This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 413 / MARS 420 The History of Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 413 / MARS 420 The History of Books   Tags: archives, arts_and_humanities, english, libraries, literature, manuscripts, medieval_studies, primary sources  

From Beowulf to Shakespeare
Last Updated: Aug 14, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/mars420 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

WELCOME!

ASC entrance image

The Virginia Kelly Karnes Archives and Special Collections contains manuscripts, rare books, printed materials, photos, artifacts, and artwork ranging from a papyrus fragment to materials concerning Purdue History. We invite and encourage the public, students, faculty, and researchers to use our collections, whether the purpose is for teaching, research, or pure curiosity.

 

INTRODUCTION

This guide is designed to provide information and resources for students taking the ENGL 413 / MARS 420 - The History of Books course at Purdue University. There is a focus on special collections and a list of medieval manuscripts and rare books that are available in the Purdue Archives and Special Collections. Special attention is given to instruction on searching and accessing materials in our collection, as well as what to expect upon your first visit.  The information within this guide should aid students in this class in locating materials to inspire original topics for their research papers and future academic endeavors.

This guide was originally created by Kristin Leaman; revised and maintained by Sammie Morris.

 

Suffrage of Mary Magdalene from a Breviary, 1400 (France)

From the Ancient and Medieval Manuscript Leaves collection, 30 B.C.E. - 18th Century.

 

General Information

Location:

We are located on the 4th floor of the HSSE Library in Stewart Center directly across from the elevator.

 

Fall and Spring hours:

Monday-Friday, 10:00am-4:30pm

Summer hours:

Monday-Friday, 1:00pm-4:30pm


Contact:

Email: spcoll@purdue.edu

Phone: 765-494-2839

 

Website:

http://www.lib.purdue.edu/spcol/ 

Federal Depository Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip