Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue University Libraries Purdue University Libraries

Government Documents on Nuclear Energy: Government Documents on Nuclear Energy

Government Documents on Nuclear Energy

Nuclear Energy

Government Documents on Nuclear Energy

 

The U.S. Government has produced tremendous amounts of nuclear energy information for nearly seven decades. This information covers subjects as diverse as nuclear power plant safety and performance, nuclear engineering research, nuclear weapons construction and design, military strategy, weapons proliferation, remediation, and nuclear waste. Purdue University Libraries are a selective depository for U.S. Government documents and contain significant nuclear energy collections. Examples of subjects to search the Library Catalog for government documents on nuclear energy and related subjects include:

Nuclear Energy Government Policy United States
Nuclear Energy Safety Measures
Nuclear Nonproliferation

Nuclear Waste Disposal
Nuclear Weapons Government Policy United States
Radioactive Waste Disposal United States
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

The principal index for U.S. Government documents is the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications HSSE Periodicals & REF 016.353 Un36. It is also available online from 1994-present. The GPO Index covers from 1976-present..

Other useful indexes to U.S. Government information include the Congressional Information Service (CIS) Index HSSE REF 328.73005 C76 which indexes current and recent congressional publications, CIS US Congressional Serial Set Index 1789-1969 HSSE REF 328.73 C761c, its online version (Purdue Users Only), and US Congressional Committee Hearings Index 1833-1969 HSSE REF 348.731 C76. Connect HERE for information on downloading Purdue Libraries Ebooks

Useful journal article databases include:

America:  History and Life (Articles from scholarly U.S. & Canadian History journals)
Historical Abstracts (Scholarly articles from history journals outside the U.S. and Canada.
IPoll Databank at the Roper Center (Public opinion polling data from 1935-present)
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books (George Washington University center with collections of declassified foreign policy and national security documents.)
Points of View Reference Center (Presents pro and anti-nuclear energy perspectives and pro and con perspectives on numerous public policy issues)
ProQuest Newsstream (Articles from prominent newspapers from the 1980s-present
U.S. Declassified Documents Online (Formerly classified materials from various U.S. Government agencies)
 
 
 
 

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007