Research Guides: HDFS 313: Adolescent Development: Home

Welcome!

This page has been tailored for HDFS 313: ADOLESCENT DEVELOPMENT.

Some Key HDFS Journals

Are your database search results too overwhelming or not really relevant to your topic? Try searching in one of the HDFS journals below. If you're off-campus, you may be prompted to log-in with your career account.

Find Articles -- Primary Databases

Use the databases below to find scholarly (journal) articles.

The most important database for this course is CHILD DEVELOPMENT & ADOLESCENT STUDIES.

The second choice is PSYCHINFO.

Use the family studies databases if your question has a more "family" related focus.

Child Development and Adolescent Studies
Indexes literature on the growth and development of children through the age of 21. Covers journal articles, book reviews, technical reports, book chapters, and dissertations.
PsycINFO
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide
anthology of four database files, providing access to more than 1.3 million records spanning from 1970 to the present. This resource indexes publications from a wide range of social science disciplines, including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work.
Family Studies Abstracts
This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Find Articles -- Using Comprehensive (All Subjects ) Databases

Use the databases below to expand your search into other disciplines. These databases have both scholarly (journal) and popular (magazine, newspaper) articles. Unlike the two databases above, which focus on child/adolescent, family studies, and psychology, they cover all subject areas.,

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's most compelling social issues. It is multidisciplinary and supports science, social science, and education courses.
Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a general academic index that indexes more than 8,200 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 4,600.

In addition, Academic Search Complete offers access to more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. Videos relevant to the search terms will appear in a carousel in the result list.
Proquest Research Library
This database provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
Social Sciences Full Text
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the U.S. and elsewhere with full text and page images from scores of key publications, plus abstracting and indexing of hundreds of others.
Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Search Google Scholar

If you're off-campus, click Off Campus Guide to eResources - Google Scholar for info on how to link to full-text (full articles) online through Purdue Libraries.

Find Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau Census Data This link opens in a new window
U.S. Census Bureau resource providing data about the American people, places, and economy on national, state, and local levels relying on user feedback to achieve incremental progress.

American Factfinder Factfinder.census.gove by U.S. Census Bureau
Publication Date: 2009

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Annual compendium of statistics from government and nongovernmental sources produced by the Census Bureau from 1878-2012 and ProQuest from 2013-present.
Proquest Statistical Insight
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, state governments, private organizations, and major international governmental organizations. Search between approximately 200,000 to 500,000 tables with advanced Search Tables functionality.

Coverage includes over 50 years.

Creating an Effective Search Strategy

Check out this 3-minute video for tips on better searching.

Google Scholar Search Demo

Citing & Writing Help

APA Formatting & Style
A thorough overview of APA style. Check out the links on the left side of the page for examples on citing different kinds of sources.
How to avoid plagiarism
Tips on how to summarize, paraphrase, and quote sources without plagiarizing.

Judy's Tricks of the Trade tutorial

Tricks of the Trade tutorial
Would you like to know 4 quick tricks that work in most databases for key word searching? Find out how by viewing and listening to this 10 minute tutorial, which covers:

-- phrase searching
-- truncation (word stem searching)
-- Boolean logic (combining key words with AND and OR)
-- Nesting (grouping ideas)