This is the "Government Documents on Western U.S. History" page of the "Government Documents on Western U.S. History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Documents on Western U.S. History   Tags: western_united_states_government, western_united_states_history  

Government Documents on Western U.S. History
Last Updated: Dec 16, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/govwestushist Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Government Documents on Western U.S. History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian

 

Western History

Government Documents on Western U.S. History

 

Government publications are excellent sources of information on Western U.S. History. Purdue Libraries have many publications on this subject. Most of these are located in the HSSE Library but some will be located in other campus libraries depending on their subject. While most recent U.S. Government publications are in the Library Catalog, some are not. Locating these requires using a number of print and CD-ROM indexes. States covered in this guide include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

The principal index for U.S. Government Publications is the GPO CD-ROM located near the HSSE Reference Desk. This indexes U.S. documents froim 1976 to the present and its print counterpart is Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications HSSE REF & Periodicals 016.353 Un36 and is accessible here from 1976-present.

Additional indexes for historical U.S. Documents include:

Cumulative Title Index to U.S. Public Documents 1789-1976 HSSE REF 016.353 C913
American Statistics Index HSSE Periodicals 317.3 Am35
(Indexes U.S. Govt. statistical publications)
CIS Index HSSE REF 328.73005 C76
(Indexes congressional publications and legislative histories 1970-present)
CIS U.S. Serial Set Index & Cartobibliography 1789-1969 HSSE REF 328.73 C761c
CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents 1789-1909 HSSE REF 351.73 C 497 1990
CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents 1910-1932 HSSE REF 351.73 C497 1996
(Purdue does not have the accompanying microfiche collection for these Executive Branch documents indexes but Indiana
University and the University of Illinois-Urbana/Champaign have it and these items can be requested thru Interlibrary Loan.)
CIS Congressional Committee Hearings Index 1833-1969 HSSE REF 348.731 C76
(Some of these hearings (1869-1934) available in Senate Library microfiche in HSSE's 2nd floor microforms collections.)
Guide to U.S. Government Publications HSSE REF Desk 015.73 G943
Checklist of United States Publications 1789-1909 HSSE REF 016.353 Un3c3
(Online access courtesy Evergreen State College)

Connect HERE for information on downloading Purdue Libraries Ebooks.

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Bert Chapman
Contact Info
(765) 494-2837
Fax: (765) 494-9007
Send Email
 
Federal Depository Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip