Skip to main content

INDIGO Newsletter (1992-2003): Home

Historic INDIGO newsletters

INDIGO Newsletter 1992-2003

Newsletters 1992-2003

Note: Pre 1998 issues hyperlinked to Indiana University Libraries hosted sites. (BC)

INDIGO News Volume 1, #1 September 1992
INDIGO INKBLOTS Volume 1 Special Issue 1992
INDIGO INKBLOTS Extra! March 12, 1993
INDIGO News Volume 1, #2 January 1993
INDIGO News Volume 1, #3 April 1993
INDIGO News Volume 1, #4 July 1993
INDIGO News Volume 2, # 1 December 1993-#4 September 1994
INDIGO News Volume 3, #1 December 1994-#4 September 1995
INDIGO News Volume 4, #1 December 1995-#3/4 June/September 1996
Volume 6, #1 Fall/Winter 1998 
Volume 6, #2 Spring/Summer 1999

Volume 7, #1 Fall/Winter 1999-2000
Volume 7, #2 Fall/Winter 2000-2001
Volume 8, #1 Spring/Summer 2001
Volume 9, #1 Spring/Summer 2002
Volume 9, #2 Fall/Winter 2002-2003

INDIGO News

Volume 6, #1 Fall/Winter 1998

From the Chair:

 The fall conference will be held Friday, December 4, 1998 at IUPUI's University
 Library Room UL1132.  Items on the agenda include presentations on digital copyright  and Indiana's Open Records and Meetings Act, the annual business meeting, and  planning for a possible government documents promotional tour patterned after a similar event held in Arizona during 1997.

 Since some of us have faculty status, we are subject to our institutions promotion and  tenure requirements.  Such requirements can include acknowledgement of our  professional contributions from colleagues.  It would be beneficial, therefore, for INDIGO members to become familiar with each others professional accomplishments and serve as supportive reference sources for those evaluating us at our parent institutions.  Given the unique professional characteristics of documents librarianship and its mysteriousness to some of our colleagues, we need to provide a support system  for each other when we are evaluated and when major decisions affecting our work are made.

 Indiana Depository News

 Ball State's SIRSI System
 Diane Calvin reports that Ball State is bringing up SIRSI as its online system in late
 November.

 INDIGO WWW Page News
 The INDIGO web page will be brought up soon on the Purdue Documents Department
  homepage.  The anticipated URL will be   www.lib.purdue.edu/library_info/departments/govdocs/Indigo/  Please take a look at the
 page and make suggestions for updates and enhancements since it contains outdated
 information.  In addition, the Purdue Libraries Documents Department web page will be
 unveiled at:  www.lib.purdue.edu/library_info/departments/govdocs/

 INDIGO Listserv Needs New Moderator
 A new INDIGO listserv moderator will be needed after December 23.  Current
  moderator Fannie Cox will be leaving to accept a professional position at the University
  of Louisville.  We wish Fannie the best in her new position.

 Purdue Libraries Adopt Voyager Online System
 Purdue Libraries moved from Notis to Endeavor Information System's Voyager as its
  library management system in July 1998.  Voyager provides enhanced access to
  government publications through its use of hotlinked subject headings and links to
  Internet versions of documents when those publications are in the bibliographic record.
  Technical services aspects are more problematic as they require setting up prediction
  patterns for each individual serial title which is an extremely time-consuming process.
  Purdue Libraries Documents Department staff hope to have this process complete
  sometime next year.

 GPO Reform Bill
 
This past session of Congress saw the first major attempt to reform the statutory basis
  for the FDLP since 1962 passage of the act creating the Regional Depository system.
  S. 2288, the Wendell Ford Government Publications Reform Act was introduced on
  July 10, 1998 by Senators John Warner (R-VA) and Wendell Ford (D-KY).  It was
  referred to the Senate Rules Committee which held hearings and reported favorably on
  it on September 28, 1998.  This committee issued Senate Report 105-413 on October
 16, 1998.  However, the legislaiton went no farther due to the end of the congressional
  session and furor over the Starr Report and Lewinsky scandal.  The status of this
  legislation involving the depository community and Joint Committee on Printing for the
  upcoming 106th Congress is uncertain.

 Congressional Research Service Reports Legislation
 The 105th Congress also saw attempts to make Congressional Research Service
  (CRS) reports publicly available on the Internet.  Senator John McCain (R-AZ)
  introduced S. 1578 in this regard on January 28, 1998 and a hearing was held on
  March 4, 1998 by the Senate Rules Committee.  Despite being cosponsored by
  outgoing Senator Dan Coats (R-IN) and a total of 11 senators, this legislation went no
  further neither did a July 20, 1998 legislative amendment by McCain.  January 28 also
  saw the House version of this (H.R. 3131) introduced by Rep. Chris Shays (R-CT).
  H.R. 3131 was referred to the House Oversight Committee and was cosponsored by
 33 representatives although none of these were from Indiana.

 U.S. Senate Candidates Depository Library Invitation Attempts
 Invitations to visit the depository facilities at Purdue University were extended to U.S.
 Senate candidates Evan Bayh and Paul Helmke.  Neither invitation was accepted.

 Indiana Government WWW Site Award Proposal
 Since increasing numbers of Indiana governmental agencies have WWW sites,
 INDIGO might want to consider issuing an annual certificate of recognition to the
 agency having the best site.  Awards could be issued in the following three categories:
 best Indiana state agency site, best Indiana local (city or county) government site, and
 best Indiana congressional member site.  Criteria for these awards should include
 substantive quality of information, updating frequency, ease of use, and aesthetic
 appearance.  IPFW's Indiana sites homepage, Purdue's Indiana local goverment site
 www.lib.purdue.edu/govdocs/local.html and the Indiana State Library's
 homepage are good sites for locating links to Indiana local government sites.

 Public Policy Process and Community Nursing Classes at IU-Northwest
 A graduate research course in IUN's School of Public and Environmental Affairs
 (SPEA) program requires a semester long legislative research project.  Students choose
 a public policy topic then a related law from the 1980's or 1990's which sought to
 address problem(s) relevant to that topic.  Students find relevant information about the
 law and its legislative history such as committee hearings, debates, regulatory impact,
 and subsequent legal challenges.  I provide an instruction session for the class and
 provide additional assistance for individual students throughout the semester.  Students
 tend to start with commercial sources such as Congressional Quarterly publications
 then move to electonic versions of the Congressional Record through GPO Access
 and Thomas.  Students find the course challenging but gain a sense of accomplishment
 at the end of the class.  The students also gain a new level of information literacy which
 will help them in the workplace.   An upper level course in IUN's Nursing Division
  requires two library research projects.  Students first choose community health issues
 such as asthma, AIDS, teen pregnancy, or teen smoking.  They procede to use biblio-
 graphic indexes and sources to locate medical related sources including government
 publications as a preparation for writing a research paper.  Students also use
 government and other statistical sources in print, CD-ROM, and the Internet to
 document incidences, morbidity, and mortality concerning this issue at national, state,
 and local levels.
   A second step in the project is creating a community profile of a Northwest Indiana
 municipality, using various statistical sources to locate demographic, vital statistics, and
 other relevant data to compare the local community against a "healthy" community.  I
 provide a 1-2 hour instructional session for the class on relevant print and electronic
 sources and followup assistance at the Reference Desk or in my office for individuals
 providng additional guidance. (Tim Sutherland)

 Indiana History News
 Much attention has been paid to the electronic dissemination of government information
 in recent years.  It's also important for Documents Librarians to remember the important
 role of government documents historically and in historical research.  An excellent
 example of this latter role is provided in Donald Carmony's Indiana 1816-1850:  The
 Pioneer Era.  This work is the newest in the Indiana Historical Society's five volume
 series on Indiana's historical development.  Carmony chronicles Indiana's early years as
 a state covering events such as the state's early efforts at economic management, the
 building of the Wabash & Erie Canal and the serious financial consequences it
 produced, Hoosier involvement in the Mexican-American War, and how Indiana dealt
 with issues which would eventually erupt into Civil War.  His study also makes extensive
 use of U.S. and Indiana documents.  Federal documents used by Carmony include U.S.
 Statutes at Large, Congressional Globe, House and Senate Journals, decennial
 census reports, and public lands, Indian affairs, and finance volumes of the American
 State Papers.  Indiana documents used in this study include the 1816 and 1851 state
 constitutions, Indiana state and Northwest Territory laws, the Journal of the Indiana
 Territory for 1816 constitutional convention coverage, Indiana House and Senate
 Journals, and gubernatorial letters and papers from William Henry Harrison, Jonathan
 Jennings, and Samuel Bigger.  Although partially weakened by a wooden writing style,
 Indiana 1816-1850 is a significant contribution to Indiana's first three and a half
 decades of statehood and a must addition to Indiana history collections in our libraries.

 New Indiana Congressional Representative
 Former state legislator Baron Hill (D) was elected to fill the 9th congressional district
 seat held since 1965 by Rep. Lee Hamilton (D) who is retiring.  Hill's committee
 assignments are not known at this time or whether he is familiar with the FDLP.

 Statistical Universe and Academic Universe
 Purdue University Libraries have acquired access to CIS' Statistical Universe and
 Lexis-Nexis' Academic Universe.  Statistical Universe is a web-based version of
 CIS' ASI, SRI, and IIS indexes covering statistical publications produced by various
 governmental organizations. Academic Universe provides access to a variety of
 information sources with particular emphasis on legal resources such as court cases and
 federal and state law.  Access to these resources is limited to Purdue users who have
 been appreciative of the benefits provided by these sources.

 New Indiana Local Government WWW Sites

 New Indiana local government WWW sites since the last newsletter include:

 Auburn  http://www.auburn-in.com/
 Carmel  http://www.ci.carmel.in.us/
 Crawfordsville  http://www.wico.net/~crawfordsville/
 Fowler  http://www.arealink.com/fowler/
 Garrett  http://www.dekalbnet.org/garrett/
 Greene County (GreeNet)  http://www.greenet.net/
 Howard County   http://co.howard.in.us/
 Tippecanoe County  http://www.county.tippecanoe.in.us/
 Vincennes  http://www.vincennes.org/
 Washington   http://www.dmrtc.net/~mayor/

 Upcoming Events
 ALA Midwinter-Philadelphia, January 29-February 2, 1999
 Federal Depository Library Conference-Washington, DC-April 12-15, 1999
 INDIGO Spring Conference-Date and location TBA.

 Send news of developments at your depository or other contributions to:

 Editor, Bert Chapman
            Purdue University
            (765) 494-2837
            chapmanb@purdue.edu

 INDIGO News

 Volume 6, #2 Spring/Summer 1999

 From the Chair:
 The spring conference will be Friday, June 11 at IUPUI's University Library Room
 UL1116.  A full agenda is planned.  We will hear presentations on the use of DVD
 technology by the Patent & Trademark Office, the Indiana Secretary of State's web
 site, 2000 Census developments in Indiana, the Indiana State Ethics Commission web
 site, and government information access legislation in the Indiana General Assembly.
   There will also be discussion of the planned Indiana Government Documents tour
 session in Fort Wayne in August.

 Hinton Appointed to Depository Library Council!
 IUPUI's Bob Hinton has been appointed to serve a three-year term on the Depository
 Library Council.  Bob becomes the third Hoosier to serve on council following in the
 footsteps of Sally Holterhoff and Steve Hayes.

 Indiana Depository News
 The Federal Depository Library Program Listserv (FDLPINL) was created in February
 1997 by the Indiana State Library-Indiana's regional depository.  Its purpose is allowing
 Indiana's federal depository librarians and support staff to communicate about
 documents issues and problems.  FDLPINL is used for conducting official Indiana
 federal depository business such as posting electronic versions of Indiana depository
 disposal lists, posting messages about INDIGO meetings, and forwarding email
 correspondence about problems, issues, and answered questions the Regional
 Depository has with GPO.
   FDLPINL is a closed listserv.  Subscription to and participation in it is regulated by
  Doug Conrads in cooperation with the Indiana State Library Management Information
 Services.  Each officially designated GPO federal depository library Indiana contact
 representative is an automatic FDLPINL subscriber.  Other interested individuals may
 contact Doug at  fdlpinl@www.statelib.lib.in.us   Notify Doug of changes in your staff
 email addresses to maintain listserv currency.
   FDLPINL is unmoderated with posted messages receiving immediate, unedited, and
 unfiltered distribution.  Messages posted on this listserv will reach all Indiana federal
 depository libraries unlike INDIGO-L whose members have government information
 interests beyond U.S. documents.  As an open listserv, INDIGO-L is also different in
 that it allows individuals to subscribe and unsubscribe at their own discretion.  INDIGO
 members interested in subscribing to FDLPINL may contact Doug at (317) 232-3686
 or via email at  dconrads@statelib.lib.in.us  (Doug Conrads)

 Indiana University Library-Government Publications Dept. News
 Green Boxes-If you're familiar with IUB's Government Publications Department (GPD)
 you may remember our "Foreign Reference Shelves," where significant country
 reference publications were placed in a "green box."  This popular service became
 impossible during our LC conversion for foreign, international, and state/local
 documents.  We have now created a virtual green box for each country of the world
 which is a pathfinder to significant electronic or print materials about that country which
 is accessible at http://www.indiana.edu/~libgpd/guides/green/home.html

 GPD is working with other CIC libraries to compress and make available information
 on floppy disks received from GPO.  Information on this project is available at
  http://www.indiana.edu/~libgpd/mforms/floppy/floppy.html  The site is still under
 development.  Comments are welcome and should be directed to Lou Malcomb
  malcomb@indiana.edu

 All IU Libraries now have web access to UN Access, an index to UN documentation
 going back to 1964.  IUB eventually plans to purchase access to this information dating
 back to 1946.  IUB retains the documents on microfiche can be requested through
 ILL.  Thanks to NEH endowment funds, we have obtained a microfiche replacement
 for British Parliamentary Papers (House of Commons) from 1929-1947.  This facilitates
 easier photocopying and ILL.  IUB still has this material from 1900-1928 in microcard.

 Andrea Morrison has been promoted to Associate Librarian effective July 1, 1999.
 Andrea Singer is in India on sabbatical and returns August 1, 1999.  Lou Malcomb
 received the William Jenkins Librarian's Award at IU Libraries annual awards and
 retirement celebation May 21st.  Marian Shaaban attended the biennial meeting of
 European Union depository librarians in Washington, DC June 1-5. (Andrea Morrison)

 Bert Chapman demonstrated the Purdue Libraries Documents Department homepage at
 a Technology Showcase sponsored by Purdue's Multimedia Instructional Development
 Center in March.  This presentation provided the opportunity to demonstrate how
 government information is delivered over the Internet to a non-library audience.  An
 exhibit: "Government Documents on the Balkan Crisis" is on display in Purdue's
 Humanities, Social Sciences, and Education (HSSE) Library located in Stewart Center.
 The exhibit "Plan Your Summer Vacation With Govenment Documents" was featured
 last summer.  A forthcoming exhibit will deal with government documents on the
 Caspian Sea region. The subject guides section of the Purdue Libraries Documents
 Department homepage will have a "Government Documents on Aviation" entry by the
 time of the June 11 conference.  Purdue Libraries have purchased the CIS Index to
 U.S. Executive Branch Documents 1789-1909.  An initiative is underway by other
 CIC libraries to purchase the accompanying microfiche collection and Indiana
 University is one of the interested libraries.

 Sally Holterhoff's picture is featured on the homepage of the American Association of
  Law Libraries at  http://www.aallnet.org/

 Tim Sutherland gave a presentation entitled "Engaged Institutions:  Using the Federal
 Depository as a Community Service to Address Regional and Community Needs" at
 the Federal Depository Library Conference in April.  His presentation will be published
 in the conference proceedings which will also be published on the FDLP's web site.
 Tim has some additional comments on this issue for the newsletter:

 Specialized government information services (federal depository collections within the
 library organization) are often one of the library departments/units most involved in
 serving "community" users and needs because of the commitment to provide
 government information and data to all users regardless of their status.  With that in
 mind, the focus and recommendations from a Feb. 1999 Kellogg Commission report
 entitled Returning to Our Roots: The Engaged Institution
  http://www.nasulgc.org/Kellogg/engage.pdf has relevance to depository services within
  academic libraries.  This report lists seven guiding characteristics defining an "engaged
  institution."  These are responsiveness, respect for partners, academic neutrality,
  accessibility, integration, coordination, and resource partnerships.  This last is especially
  important because libraries with stable or declining funding from traditional sources
  have the opportunity to develop new relationships through community or regional
  outreach partnerships that will provide new resources to allow expanded library
  services.  I am also willing to provide a copy of my Federal Depository Library
  Conference presentation on this topic. (Tim Sutherland)

 International Documents Listserv Available
 Documents Worldwide, an unmoderated listserv sponsored by ALA GODORT's
 International Documents Task Force (IDTF) is up and running.  To subscribe email
  listserv@listserv.indiana.edu and enter the following message:  SUBSCRIBE
  DOCWORLD-L Firstname Lastname  You can also register for docworld-l on the
  web at:  http://www.indiana.edu/libgpd/idtf/docworld.html
   DocWorld-L is available to persons interested in sharing government information
  worldwide.  Subjects covered include:
     1. Freedom of access to government information
     2. Government publishing trends
     3. Announcements of new and notable government publications, including indexes,
         web sites, and other tools for enhancing access to worldwide government
          information.
     4. Organization of those working with government information.

 GODORT IDTF Commitment
 1. IDTF is committed to improving communication between U.S. librarians and their
     counterparts from other countries concerned with government information.
 2. IDTF members will be signed onto this listserv and assist in referring questions to
     appropriate contacts including questions relating to the organization of groups
     working with government information.  This list does not cover specific questions on
     U.S. depository documents which are handled by the GovDoc-L listserv.
 3. IDTF will improve its homepage at  http://www.indiana.edu/libgpd/idtf/home.html to
     announce important trends in this field, list significant national government Internet
     resources, and record worldwide listservs concerned with exchanging government
     information.

 Direct questions to DocWorld-L's listowner and current IDTF Coordinator

   Andrea Morrison
   Documents Librarian
   Government Publications Department
   Indiana University Libaries
   1320 E. 10th St.
   Bloomington, IN 47405-3907 (United States)
   (812) 855-6924 FAX (812) 855-3460
    amorriso@indiana.edu

 Questions may also be directed to officers listed on IDTF's homepage or to:
    Asst. Coordinator/Coordinator-elect
    James A. church
    Social Sciences & Humanities Library, 0175R
    University of California, San Diego
    9500 Gilman Drive
    LaJolla, CA 92093-0175
    (619) 534-1266 FAX (619) 534-7548
     jchurch@ucsd.edu
 (Andrea Morrison)

 Indiana History News
 The Indiana Historical Society's new headquarters will open in July.  Be sure to check
 out the Historical Society's web site at  http://www.indianahistory.org/ for additional
  information about its programs and services.  Indiana state agencies web sites with
  historical information include the Indiana Historical Bureau
  http://www.statelib.lib.in.us/www/ihb/ihb.html  and the Indiana State Museum 
  http://www.state.in.us/ism/  The Historical Bureau's site includes searchable databases
  of Indiana covered bridges and historical markers. The State Museum's site contains
  information about the Indiana State Museum and various state historical sites.  In
  addition, you can find information about and drawings of the new Indiana State
  Museum on the Indiana Department of Natural Resources web site at
   http://www.state.in.us/dnr/

 Review of Indiana Department of Natural Resources Web Site
 Located at  http://www.state.in.us/dnr/ , this site chronicles the activities and programs
 of Indiana's principal natural resources policy agency.  Users can find information on a
 wide variety of topics.  There are links to DNR bureaus and divisions such as fish and
 wildlife, historic preservation & archaeology, outdoor recreation, state parks &
 reservoirs, and water.  Additional contents include DNR's 1998 Annual Report, the
 current issue of the popular magazine Outdoor Indiana, information on the new Indiana
 State Museum, the Indiana Hunting and Trapping Regulation Guide, a canoeing
 guide, material from the Wabash River Heritage Corridor Commission, as well as
 information on and maps of state parks and reservoirs.  Although filled with information,
 homepage design could be improved by having a less cluttered arrangement of links to
 greet users once they arrive at the DNR site.  This could be accomplished with better
 indexing of page contents.  Despite this weakness, this site is still an essential source of
 information for those desirous of learning about Indiana natural resource policies,
 planning visits to state parks or other recrational activity, and for anyone interested in
 learning more about Indiana's multifaceted natural attractions.
   Reviews of other Indiana state agency web sites will appear in future newsletter issues.

 Review of Lafayette City Web Site
 The City of Lafayette  http://www.city.Lafayette.in.us/  site provides information about
 Lafayette city government and other community services and activities.  The "About
 Lafayette" link contains information about community restaurants, child care, education,
 libraries, media, religious institutions, and transportation.  The government section
 contains links to various departments such as the Mayor's Office, City Clerk, and City
 Council.  Examples of information found on this page include email links to city officials,
 selected reports and documents such as histories of Columbian Park and community
 development block grants, city council information including meeting minutes and the
 texts of resolutions and ordinances, and the Lafayette City Code.  Other features of this
 site include a city hall calendar, job openings, and selected forms in PDF format.  This is
 a well organized site with significant quantities of useful information.  Archiving of City
 Council minutes goes back to 1998 but the site contains no information on electronic
 records retention.  Despite this concern, this is generally a model municipal government
 web site that presents an attractive portrait of an important western Indiana community.
  Reviews of other Indiana local government sites will occur in future newsletter issues.

 New Indiana Local Government WWW Sites
 Avon www.avongov.org/  
 Benton County  http://www.bentoncounty.org/
 East Chicago  http://www.eastchicago.com/
 Mishawaka  http://www.mishawakacity.com/

 Indiana Congressional Web Site Review
 Rep. Baron Hill (D) is the newest member of Indiana's congressional delegation
 representing the 9th district seat formerly heald by Lee Hamilton.  His is site
 http://www.house.gov/baronhill/ appears to have opened on April 29, 1999.  The site
 loads quickly and features a picture of Hill and eight individual linked items.  These
 include a standard greeting, contact information, Washington, DC tourist information,
 press releases, a biography, links to congressional committees Hill serves on, federal
 web sites, and a photo album of Hill with various student constituents.  The press
 releases section only has one item about unfair drug prices and the committees section
 covering the agriculture and armed services committees also includes information on
 which subcommittes Hill is a member of.  The federal web sites section has links to
 different governmental branches including one to GPO but no link to 9th district federal
 depository library sites.  Although a new site, Hill and his staff have made a positive
 start in promoting their congressional work.  Two areas that could be strengthened
 would be including the names of his staff and their areas of responsibility in the contact
 information section and including information and links to legislation Hill has introduced
 or cosponsored.
   Review of other Indiana congressional web sites will occur in future newsletter issues.

 Access Indiana Praised
 Congressional Quarterly's publication Governing praised the Access Indiana
 Information Network for its comprehensiveness and cost-effectiveness.  These
 comments were in Governing's evaluation of state government management practices.
 Comments for Indiana can be found at  http://www.governing.com/gp9in.htm and
 evaluations of other state government managerial issues can also be found at
   http://www.governing.com/

 Upcoming Events
 American Library Association Annual Conference-New Orleans-June 25-30
 Special Libraries Association-Minneapolis-June 5-10
 American Association of Law Librarians-Washington, DC-July17-21

 Send news of developments at your depository or other contributions to:
 Editor, Bert Chapman
           Purdue University
           (765) 494-2837
           chapmanb@purdue.edu
 
 

INDIGO News

 Vol. 7, #1 Fall/Winter 1999-2000

From the Chair:
 Greetings for the new year and millenium!  It is a rich time to be interested in
  government publications.  So many things are changing and improving in the documents
 world that keeping our finger on the pulse of documents developments seems incredibly
 challenging.  Here are some trends and issues that seem to be the most challenging for
 the coming year.

 The first challenge we face is the Y2K issue.  When we read this INDIGO newsletter
 issue will we discover Y2K plan faws in some government agencies?  We hope GPO's
 plan holds steady because of its importance as a resource.  Library Programs Service
 (LPS) alerted us on govdoc-l that they intended to check their servers and desktops
 and that their plan was posted at  http://www.access.gpo.gov/y2kdiscl.html .  They also
 reminded us that depository libraries were asked to check computers and networks to
 ensure Y2K compliance.  A point to consider is now that many government publications
 are only available electronically is whether these documents will be replaced if they
 suffer from Y2K problems.  Most government agencies do not promise to preserve
 their online documents.  Other difficulties occur in retrieving online documents from
 agencies implementing computer security firewalls that prevent access.  This is
 happening on military sites.  GPO's PURL's no longer work.  Will we need to advocate
 for freely accessible websites for certain titles or agencies?  Y2K problems or not, we
 still need to be alert for these barriers to access and actively work to eliminate them.

More challenges include technological changes.  We know the U.S. Patent Office will issue patents on DVD.  How many of us in Indiana actually have a DVD drive yet?  (My guess is few).  This Digital Virtual Disc format has so much space available it allows many layers of graphics, text, and video for its subject.  For example, a DVD movie can be viewed along with a choice of subtitles, foreign language audio, commentary, trailers, and criticisms.  Also because of its memory the audio and visuals are beautiful.  In our practical world, a few DVD's can contain the information needed on many CD-ROMs.  I have heard the Indiana Visual and Audiovisual Network (IVAN)  http://birch.palni.edu/~ivan/ivan.htm  present a program on DVD in which they asserted that libraries will definitely want to collect in DVD format.  Although this demonstration was impressive,
I confess to a bit of cynicism-by the time we invest time and money in this format, will a more compact and technologically compelling format emerge?  IVAN has received an LSTA grant to five their staff the opportunity to develop expertise on this technology and they will presenting a program at the ILF Annual Conference on April 8 entitled "DVD-Is It For You?"

 Another trend affecting federal depository libraries is the fast pace at which GPO has
 been able to implement a more electronic environment and how this affects our
 collections and user services.  Our shipping lists see an increase in the online electronic
 format (EL) and microfiche (M).  Paper (P) and tangible electronic products (E) seem
 on the wane.  First, we have the problem that we may not always have access to these
 online electronic titles unless they're captured in paper or electronic form.  Because of
 time and money, only rarely do we preserve online documents, except in excep-
 tional circumstances such as missing important periodical issues and major reports. This
 trend has the benefit of improving collection space but, on the other hand, may require
 more computer terminals for users.  These users may have remote access for electronic
 titles, but how do they know about them?  Are Indiana depositories providing title
 access to these documents in their online catalogs?  Are our users served by microfiche
 or should we deselect this unpopular format and depend on electronic versions, where
 available?  Shoud we deselect paper titles when the official electronic version is on
 GPO Access?  Also, although we may receive fewer CD-ROMs, they may require new
 software or cause still unknown complications.  I believe we'll need to think constantly
 about providing collection access in the coming year.  I encourage you to use the
 INDIGO listserv for discussion of issues concerning you, especially in this area
.  Sometimes I am surprised that our regional depository also failed to receive several
 periodical issues or that another library has trouble with different CD-ROM products
 than we do.  We'd all be grateful for more in-state information and support in these
 areas.

 I'd like to know how others in the state are using new resources such as PubScience
  http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/dpos/partner.html and Ben's Guide to U.S.
 Government for Kids
http://bensguide.gpo.gov/index.html on the GPO website and
 GPO Access.  Ben's Guide was particularly appreciated by Bloomington middle school
 librarian Denise Schockley.

 An issue we can discuss is our handling of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set now that
 only regional depositories will receive bound volumes.  Are you planning on binding
 your reports and documents or relying on GPO Access? When asked about the
 completeness of paper reports and documents at the "Government Information Issues in
 the 21st Century" conference, Public Printer Mike DiMario and Superintendent of
 Documents Fran Buckley admitted that neither the paper nor electronic versions would
 in themselves be complete serial sets.  Users will have to depend on both paper and
 electronic versions to have access to the complete set.

 State government online information and websites are growing so rapidly it is difficult to
 track them.  Sharing information in this area is extremely important, particularly when
 new and useful reports and data are added.  When you find a good site that was
 recently updated, inform us with a quick note so we can look at it.

 Locally, Monroe County implemented a GIS online site for mapping property within the
 county at  http://in53.b-l-n.com/ Once you load the map you want there are many
 different and powerful ways to manipulate it!  We'll see more government GIS
 information provided online in the coming year.  USGS has included more GIS access
 in the past year.  Basic information about this can be viewed at
 http://www.usgs.gov/research/gis/title.html and includes a description of GIS and its
 applications.  INDIGO program planners are working on a GIS conference program
 for this year.

 What about instruction and outreach for government documents?  Even if this is not a
  central institutional mission, it can be a personal goal.  I ask us all why don't citizens
 know more about what is available?  Why don't students in our schools know about the
 basic reference texts we find so valuable?  Why don't public libraries link to more
 government Internet sites?  Do Hoosiers know enough about GPO Access?  If we think
 there is more we can do in this area, how can we help?
 I propose that INDIGO continue working on our successful Docs Tour project this
 year and try bringing this information to at least two more areas in our state.  We can
 develop a Docs Tour internet site on the INDIGO homepage.  This site can provide the
 basic information included in the Docs Tour instruction on government information to
 everyone in Indiana.  In addition to the Docs Tour, I think INDIGO should focus on its
  conference programs, newsletter, and sharing information on INDIGO-L.  We don't
  need to act on all these issues but should be challenged to be aware, informed, and
  share our knowledge with colleagues.  Have a great 2000!  (Andrea Morrison)

 Government Information Issues in the 21st Century Symposium at Southern
 Illinois University-Carbondale, Sept. 16-18, 1999
   This conference was designed to address a variety of topics of interest to librarians
 and researchers concerned with government information retrieval in the next century.
 Indiana attendees were Barbara Henn, Andrea Morrison, Lois Sewell, and Andrea
 Singer from IU-Bloomington and Bob Hinton from IUPUI.  Conference speaker
 profiles are still available on the conference website
 http://www.lib.siu.edu/sii/index.html   These nationally recognized speakers included:

 Prudence S. Adler, Assistant Executive Director, Federal Relations and Information
 Policy, Association of Research Libraries

 Francis Buckley, Jr., Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing
 Office-Buckley is an enjoyable speaker in his formal presentations and enthusiastic in
 the smaller informal sessions.  GPO partnerships and the issue of permanent public
 access are two of the major issues GPO is working on.  See the new 1999 PubScience
 partnership at  http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/dpos/partner.html   PubScience
 provides users with the capability of searching across a large compendium of peer
 reviewed journal literature with emphasis on the physical sciences and other disciplines
 of concern to the Department of Energy (DOE).

 Michael DiMario, Public Printer, U.S. Government Printing Office.  His address was
 reprinted in Administrative Notes, v. 20, no. 15 and on the web at
 http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/dpos/ad111599.html#9  He was inspiring on the
 topic of an informed citizenry and public access to documents finishing his speech with
 the words "As technology continues to change, government rules, as well as the rules
 and roles of those in the library community, must continue to evolve.  But what must
 stay constant is a continuing adherence to the principle of public access and its centrality
 to our system of informed self-government."  In one of the breakout sessions, DiMario
 and Buckley confirmed that they see GPO responding to private sector technology
 developments but not taking the lead to develop technology or select emerging
 technologies before widespread public use.

 Jay Jordan, OCLC President and CEO, spoke about OCLC research and
 development and their technological leadership. He told us about some interesting
 experiences with e-books and trouble with the Internet connection at the last IFLA
 conference he attended within a context of standards development.

 Julia Wallace, Head, Government Publications Library, University of Minnesota-Gave a
 superb presentation on the use of statistics and advocated depository promotion of data
 usage.  More information on this can be found here which provides background for
 understanding government data and good government data links.  It also serves as a
 useful reference for quick government data site annotations and links to user guides and
 documentation.

 Attendees were pleased with this conference.  There was time for informal idea
 exchanges at the breakout sessions.  At one GIS session, it was interesting hearing from
 a company providing GIS information for sale their perspective on the private use of
 free government GIS information, and how their product added value for consumers.
  They mentioned they considered the time involved in digitizing maps an added value
 worth paying for even if the information was not added admitting that such digitization
 was not technically difficult.  Andrea Singer's conference appraisal was:
 
 "Though the extensive multiple presentations of Julia Wallace and updates from
 Washington luminaries were informative, the highlights of the conference for me as a
 non-U.S. docs person who does U.S. docs reference were an address by OCLC CEO
  Jay Jordan, and breakout session on Internet sites for legal research.  SIU hospitality
  was wonderful." (Andrea Morrison)

 Upcoming INDIGO Conference
 Reserve Thursday, February 10 for the INDIGO Winter Conference!  It will be held at
 the new Indiana Historical Society building (450 West Ohio Street) in Indianapolis.
 Free parking is provided behind the building and we will join a free public tour at 3:30
 p.m.  The historical society web site can be reached at  http://www.indianahistory.org/
 and contains information about the Cole Porter Room, William Henry Smith Memorial
 Library, Great Hall, other attractions, and directions.  The tentative schedule is:

     10:00-10:15 Welcome and Announcements-Andrea
     10:15-11:15 Indiana Dept. of Environmental Management WWW Site
     11:15-12:15 GIS Program-Matt Dye (IU-Bloomington)
     12:15-1:30 Lunch
     1:30-2:30 Business Meeting-Including Chair and Treasurers Reports, Doc Tour
      program report and future tour discussion, INDIGO website and newsletter, other
      issues
     2:30-3:15 Open discussion issues or presentation
     3:30 Indiana Historical Society Tour

 Purdue Libraries News
 
The Humanities, Social Sciences, and Education (HSSE) Library, where a significant
 number of Purdue's government documents are located, will be remodeled.  The
 renovation will start this fall and go on until 2002.  Once completed, the first floor of this
 library will be transformed into a state of the art electronic facility.  Connect to
 http://www.lib.purdue.edu/hsse/ for future information about this project.  Purdue's
 Documents Department homepage was demonstrated at an electronic
 poster session during a fall 1999 visit from the North Central Association
 reaccreditation team.  North Central members viewing this site came from universities as
 diverse as the University of Illinois-Urbana/Champaign, Oklahoma State University, and
 the University of Houston.  The Purdue Libraries Documents Department homepage
 continues to grow.  The subject guides section of this page has added handouts on
 aviation, intelligence, and public administration.  These handouts can be
 reached at:  http://www.lib.purdue.edu/library_info/departments/govdocs/Aviation.htmlhttp://www.lib.purdue.edu/library_info/departments/govdocs/Intelligence.html , and
   http://www.lib.purdue.edu/library_info/departments/govdocs/PubAdmin.html .

 Indiana History News-American State Papers as Resources
 The American State Papers are excellent primary source materials for Indiana's final
 years as a territory and early years of statehood.  Consisting of 40 volumes these
 documents are divided into categories such as foreign relations, Indian Affairs, finance,
 commerce/navigation, military affairs, naval affairs, Post Office Department, public
 lands, claims, and miscellaneous.  They contain subject indexes and are also indexed in
 CIS' Congressional Serial Set Index.  Topics covered within the state papers include
 the military activities of Indiana territorial governor William Henry Harrison, federal
 relations with the Miami Indians, Indian treaties, and numerous other topics.

 Energy Department Espionage Resources
 Revelation of Chinese espionage at DOE labs in 1999 provoked a political firestorm
 whose consequences continue to rage.  There are a variety of government resources on
 this subject that are available on the web or distributed to depository libraries.
 Representative executive branch materials include the President's Foreign Intelligence
 Advisory Board (PFIAB) report Science at Its Best:  Security at Its
 Worst
 http://www.whitehouse.gov/WH/EOP/pfiab/pfiab_report.pdf  and its
 appendix  http://www.whitehouse.gov/WH/EOP/pfiab/appendix.pdf , Public Law
 106-65 (National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2000-Sections
 3141-3156), House Reports 106-162 and 106-301 (Conference Report), and Senate
 Report 106-56.  Relevant DOE materials include DOE's Office of Nuclear Proliferation
 and National Security  http://www.nn.doe.gov/ , DOE's Inspector General
  http://www.ig.doe.gov/ , DOE's Office of Defense Programs  http://www.dp.doe.gov/
 , and DOE's Implementation Plan for the National Nuclear Security Administration
  http://www.doe.gov/news/nnsa.pdf  which was created by Congress in response to
  these security breaches.   Important legislative branch resources include General
  Accounting Office reports  http://www.gao.gov/ , the Cox Report
  http://www.house.gov/coxreport/ , House Armed Services Committee
  http://www.house.gov/hasc/ , House Commerce Committee
  http://www.house.gov/commerce/ , Senate Armed Services Committee
  http://www.senate.gov/~armed_services/ , Senate Energy & Natural Resources
  Committee  http://www.senate.gov/~energy/ , and a Senate Governmental Affairs
  Committee report on the FBI and DOE investigation of Wen-Ho Lee
  http://www.senate.gov/~gov_affairs/china_investigation.htm

 Indiana Congressional Web Site Review-Senator Richard Lugar
 Senator Richard Lugar (R) is Indiana's senior senator having served since 1977.  His
 site can be found at  http://www.senate.gov/~lugar/ . Contents include Washington and
 Indiana office location information biographical material, the full text of press releases
 since 1999, links to Senate committees Lugar serves on, constitutent service
 information such as casework, Washington, DC tours, and service academy
 nominations, and information on ordering constituent resource handbooks on topics
 such as consumer affairs and economic development.  This information is
 acceptable but far short of what's needed for an effective website.  Additional
 information should include links to legislation Senator Lugar has sponsored along with
 the names of staff members and their subject responsibilities with particular emphasis on
 legislative assistants.

 Indiana Department of Education Web Site Review
 Located at  http://ideanet.doe.state.in.us/ , the Indiana Department of Education website
 is one of Indiana's most extensive in its coverage.  Site contents include the department's
 current General Assembly legislative agenda, individual school performance reports,
 individual school student expulsion information, individual teacher licensing data, links to
 K-12 school web sites, academic standards for selected subjects and grades K-12 as
 required by Public Law 143-1999, and video feeds of Indiana State Board of
 Education meetings.  Although the homepage is crowded with links which may
 intimidate the initial user, this must be regarded as one of Indiana State Government's
 premier Internet resources and is "must surfing" for anyone interested in Indiana
 educational policy.  Regrettably, the site no longer contains individual teacher salary
 information which I enjoyed demonstrating for education law classes.

 Hamilton County Web Site Review
 Hamilton County  http://www.co.hamilton.in.us/ is located just north of Indianapolis and
 ranks as one of Indiana's most affluent and technologically sophisticated counties.  Their
 web site contains a vast diversity of county government information.  Site contents
 include government office location information, agendas and minutes of organizations
 such as the county commissioners, and links to county offices such as the county
 council, clerk's office, assessor, courts, and auditor.
  A particularly noteworthy feature is GIS material including zoning and other map
  images requiring the use of Autodesk Map and MapGuide plugins.  A users guide to
  various county government agencies is also included.
  This site ranks very highly on content but it receives lower presentation marks.  The
  homepage uses frames and the presence of different background colors makes printing
  this page impossible.  The use of frames throughout this site also detracts from its user
  friendliness.  If this unfortunate emphasis on frames is corrected for an aesthetically
  plainer appearance, than this resource could qualify as a model local government web
  site.

 Upcoming Events
 Depository Library Council Conference-Newport, RI-April 10-12

 Send news of developments at your depository or other contributions to:
 Editor, Bert Chapman
           Purdue University
           (765) 494-2837
           chapmanb@purdue.edu
 
 INDIGO News

Volume 7, #2 Winter/2000-2001

 From the Chair:
 We live in interesting times.  As you know, the Superintendent of Documents August
 25, 2000 letter to the directors of federal depository librarians stated that the transition
 to a primarily electronic Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) is accelerating
 rapidly.  Because of budget cuts, GPO must streamline traditional paper distribution.
 A core list of publications will remain in the FDLP in paper; other documents will be
 evaluated and disseminated electronically only, if they meet the criteria GPO has set.

 Helen Keller once said:

 "Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.  To keep our faces toward change and
 behave like free spirits in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable."

 As change brings these challenges, we have the choice to hold back or be free spirits.
 I think of INDIGO as a group with the tipe of free spirit that Helen Keller speaks
 about.  We have great interest in government information, but also our members have
 shared many creative ideas and activities in this field.  Some of the reference work we
 do in this field is a daring adventure and requires strength!  I am very pleased with the
 programs that we will have at our November 29th fall conference in Indianapolis.  I
 hope that you will attend, see what your colleagues are doing, and share what you are
 doing.  Bring your handouts and printouts of new things-this is a great opportunity to
 get together.  I hope that we will have a lively discussion about the Federal Depository
 Library Conference and the GPO developments, improving INDIGO´s website, the
 Docs Tour program, and issues you bring before the group.

 As we think and discuss developments in government information, I think it is interest-
 ing to look at the future of technology in general.  According to MIT´s Michael Der-
 touzen, the purchase and sale of information work is expected to grow enormously, up
 to one-quarter of the world´s industrial economy.  Where will libraries be in this picture?
 Jeff Papows, president and CEO of Lotus Development Corp suggests that how U.S.
 industries fare will depend on four factors: 1) which countries will develop inexpensive,
 high bandwidth Internet systems; 2) near universal citizen access to the Internet; 3) up-
 date their laws to cover new technological capacities; 4) have the most capable,
 creative, and enthusiastic citizens and entrepreneurs.  We can

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007