Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Free Historic U.S. Newspapers by State: Home

This guide will provide free access to historic U.S. newspapers by state. It will be open to all users regardlesss of whether they are Purdue faculty, staff, or students.

Free Historic U.S. Newspapers by State

Newspapers are great sources for all kinds of information about local, state, national, and international developments in all areas of human activity..  This guide provides access to digitized free historic newspaper resources by U.S. state and are arranged alphabetically by state.  Holdings vary by date and location.  Some are provided by the Library of Congress' Chronicling America website and other may be provided by state historical societies, public or university libraries, and state libraries and archives. Email chapmanb@purdue.edu if you have additional free U.S. digital newspaper links you recommend.

Alabama

Birmingham Newspapers 1874-1901

Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers

Jacksonville Republican 1837-1895 (Courtesy:  Jacksonville State University)

Alaska

Alaska Digital Newspaper Program

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Arizona

Arizona Daily Star

Arizona Memory Project

Arkansas

Historical Newspapers in Arkansas

California

California Digital Newspaper Collection

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Colorado

Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection 1859-1923

Connecticut

Connecticut Digital Newspaper Project

Delaware

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

District of Columbia

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Florida

Florida Digital Newspaper Library (Courtesy:  University of Florida Libraries)

Georgia

Georgia Historic Newspapers (Courtesy:  Digital Library of Georgia)

Hawaii

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Idaho

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Illinois

Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection (Courtesy:  University of Illinois-Urbana/Champaign Library)

Indiana

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Hoosier State Chronicles (Courtesy:  Indiana State Library)

Iowa

Iowa Digital Newspaper Project (Courtesy:  Iowa Dept. of Cultural Affairs & Iowa Historical Society)

Iowa Historical Newspapers (Courtesy:  University of Northern Iowa Library)

Kansas

Kansas Digital Newspapers (Courtesy:  Kansas State Historical Society)

Kentucky

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Kentucky Digital Newspapers (Courtesy:  Internet Archive)

National Digital Newspaper Program:  Kentucky (Courtesy:   University of Kentucky Libraries)

Louisiana

Chronicling America  (Courtesy: Library of Congress)

Maine

Maine Newspaper Project (Courtesy:  Maine State Library)

Maryland

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Finding Historic Maryland Newspapers Online (Courtesy:  Enoch Pratt Free Library-Baltimore)

Massachusetts

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Michigan

Digital Michigan Newspaper Portal (Courtesy:  Central Michigan University Library)
Michigan Newspaper Resources (Courtesy:  Library of Michigan)

Minnesota

Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub (Courtesy:  Minnesota Historical Society)

Mississippi

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Missouri

Missouri Digital Newspaper Project (Courtesy:  State Historical Society of Missouri)

Montana

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Montana Newspapers (Courtesy:  Montana Historical Society)

Nebraska

Nebraska Newspapers (Courtesy:  University of Nebraska-Lincoln and Nebraska Historical Society)

Nevada

Las Vegas Age (Selected holdings 1905-1924)

Nevada Digital Newspaper Project (Courtesy:  University of Nevada-Las Vegas)

New Hampshire

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)
New Hampshire Online Historical Newspapers Summary

New Jersey

New Jersey Digital Newspaper Project

New Mexico

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)
New Mexico Digital Collections (Courtesy:  University of New Mexico Libraries)

New York

NYS Historic Newspapers (Courtesy:  New York Public Library)

North Carolina

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)
North Carolina Newspapers (Courtesy:  Digital NC)

North Dakota

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Ohio

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)
Ohio's Digitized Newspapers ((Courtesy:  Ohio History Connection and State Library of Ohio)

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Digital Newspaper Program (Courtesy:  Oklahoma Historical Society)

Oregon

Historic Oregon Newspapers (Courtesy:  University of Oregon Libraries)

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive (Courtesy:  Pennsylvania State University Libraries)
Pennsylvania Photos and Documents (Courtesy:  State Library of Pennsylvania)

Rhode Island

Ancestor Hunt
Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

South Carolina

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Historic Newspapers of South Carolina (Courtesy:  University of South Carolina Libraries)

South Dakota

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Tennessee

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Texas

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Early Texas Newspapers (Courtesy:   University of North Texas Library)

Texas Digital Newspaper Program (Courtesy:  University of North Texas Library)

Utah

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Utah Digital Newspapers (Courtesy:  University of Utah Library)

Vermont

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)

Virginia

Virginia Chronicle (Courtesy:  Library of Virginia)

Washington

Washington Digital Newspapers (Courtesy:  Washington State Library)

West Virginia

Chronicling America (Courtesy:  Library of Congress)
West Virginia Newspapers (Courtesy:  West Virginia University Libraries_

Wisconsin

Selected Newspapers (University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries Digital Collections)
Wisconsin Historical Society Newspapers

Wyoming

Historic Wyoming Newspapers (Courtesy:  Wyoming State Library