Skip to main content

Get A G.R.I.P. (Graduate.Research.Information.Portal): Researching

An information portal for graduate students about the services and resources available at Purdue University Libraries

G.R.I.P. Libguide

Getting books (and articles) from another library -- Interlibrary Loan

FIND FULL TEXT ARTICLES

Looking for a specific journal?  We probably have it in digital format.  Best method is to use the Online Journalsl list.

Pay attention to the date coverage information –

  • some are only for a certain period of time, 
  • some journals are NOTavailable (or EMBARGOED) for the first 6 to 12 months.

Alternately use the Library catalog to search for journals (both print and ejournals) owned by the Purdue  Libraries

  • Print journals are located at different LIBRARIES on campuse according to their subject area.  
  • Many older issues are located in the Hicks Repository.  
  • Look for the name of the LIBRARY or HICKS before the call number under the "Find Print" button.  

If the Library doesn't own the journal article,  request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Off Campus Access Links

Using your PU ID and password, you can get to the databases, journals and e-books that the library owns.

Find Databases

Searching for articles on a specific topic? The Library provides access to almost 500 databases that index articles.  To find the databases in your area:  

  • You can browse them alphabetically.   
  • Or open the  "All Categories" window to limit to a broad area such as Arts & Humanities.  
  • Further limit your search for the right database by using the "Filter" window.

Science and Engineering Databases

Education Databases

How to Find Books in our Online Catalog

Suggest a book

Renew your books

FIND BOOKS AT PURDUE

Search for a book (both print and electronic) owned by the PURDUE LIBRARIES using the Library catalog.

Graduate students get 16 WEEK LOANS, unless recalled by another user, with NO limit to the number items that can be borrowed. Your PU id is your library card.  More information about borrowing privileges is available here.

A PU Career Account ID and password are required to access electronic books.

Broaden your search to all the CIC Libraries (the major research libraries in the MidWest) by using UBORROW.  Books will be sent to Purdue Libraries Interlibrary Loan department for pick up. 

Broaden your search even further by using WorldCat, a major database of about 40 million books and other items at libraries around the world. Then request them via Interlibrary Loan.