Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Government Information on Automobiles: Home

Provides access to government and non-government information resources on automobiles/cars and how government policies have sought to influence their technological development, consumer safety, and environmental impact.

Government Information on Automobiles

The U.S. Government and governments of many countries haves sought to encourage development and innovation in the automobile industry for over a century.  These governments have also had to influence the design of cars for environmental and public safety reasons.  The companies producing these cars have become so important to the national economy that the U.S. Government has periodically had to financially intervene to save these companies from bankruptcy.  Financially troubled auto industries in other countries have also periodically requested financial intervention for their financial survival.  Emerging technological developments such as self-driving cars and attending controversies over technological innovations mean the U.S. and other national governments have an ongoing interest in developments affecting this industry and their impact on consumers and public safety.

Purdue Libraries have numerous resources examining governmental policies affecting the auto industry historically, contemporarily, and in the future.  Tangible format versions of these are in the HSSE, PMEL,, and WALC Libraries.  Most of these resources are also available electronically.

Useful journal article databases include:

ABI Inform Trade & Industry (Includes articles from business and management journals and trade/industry publications.

America:  History and Life (Covers articles from U.S. and Canadian History journals)
Historical Abstracts (Covers articles from history journals representing global regions outside the U.S. and Canada.
Nexis Uni (Besides federal and state court cases, contains law review journal articles, and industy analysis)
PAIS International (Covers articles from political science journals, think tank reports, and selected U.S. Government information resources)

Subject searches you can use to find book on government interaction with the auto industry and car related topics include:

Automobile Industry and Trade United States
Automobiles Fuel Consumption

Automobiles United States

Autonomous Vehicles

Traffic Accidents United States
Vehicles Automatic Control

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007