Skip to main content

Indiana Guidelines for Disposal of U.S. Government Depository Documents: Home

Approved by Indiana STate Library, Federal Depository Libraries, and Superintendent of Documents-Fall 2006

Indiana Guidelines for Disposal of U.S. Government Depository Documents

Approved by Indiana State Library, Indiana Federal Depository Libraries, and Superintendent of Documents-Fall 2006

[Note:  Revisions to URL links and e-mail addresses were made to this document on June 1, 2011; no changes were made to the content of the document as approved Fall 2006].

Indiana federal depository libraries have agreed to build a "light archive" of all U.S. government depository documents.  The core of the archive currently resides in Indiana University's Auxillary Library Facility (ALF) and Government Information, Microforms, & Statistical Services, Bloomington, Indiana, and the Indianapolis State Library, Indianapolis Library.  It has been determined that these libraries already contain close to 100% of federal depository documents distributed from 1976 to present.  The Indina State Library, Indiana's Regional Federal Depository Library, has determined that Indiana selectives do not have to prepare disposal lists for federal depository documents issued from 1976 to date, with the stipulation that documents received from GPO within the last 5 years cannot be discard (for exceptions, section I).  See section IV for the discarding of these documents.  In addition, Indiana federal depository libraries are encourage to offer through a disposal list any post-1975 document(s) that they consider historically significant or important to Indiana.

Indiana federal depository libraries must continue to compile disposal lists for pre-1976 documents.  See Sections I--IV.

I. Depository documents for disposal must have been received on a shipping list dated five or more
   years prior to the date of the disposal request.
   EXCEPTIONS
        
A. Depository documents issued less than five years prior to the date of the disposal request
            replaced by commercial microform may be included on the disposal list if appropriately
            designated (see section II, B5).
        B. Duplicate documents received by a depository library should be discarded without including
            them on a disposal list.  But dupliacte documents may be included on a disposal list if
            appropriately designated (see section II, B6).
        C. Depository documents received but not selected as an item by a selective depository should
            be discarded without including them on a deiposal list.  But these non-depository
            documents may be included on a disposal list only if appropriately designaged (see
            section II, B7).
          D. Superseded documents see <http://www.fdlp.gov/collections/collection-maintenance/139-
             superseded-list-and-guidelines?showall=1
>
         E. FDLP "Guidelines for Depository Libraries:  Substituting Online for Tangible Versions of
             Depository Publications by Selectives" <http://www.fdlp.gov/collections/collections-
             maintenance/141-substitution-guidelines
> and see also http://www.fdlp.gov/collections/
             collection-maintenance/139-superseded-list-and-guidelines
>

II. Disposal lists are formatted to conform to the Needs & Offers database.  Compile a disposal list in a Microsoft Excel spreadsheet, using the template found on the database homepage.  Arrange the disposal lsit in shelflist order by Superintendent of Documents classification number.
           A. The first page must include the following:
               1. Library name.
               2. Depository library number.
               3. A specific date and/or number assigned to uniquely identify each separate list.
           B. For each title the following information is required:

                      1. Complete Superintendent of Documents classification number in one string.  Always
                   include the SuDoc stem with the Cutter.
                   Examples: I 1.98:Oi 5/11/draft/map 1
                                   I 1.98:Oi 6/2
                                   I 1.98:Oi 7/6/final
               2. For serial publications:
 
                   a. Serial title
                   b. Specific holdings-Publication date must equal a four digit year.  Volumes,
                        issue numberings, and additional notes should be entered in the "Additional
                        Notes" field.
                   c. Indiciation of serial issues commercially bound by the selective depository (bd)
              
3. For monograph publications:
                   a. Title and date of publication.
               4. Specify format of title/issues if other than paper--microfiche (mf); disc (CD/DVD);
                   diskette (dk)
                       ALTERNATIVE PREFERRED BY THE REGIONAL DEPOSITORY:
                      
List all documents which are of microfiche format or electronic format (i.e. CD/DVD and
                      diskette) as separate disposal lists.  Prominently indicate that the entire list is all
                      microfiche or electronic format.
               5. Specify print documents less than five years from date received on a shipping list
                   which are being replaced by a microform as the official federal document copy as
                   replacements (repl)
                 
6. Specify duplicate documents less than five years from date received on a shipping list
                   as duplicates (see section 1,B)-(dup)
               7. Specify documents erroneously received and not selected as an item number by your
                   depository if less than five years from the date received on a shipping list, or
                   documents received by other means (agency mailing lists, gifts/donations) rather than
                   through the Federal Depository Library Program as non-depository (see section I, C)-
                   (nd)
               8. Specify documents being substituted for the official electronic version (see section I,
                   E)-(sub)


All disposal lists should be uploaded to the Indiana Federal Depository Library Program Needs and Offers Database, available online at http://web.isl.lib.in.us/isl/fdlp/Default.aspx

III. The regional depository will make a print copy of the disposal list.  If a disposal list has documents wanted by the regional,  the disposal list will be marked indicating the claims and returned by postal mail with an official letter.  Claims by the regional on a disposal list must be filed first before claims by other libraries from the same list.  If there are no documents on a disposal list wanted by the regional, then only an official letter stating no claims for that list will be sent by postal mail and claims by other libraries from that list can be filled.  No documents may be discarded until the Regional Depository has granted formal permission by postal letter.  No documents appearing on a disposal list may be distributed to other libraries until after the requests of the Regional Depository have been filled first.  The disposing library is responsible for postal charges when shipping material to the Regional depository.  Other libraries receiving documents from a disposal list will be responsible for shipping charges, unless other arrangements are made with the disposing library.

IMPORTANT: If the disposal list does not follow the criteria as specified in these Guidelines, the Regional Depository will invalidate it.  For an invalidated list, a corrected list must be created and resubmitted to the Needs and Offers Database.

IV. With permission granted by the Regional Depository, the selective depository is authorized to
      dispose of the remaining documents by any 4 of the following methods:
      A. Post disposal list on the national "Needs and Offers List"
          <http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/fdlp/tools/needs_of/index.html   
           
This is not required by GPO, but strongly advocated.
      B. Offer free of charge to private citizens.
      C. Sell as second-hand material.  However as all depository publications remain the property of
          the U.S. Government, proceeds from the sale of the documents, accompanied by a letter of
          explanation, must be sent to the Superintendent of Documents, U.S. Government Printing
          Office, Washington, DC 20402.
      D. Destroy.
                      

                      

 

                 

 



Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007