This guide is focused on the needs of mechanical engineering faculty and students
- Engineering Village (combines COMPENDEX and INSPEC)
Contains journal articles and conferences papers, some back to the late 1880s. The databases can be searched together or separately. COMPENDEX coves all fields of engineering while INSPEC emphasizes computer technology, electrical engineering, and physics.
- Shock and Vibration Digest
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration, including noise, vibration technologies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Technology Research Database
Includes a variety of science and engineering library databases including Mechanical Engineering and Transportation Database, Aerospace and High Technology Database, and Materials Research Database with Metadex and many others. Recommend using Advanced Search option and creating own account.
- Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Indexes over 400 journals and trade magazines. It is good for history that goes back to 1917.
These databases cover a hugh number of journal articles in many disciplines. All have keyword searches with Web of Science and Scopus indexes title/abstracts/keywords while Google Scholar indexes full-text. There is some overlap but also unique titles in each.
- Web of Science (also known as Science Citation Index Expanded)
Covers references to a variety of in-depth journals and selected conference publications, including author abstracts, cited references, and related references covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
Indexes peer reviewed journals from 5,000 international publishers. It supports research needs of many disciplines including engineering, science, technology, and medicine. This is a new source in 2012 and permits downloads of many records. It does not cover as many years as Web of Science.
- Google Scholar
Is a free service to many online journals and books. Since Purdue pays subscriptions to many online journals, you may setup links to full-text sources using the OpenURL Referer
- OpenURL Referrer
Helps you set up links to Purdue Library holdings from Google Scholar. The OpenURL referrer put the Find It @ Purdue icon in your Google Scholar search results, allowing for quick, easy determination if you can get an electronic copy of an article.
For a more complete description of the topic, review this Purdue Library Guide on Dissertations.
This section describe two indices that cover many subject areas. Some dissertations are full-text.
- Dissertations and Theses (PQDT)
Indexes theses and dissertations from U.S. and international universities. There are more dissertations than master's theses.
- NDLTD Union Catalog
Provides multiple interfaces to dissertations. VTLS thesis search looks the best for access to 4 million documents.