Park Service's Civil War Site provides information on Civil War locales and state commemorations. The National Park Service also has a Civil War Soldiers & Sailors System which provides information on soldiers and sailors including their state of origin, service regiment, military regiment history, cemeteries, and military ranking. It is an excellent source of genealogical information.
Indiana's Civil War Sesquicentennial provides links to Indiana Civil War information and links to other state Civil War sesquicentennial activities. The Historical Bureau's newly unveiled Google maps feature of state historical markers features photos and map locations of Indiana's historical markers. IUPUI's Digital library has digitized Indiana Civil War Governor Oliver Morton's telegraph books here. Numerous books have been written about Indiana during the Civil War with representative examples including John Hunt Morgan and His Raiders, Indiana in the Civil War Era, 1850-1880, and many others. (Bert Chapman)
Purdue Libraries News: As already mentioned we've been involved in the CIC Google Digitation project. We are making additional progress in retrospectively cataloging U.S. documents for the Indiana Light Archive. We have completed cataloging Senate Commerce Committee hearings (Y 4.C 73/2) between 1930-1974 and have previously cataloged House & Senate Armed Services Committee Hearings (Y4.AR 5/2 and Y 4.AR 5/3) from approximately 1947-1974. We have also cataloged many Senate Government Operations Committee (Y 4.G 74/6) hearings from 1952-1974) as examples of our work in this area. Our work on congressional committtee hearings will continue. My new book Geopolitics: A Guide to the Issues has just been published in cloth and ebook format by Praeger and emphasizes the importance of geography in international political, strategic, and economic affairs, the history of geopolitics as a discipline, provides information on government and other geopoltical information resources, and profiles the work of historical and contemporary geopolitical writers. A Purdue University news release provides additional information. Purdue Libraries have also received a $2 million grant from the Conrad Hilton Foundation to endow an archivist for the Neil Armstrong and Eugene Cernan papers. (Bert Chapman)
Mississippi River Commission: This agency is part of the Army Corps of Engineers and is headquartered in Vicksburg, MS. It was established by Congress on June 28, 1879 and its purpose is improving the Mississippi River's condition, fostering navigation, promoting commerce, and preventing destructive floods. Its website provides information about organizational activities including water level readings throughout Mississippi River Valley drainage area districts and stations. This itself is a particularly good resource for monitoring water levels during the Spring 2011 floods on this river.
The commission's website also includes organizational history highlights and the text of relevant federal flood control laws and documentation of ongoing plans and activities. (Bert Chapman)
Volume 16, #2 Fall/Winter 2010/2011
From the Chair:
Indiana University Bloomington Libraries News: Andrea Singer is back from her sabbatical leave where she studied Tibetan. The addition of IUB's Auxiliarly Libreary Facility has been completed with additional space becoming available for research collections within the next couple of months. We're emphasizing "marketing" and trying to send a once weekly marketing message to the IUB Libraries website, staff news, or sponsor a training event. Topics covered include 1880 Census inclusion of illustrations; the wonder of CRS reports via Lexis-Nexis Congressional.; the World Health Organization (WHO) data source online; Interstate 60 documents and numerous webinars provided by vendors. Our purpose is getting an expanded patron base but also staff throughout our libraries knowing the variety of resources we have.
We switched to Ancestry Library Edition from Heritage Quest so we would have all available years of the manuscript census available for history students. It includes many military records/sources, Stars and Stripes, and many other "federal" records. We now have access to the Congressional Record via LexisNexis (provided by IUB) Libraries as well as Hein Online (provided by IUB Law.) Most early 15 minutes Indiana topographic maps are digitized and linked through our maps website. We are working on the 7.5 minute links. We have a volunteer who is working on providing geo-referencing for these maps http://www.libraries.iub.edu/index.php?pageId=3386
Many Indiana Geological Survey reports are now digitized and available through IU Scholarworks. We still have to add other years and the accompanying maps, but if you need early year IGS map reports email firstname.lastname@example.org and we will get it to you.
Just a reminder of our excellent staff (I'm prejudiced of course): Andrea Singer-Foreign documents and Indian and Tibetan Studies; Linda Kelsey-Reference and Collections emphasizing International documents and microforms; Pam Glim-Reference and Collections emphasizing Indiana and overall government information; Kimberly Horne-public services with oversight of hourly staff and technology; Sarah Lucas-Public Service emphasizing maps and day to day operationsp Heiko Muhr-Map collections emphasizing map cataloging; Kathy Marlett-special projects; and Lou Malcomb...U.S. and State/Local Documents and Geosciences including maps. WE LOVE REFERENCE so don't hesitate to contact us email@example.com (Lou Malcomb)
Purdue Libraries News-We have made significant progress in our pre-1976 retrospective cataloging of materials for the Government Documents Light Archive and are currently working on congressional agricultural committee hearings. These materials are being taken from the HSSE Library "Attic" and will be held in the Undergraduate Library's HIKS Repository. Many of these documents will also be available in a storage facility at Lynn Hall where Purdue's Veterinary Medical programs are located. We are also in the preliminary beginnings of the process to plan for cataloging and preparing materials we seek to include in the Google Digitization project. I participated in an August meeting at the University of Michigan with most other CIC Government Documents Librarians on the Google Digitization project. Purdue Libraries have moved to Libguides as a means of providing our users with research assistance and I have spent a major chunk of time this year working on that. You can view these here. Eventually, I intend for the INDIGO website to be moved to this format. A nice feature of Libguides is that you can track statistics for how many times individual pages and information resources on pages have been accessed. On the research and publishing front, I have submitted my the initial draft of my next book Geopolitics: A Guide to the Issues to Praeger Security International and anticipate publication in the first part of 2011. I have also contributed an chapter on government information resources for a book being compiled and edited by Purdue's Homeland Security Institute personnel and an interdisciplinary variety of Purdue faculty entitled Advances in Homeland Security: Pandemic Preparedness which will be published by Taylor & Francis. I also participated in an assessment of libraries resources for Purdue's Political Science Department has it is undergoing an external review and my assessment strongly emphasized the critical value of government information resources. A busy class instruction schedule has also been on my docket this fall semester. Becky and I got to go to the Sydney, Australia area on our summer vacation. One of the highlights was touring the State Library of New South Wales and this facility's Mitchell Library (which hosts their most historic materials) and an exhibit highlighting their centennial which included early British colonial gazettes and reports of exploring expeditions in the Blue Mountains about an hour northwest of Sydney. We also got to see the New South Wales State Parliament. (Bert Chapman).
Government Invasive Species Research: The website invasivespecies.gov/ coordinates the research and information dissemination activities of agencies such as the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, EPA, Interior Dept., NASA, and others who are concerned with developing high-level policy coordination on dealing with invasive species. These species are defined as "an alien (or non-native) species whose introduction does, or is likely to cause economic or environmental harm or harm to human health." Topics addressed by the federal and non-federal stakeholders on the Invasive Species Advisory Committee include prevention; early detection and rapid response; control, management, and restoration; research; education and public awareness; international cooperation; organizational collaboration and budgetary matters; and how individuals can combat invasive species. Resources on this website include the current newsletter describing how non-native Asian Carp are threatening to invade and infest the Great Lakes, a calender of national and international invasive species organizational meetings, and descriptions of ongoing invasive species research projects from these agencies. (Bert Chapman).
Volume 16, #1 Spring/Summer 2010
From the Chair: It's almost time for our spring meeting at Valparaiso, 225 miles and almost 5 hours drive time and work $225 round trip travel at the 2010 IRS standard mileage rate, north of last spnngr's meeting at IU-Southeast in New Albany. Being spread apart can be a challenge for Indiana government document librarians, but I hope to see as many of you as possible.
We have much to talk about, including:
Wabash's departure from the FDLP and the opportunity it presents gives the rest of us to fill in gaps, or replace missing or damaged documents. It motivated me to finish a spreadsheet we started ages ago, of missing and damaged Serial Set, Smithsonian, and USGS volumes.
Progress on the Light Archive and ALF in which it'll be stored, and how we identify materials we need to use from these.
INSPIRE-The new database package should be announced soon. Perhaps this is a good time to push for adding GPO.
Progress on a government documents issue of Indiana Libraries and other outreach we could do to other libraries and librarians.
The recent Documents for a Digital Democracy report, and numerous mis-reportings, and misunderstandings of its core message. Everyone I've talked with has picked up much more on the idea represented by Patrick Ragain's Fixing the Federal Depository Library Program that there's something hugely wrong with the FDLP and depository libraries and with being a depository, than on the report's key points that "historical collections are dramatically underutilized in relation to their potential value [emphasis added]," and "Newly released digital government information is not adequately preserved [emphasis added]." Neither my Democratic or Republican colleagues understand my fears that future administrations will be significantly uninterested in paying for the provision of free permanent public access to the records of prior administrations and agencies, especially those led by the other party, and that future generations of taxpayers won't see perpetually paying to maintain free digital access to every edition of every report, brochure, booklet, law, poster, and website, as a worthwhile government expense. They read and remember the first half of a "Without substantial structural change, the FDLP risks sliding further into irrelevance..." but missed or forgot the second half of the sentence, "and the general public's need for sustainable, no fee, permanent access to government information will be increasingly threatened."
It's also "Notable Documents" season, with Library Journal publishing GODORT's 2009 selections in its May 15 issue. I'm pleased to announce that Depauw has seven of the thirteen tangible federal documents, and all but one had already been identified by staff other than me as worth cataloging for our general collections! Thinking I might check which federal "Notable" documents we don't have (with hope of getting them from Wabash), I was displeased at the effort it takes to find the old lists on GODORT's website. (Fortunately, they're not hard to find on Library Journal's site.) The article links to a submission form for next year's nominees. From that page, you can eventually figure out you'll find more under "Committees," where you find "Publications," which links to a 404 Object Not Found! page, a "History and Bibliography" page that lists, but does not link to, past lists, and was "Last update[d] 7/23/2007." Hoping that I might find something under News (silly me), I learned that GODORT had elected Amy West chair for 2009/2010, and has several programs planned for Anaheim 2008 listed in extremely small font size and that current GODORT news is on the wiki. If by current, you mean February 2008, then both of the news items on the page they link to should satisfy. Seriously, any who's tried to find very basic information on a small committee or department website(or, to be fair, anybody who's ever tried to maintain one) ought to know that converting even recent materials, much less the entire federal legacy collection, to digital access is Sispyphean. (Kathryn Courtland Millis, DePauw Univerity).
China Maritime Studies Institute: China's increasing wealth and international political and military power has caused it to develop economic and strategic interests in global locales distant from it shores including the Persian Gulf, Africa, and Latin America. China has increased its economic aid to many countries without the human rights or political reform conditions the U.S. and other western countries often attach to their foreign aid recipients. In addition, China has become an increasingly important maritime power as its civilian and military fleets are increasing in size as they seek to provide Chinese domestic markets with access to energy and other economic assets from all corners of the globe. In recognition of these developments and concerned with how they might affect U.S. economic and maritime strategic interests, the Naval War College has recently established the China Maritime Studies Institute (CMSI) as one of its institutional research components.
CMSI research interests include energy, global commerce, law of the sea, maritime technologies, merchant marine, naval development, naval diplomacy, and shipbuilding and this research will emphasize the critical importance of the Sino-US maritime relationship for 21st century maritime security. The institute's website includes descriptions of its activities, faculty information, webcasts and media writings by institute analysts, the text of selected scholarly articles from journals like Naval War College Review, citations to books or book chapters written by CMSI faculty, and the full text of publications from CMSI's China Maritime Studies monographic series including Comprehensive Survey of China's Dynamic Shipbuilding Industry: Commercial Development and Strategic Implications (2008), Chinese Mine Warfare: A PLA Navy 'Assassins Mace' Capability (2009), and Five Dragons Stirring Up the Sea: Challenge and Opportunity in China's Improving Maritime Enforcement Capabilities (2010). (Bert Chapman)
Purdue Libraries News: I've also taken on the responsibility of being economics librarian and am looking forward to the opportunity to instruct students in this subject on the rich variety of government information resources on this topic. We continue our retrospective cataloging of various U.S. documents. We've made great progress with cataloging microfiche from the 1970s and 1980s in HSSE Library and have also made progress cataloging items for the Indiana Government Documents Light Archive from the Defense Department from the 1970s and earlier and are currently working on FDA, NIOSH, and Interior Dept. environmental impact statements from the 1970s and early 1980s. These paper documents will be kept in the HIKS Repository in the basement of the Undergraduate Library. Financial restrictions have made it impossible to purchase any new databases. Some revisions in appearance have occurred to the research and instructional guides sections of the libraries Documents Department website in an effort to achieve greater uniformity in the appearance of Libraries websites. These aesthetic changes will eventually encompass pages on the INDIGO website. My book Military Doctrine: A Reference Handbook, released last fall is selling reasonably well and I'm currently working on a comparable book for ABC-CLIO called Geopolitics: A Reference Handbook which will appear sometime next year. The current display case exhibit is "Government Documents on Pacific Ocean Islands" and a previous exhibit was "Government Documents on Military Medicine." I did a poster session presentation on United States farm legislation for the U.S. Agricultural Information Network (USAIN) conference hosted by Purdue Libraries and also participated in a presentation with Kirsten Leonard for Indiana Library Federations' District 2 conference in Kokomo. Purdue University has also established a Global Policy Research Institute whose research emphases will include agriculture, the environment, energy systems, economics, health, security, and society and leadership including family matters. Our retrospective government documents cataloging since the last newsletter includes the Defense Dept., EPA, FDA, NIOSH, and we're beginning some Interior Dept. agencies we're responsible for under the Light Archives. These newly cataloged materials are in the Undergraduate Library's HIKS Repository. (Bert Chapman)
Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP) Information Resources: One of the federal government's responses to the financial crisis of late 2008-present was creation of the Troubled Asset Relief Program (TARP) whose intentions include cleaning up toxic mortgage debt and restoring credit access to borrowers who have seen previously available credit sources diminish or disappear. Consequently, a wide variety of information resources have been created by multiple federal agencies to provide information and statistics on this program as well as information documenting TARP's legislative oversight.
The Treasury Dept website FinancialStability.gov is the primary resource for administering this program. Various data sets on program administration can be found here in the data.gov website. The Federal Reserve Board provides the following resource with additional information. The Special Inspector General for the Troubled Asset Relief Program (SIGTARP) audits this program's management performance for the Treasury Department and Congress. The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation also has additional TARP resources of interest to financial institutions.
Numerous congressional committees and congressional support organizations also provide legislative oversight, funding, and documentation of TARP program performance. These include theHouse Financial Services Committee, the Senate Banking, Housing, & Urban Affairs, and the Congressional Oversight Panel (COP). The Government Accountability Office (GAO) also provides excellent information on TARP programs as does the Congressional Budget Office and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports available through a variety of sites. (Bert Chapman)
Volume 15, #2 Fall/Winter 2009/2010
From the Chair:
Cataloging Government Publications: Technical services and cataloging for depository materials is now easier. GPO has relaunched Web Tech Notes on the FDLP Desktop. This long-awaited application replaces the discontinued Administrative Notes, Technical Supplement (ANTS) whose final print issue was Vol. 15, #11-12, November-December 31, 2008. Web Tech Notes features advanced ANTS searching from 1991 through the just mentioned issue and an RSS feed to keep users automatically updated about changes. Advanced search also allows users to search by date ranges and information categories. For example, in the cataloging and classification category, a user can search on "Change class to" in the Notes field for recent dates in order to discover and investigate recent SuDoc class changes. A help page explains features and gives search tips and strategies. GPO staff can create and update records to help depository library staff more easily track changes to federal publications. Each entry is a record and records are organized by date and may be browsed, searched, resorted, and exported in various formats. Each Web Tech Notes record includes these fields:
1. Title (required)
2. Superintendent of Documents Classification Number (SuDoc No.)
3. Item Number
4. Shipping List Number
7. List Number (legacy data only)
8. Volume Number (legacy data only)
9. Record Number (new): A Unique, system-generated number.
10. Entry Date (new): Date the record was added into the system.
11. Last Modified (new): Date record edited by GPO staff.
For Indiana University-Bloomington Libraries cataloging work, the most valuable field will be #2 SuDoc no. This will make it easier to track problem classification numbers, reclass documents, and train staff. We look forward to the additional training resources being developed by GPO staff. The FDL Handbook online explains why it is important for librarians to update their cataloging. In Chapter 6: Technical Services, 6.12 librarians are encouraged to monitor cataloging record changes because they are updated continuously and corrected for both serials and monographs. Depository staff can use Web Tech Notes to make corrections to SuDoc numbers and errors in descriptive cataloging and access points. Libraries are encouraged to develop policies and procedures for updating records-now is a good time to review them. The new Web Tech Notes may make procedures much easier in the long run. (Andrea Morrison-Indiana University)
U.S. Regional and Functional Military Commands: U.S. military policy and strategic planning are carried out by various regional and functional military commands under the direction of the President and Joint Chiefs of Staff. They involve collaboration between multiple U.S. armed service branches and collabration with allied militaries. The websites for these unified commands are very useful information resources for users desirous of understanding multiple aspects of military policy. The newest unified command is United States Africa Command and its responsibilities cover this continent's increasing strategic importance to U.S. national interests. United States Central Command (CENTCOM) is responsible for U.S. military activities in the Mideast and Central Asia with military operations in Afghanistan and Iraq being a particularly important focus. European Command (EUCOM) covers all areas of Europe and parts of the former Soviet Union. Northern Command (NORTHCOM) is responsible for producing the North American continent and seas out to 500 miles from hostile attacks. United States Pacific Command (PACOM) covers the Asia-Pacific geographic region and includes countries such as Asian Russia, China, India, and other countries in an arc covering through Australia. U.S. Southern Command (SOUTHCOM) covers Central and South American countries. U.S. Special Operations Command (SOCOM) directs the activities of U.S. special operations forces with particular emphasis on anti-terrorist operations and United States Strategic Command (STRATCOM) is responsible for defending the U.S. against space-based attacks, ballistic missile strikes or other mass destruction weapons attacks including cyber attacks.
These command websites feature news releases and various reports including posture statements which provide information about the military capabilities of these commands. Command websites also feature social networking assets such as YouTube and Twitter. (Bert Chapman)
Federal Aviation Administration Office of Commercial Space Transportation: This FAA office is responsible for protecting U.S. public, property, national security and foreign policy interests involving space launch or reentry activities and encouraging, facilitating, and promoting U.S. commercial space transportation. The office website features a variety of information resources. These include announcements of upcoming meetings and conferences and press releases. Other resources include licensing and permit application procedures, the text of relevant laws such as 49 USC 701, regulations such as various sections in 14 CFR 400s, how it integrates National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) provisions into office activities, and statistics on launches including quarterly launch reports from 1996-present. Various reports on the commercial space launch industry are also available including State Support for Commercial Space Activities (2008?), Liability Risk Sharing Regime for U.S. Commerical Space Transporation: Study and Analysis (2002), Space and Air Traffic Management of Operational Space Vehicles (2008), Annual Research and Development Accomplishment Reports (2003-present), Guidelines for Experimental Permits for Reeusable Suborbital Rockets (2005), and many other subjects. FAA's Office of Commercial Space Transportation provides information on aerospace careers and education and is an excellent resource for users desirous of learning more about the commercial space transportation industry. (Bert Chapman).
Federal Highway Administration: The Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) is the Transportation Dept. agency responsible for ensuring that U.S. roads and highways are safe and technologically current. It is also responsible for administering the Federal-Aid Highway Program which provides federal financial resources and technical assistance to state and local governments to construct, improve, and preserve the national highway system. This particular system covers 163,752 miles of roads (4% of the U.S. total road system) but carries approximately 45% of national highway traffic. The Federal-Aid Highway Program also provides resources for an additional one million miles of rural and urban roads which are not part of the national highway system.
Numerous information resources and reports are provided by the FHWA with subject breakdowns for these categories including roads and bridges, highway funding, environment, road operations and congestion, road users, safety, and research/technologies. Agency website users can find how economic stimulus funding from the "American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009" are being used for transportation infrastructure projects. Examples of the rich variety of reports available from this agency include Rails With Trails: Lessons Learned (2002), Financing Federal-Aid-Highways (2007), Report to Congress on Catastrophic Hurricane Evacuation Plan Evaluation (2006), Highway Trust Fund 2006 Financial Report (2006), and many others. (Bert Chapman)
Indiana University Bloomington News: Construction has started on the addition to IUB's Auxiliary Library Facility. Vaughn Nuest, Manager, Ruth Lilly Auxiliary Library Facility. reported on October 30. The site has been graded, limestone outcroppings broken apart and removed, poured concrete footings are in place, and the walls for the new ALF collections are expected to begin to rise and be placed in position within the next week of two. Nuest also reported that the project is expected to be complete by early July 2010. There are presently over 2,000,000 rare, fragile, valuable, and seldom-used items housed in ALF.
As reported on our listserv, IUB will close the Geography & Map Library on January 1, 2010. Most of the map collection will be moved to the Wells Library on the same floor housing our government information resources collection, East Tower 2 (ET2). The map collection is one of Indiana's largest holding historical maps like the Indiana Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps, as well as internatinal collections of topographic maps. Most maps date prior to 1970 although current maps are acquired, with future emphasis going toward electronic files. Most journals and books will be transferred to ALF or the Geology Library at 1001 E. 10th Street. Resources will remain accessible to the public throughout the move.
John Cash mentioned at the INDIGO meeting that he had prepared a display for Government Information and Kent Cooper Services related to maps from Saudi Arabia, stemming from a partnership with USGS. As part of the national celebration of Special Collections/Archives MOnth In October, this department prepared displays on the CCC in Indiana, Humor in Hard Times, and a small exhibit on the WPA in Indiana (overseen by Lou Malcomb). The libraries acquired a large collection of historic WPA poster reproductions in an initiative lead by Bob Goehlert which will be cataloged and retained. Additional displays during the fall semester include one celebrating UNESCO's commitment to cultural heritage forcuisng on the latest addition to its Intangible Cultural Heritage List from Indonesia-Batik; one highlighting the life of President Barack Obama's mother, Stanley Ann Dunham (created by Adrea Singer), and the most recent commemorating Veterans' Day, November 11, 2009 created by Public Services Associate Kimberly Horne.
East Tower 2 (ET2) now has a BLOG where we can report on various events and issues related to government information, microforms, or periodicals. See our home page. We have also created a few podcasts for marketing our resources with SLIS Intern Dunstan McNutt creating The Freedom of Information Act and Sarah Lucas creating Depositories!; Where Did That Law Come From?; and Who Was Kent Cooper? These will be available soon on IU's podcast portal. (Lou Malcomb)
Purdue Libraries News-The Documents Department was transferred to the Libraries Information Technology Resource Services (ITRS) and, consequently, I no longer directly supervise support staff. This staff continues our retrospective cataloging efforts for the Indiana Government Document Light Archive. We are nearly finished cataloging microfiche from the mid-1970s to early 1990s for agencies such as the Transportation Department. Late this summer, we began process of cataloging documents in the HSSE attic and transferring them to the HIKS Repository storage facility in the Undergraduate Library. As of mid-October, we have finished cataloging retrospective Agriculture Department materials, Civil Aeronautics Board documents, and begun cataloging Defense Department publications with some of these dating back to the 1950s. We are proceeding in SuDoc number order in this project which may take a couple of years.
I have also spent a considerable amount of time cataloging nondepository electronic government information resources from agencies such as the Bureau of Land Management, Minerals Management Service, Fish and Wildlife Service, and am currently working on various Transportation Dept. agency non-depository born-digital publications.
My book Military Doctrine: A Reference Handbook has just been published by Praeger Security International as part of their Contemporary, Military, Strategic, and Security Issues monographic series. The work covers military doctrine documents and scholarly literature on this topic during the 20th and 21st centuries covering the U.S. and many other countries.
Display case exhibits have been prepared for Government Documents on Pakistan and now Government Documents on Military Medicine. (Bert Chapman)
Volume 15, #1 Spring/Summer 2009
From the Chair: Every spring I look forward to the Notable Government Documents List published by Library Journal and selected by an ALA GODORT Committee. The 2008 list includes documents from federal, state, and international agencies. Federal documents highlight histories of various agencies including the FBI, the U.S. Army Nurse Corps during the WWI era, and a dcoument entitled The Agency and the Hill: CIA's Relationship with Congress, 1946-2004 which is very timely.
International documents of interest include a couple of atlases: Africa: Atlas of Our Changing Environment and Atlas of Global Development and a really wonderful resource, Vital Water Graphics: An Overview of the State of the World's Fresh and Marine Waters. Since my institution is not a depository for any international organization, I depend on this list to help me with collection development as I purchase many of the documents listed.
But every year I seem to be disappointed. As I read through the state documents chosen as the year's best, I did not find any Indiana state documents. Again. In fact, in the eleven years I've been a documents librarian, I don't recall ever seeing an Indiana document on the list. Correct me if I'm mistaken. If not, I'll you'll join me in searching for Indiana documents that we can nominate for next year's consideration. The material can be in print, CD, video, Web site, or other formats and can be nominated from an online form.
I hope our INDIGO membership makes a concerted effort to watch for high quality Indiana state agency publications so Indiana will be recognized in the 2009 list. Happy hunting! (Becky Byrum)
Cataloging Digital Documents Collections: In an environment of limited funds, improved search engines, and an eDocuments explosion, what are the challenges and prospects for cataloging digital documents? Should libraries depend on retrieval of open access metadata of digital documents collections via the Inernet or access via online catalog bibliographic records? Should metadata or MARC 21 cataloging be used for collections? What is cataloging's role in providing permanent public access to all types of government information? Should digital documents be provided on the web for no fee access whether the digital product was provided by the government entity or other institutions? Ultimately, how should the bibliographic information be provided for these digital docuemnts, whether digitized or born digital? Should we rely on vendors to supply cataloging or metadata records for these collections? It is impossible to provide answers to even some of these questions. Answers appear to be on a project by project basis. However, here are a few thoughts on this subject from a documents cataloger.
In this restricted financial environment, it is critical for libraries to carefully consider our digital documents cataloging policy with an integrated approach internal and external to the library. Internally, cataloging policy should be coordinated and regularly reviewed with collection development policy. What digigal documents should be prioritized for cataloging: disappearing documents at risk because of content, content of interest to library mission, documents digitized by our own institutions, or content crtical for library users? If selected, do our libraries have the resources to catalog these documents or are vendor records available to purchase and load in our online catalogs? Even if our institutions do not catalog digital documents, we should consider what staff time can be devoted to working on bibliographic information for federal digital documents. Besides cataloging, staff may correct bibliographic records in their library's online catalog. They may correct SuDoc classification in records, PURLs for improved online user access, or other bibliographic problems hindering access. Non cataloger staff may work with GPO or other cataloging agencies to improve this information. For example, they may request GPO cataloging by using GPO's Lost Docs Reporting Form for identifying fugitive documents, or use GPO Help reporting problems with cataloging, classification, and PURLs. Finally, all staff may participate in some aspect of collaborative cataloging for state and local documents, such as planning and implementing.
We need to examine our cataloging policies for digital collections. What standard will be used and how will individual records be accessed? If metadata is provided, the best is via rich, shareable metadata. MARC 21 cataloging is one form of metadata for bibliographic resources that we are most familiar with. Cataloging may be different depending on whether the resources is a digital reproduction or born digital. The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) has recently published Cataloging Digital Reproductions. These procedures for cataloging digital reproductions of tangible documents for GPO and GPO partners were developed following a cataloging community-wide review. GPO Cataloging Guidelines provide MARC cataloging procedures and standards for digital documents such as websites and born digital resources. However, not all digitization projects and cataloging agencies have the resources to follow these guidelines or other standards when providing eDocuments metadata and cataloging. In addition, state and local governments may or may not have cataloging digital documents guidelines.
Identifying and preserving these resources are a higher priority than cataloging. While GPO cataloging policies and standards are high quality, not all digital federal documents are cataloged and distributed by the FDLP or cataloged by federal agencies. Even if these resources are distributed, the documents themselves may wait years for a cataloging record, or material cataloged by a federal agency may not get the GPO provided SuDoc classification and PURL.
There is a pressing need in Indiana to identify and catalog state eDocs. Do we need a collaborative project to identify, preserve, and catalog them? We have the Indiana State Library's Indiana Memory which is a collaboration of digital projects of state and local government information provided by Indiana libraries, museums, archives, and related cultural organizations. Indiana Memory enables web access to Indiana's cultural and historical heritage via institutionally provided metadata from content hosting institutions. In an Indiana Library Association Annual Conference feedback session, attendees supported MARC 21 cataloging of digital content of all of these resources, for the project themselves, and for individual resources. This effort would be an enormous undertaking. It may be possible to require stricter standards for metadata for the projects. For example, the state could require shareable, open access, and harvestable metadata. Whether this is possible, cataloging Indiana Memory resources would take collaboration and financial resources. Imagine the resources needed to catalog all Indiana state and local documents!
However, we proceed to address cataloging digital documents, providing access to them depends on bibliographic data. The April 2009 Association of Research Libraries white paper Strategic Directions for the Federal Depository Library Program discusses the importance of good cataloging records for digital collections and digital legacy collections.
"For access to these digita
INDIGO Newsletter (Cont.)