This is the "Home" page of the "EAS 532" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EAS 532  

LibGuide in support of EAS 532 term paper assignment
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/eas532 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Scholarly Books

To find scholarly books on your topic, go to Purdue University Libraries and click on the Catalog tab. Use your keywords to locate both electronic and print books on your topic.  

 

Locating books in the EAS Library

Books in the EAS library are divided into two types of collections.

The EAS CORE collection are a group of books that have been heavily circulated by the faculty and students of Purdue EAS. These books are located in the tall book stacks immediately inside the front door of the library. 

The EAS Movable Shelves collection are the majority of the books in the library. They are an extensive historical collection of monographs that have been used heavily in the past or have circulated infrequently. These are located in the movable shelves at the far north end of the library. 

Please see EAS library staff if you have any questions regarding the location of any library materials. 

 

IPCC 2007

Contribution of Working Group I to the Fourth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, 2007

Solomon, S., D. Qin, M. Manning, Z. Chen, M. Marquis, K.B. Averyt, M. Tignor and H.L. Miller (eds.)

Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, United Kingdom and New York, NY, USA.

"The Physical Science Basis"  

Chapter 2: Changes in Atmospheric Constituents and in Radiative Forcing

Chapter 3: Observations: Surface and Atmospheric Climate Change

Chapter 9: Understanding and Attributing Climate Change

Chapter 10: Global Climate Projections

 

Retrieving Scholarly Articles

Journal articles can be identified in one of three primary ways. 

Cited References: The citations of research within the IPCC report will provide a beginning list of relevant sources. These sources have been both peer reviewed and then have been selected for inclusion in the IPCC report, which is also an indication of their reliability. This method can also be used to identify related articles via monograph and other scholarly journal bibliographies. This method is automated by using Web of Science and its Cited Reference Search. 

Index: An index of journal articles is an online database of relevant article citation and abstract information.  Indexes can be accessed via the Purdue University Library website. Click on the "Databases" tab, and select the title of the index that is most appropriate for your topic. 

For this assignment, I suggest using: 

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts

Off campus, you will need to access this database via Purdue University Libraries website. You will be asked to log in with your Career Account and password. 

Online Journal Linkings: Google Scholar and other online indexes of journal articles will take you abstracts and citations of journal articles. If you are on campus, you will be seamlessly linked to the Purdue University Library subscriptions. If you are off campus, you need to set your Google Scholar preferences to see Purdue University Library subscriptions. Under Scholar Preferences, type in Purdue University in the Library Links box. Select Purdue University Libraries - Full Text at Purdue.

Federal Depository Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip