This is the "Using E-Readers & E-Books" page of the "E-Readers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-Readers   Tags: e-books, e-readers, ipad, kindle, sony_reader  

A guide to using e-readers to access Purdue Libraries' e-books and other electronic resources
Last Updated: Jan 15, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/content.php?pid=208521 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Using E-Readers & E-Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

test

 

Feedback E-Readers

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


E-Books Available at Purdue

Many e-Books are being purchased individually by the Purdue University Libraries to support both teaching and research within the University.  E-Books can be found by:

  • Searching the Libraries Catalog by either subject or topic of interest.  
  • When you have received your search results, look in the left-hand "Narrow Search" column and select the "ebook" option under Format.
  • Select your e-reader from the tabs above for instructions on how to download an e-book or e-book chapter to it.

You can also browse available E-Books.

    Note: These e-books are licensed for use by Purdue faculty, staff, and students.  Off-campus access will required a valid PU career account and password. See the "Off Campus Access to eResources" guide for more details.

        

      E-Books Collections Available at Purdue

      A number of e-Book collections are also being purchased by the Purdue University Libraries from academic or scientific publishers to support teaching and research within the University.  Selected e-Book collections currently available include:

      • ACLS Humanities E-Books
        Searchable full-text of over 2,200 books in several fields of the humanities, especially history, available from the American Council of Learned Societies [18th century - 21st century].
      • CAB eBooks
        A collection of e-books published by CAB International with an emphasis on agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food and nutrition, leisure and tourism, and plant sciences
      • Elsevier E-Books [ScienceDirect]
        Access to ebooks published by Elsevier from all disciplines from 2008 to the present. Can browse by subject. Some book series are not included
      • ENGnetBASE E-Books
        CRC ENGnetBASE gives you online access to some of the world's leading handbooks in civil, mechanical, and electrical engineering. Currently, almost 800 titles are available.
      • Knovel E-Books
        Knovel provides numerical and tabular data from leading engineering and science resources. Currently, almost 1600 titles are available.
      • Ebsco Ebook Collection
        To browse ebooks available through Ebsco Ebook, select the eBook link at the top of the page.
      • RSC Publishing (Royal Society of Chemistry) eBooks Collection
        Good source of materials from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) for those interested in the environment, food science, or general texts for chemistry or the chemical industry.
      • Safari Tech Books Online
        Selected e-books from Safari covering computer languages, programming, electronic business, and other technology related fields.
      • Springer E-Books
        Access to many English language e-books,e-book chapters and e-conference papers published by Springer from 2005 to present.
      • Wiley-Blackwell E-Books [Interscience]
        Access to most ebooks by Wiley-Blackwell from all disciplines from 2007 to 2010. Some book series are not included.

      Download Free E-Books

      Sources for free e-Books include:

      • Google Books
        Free public domain books. Multiple languages and subjects. Not all books are freely downloadable.
      • Project Gutenberg
        Free public domain downloads. Multiple languages and subjects. File formats vary by title but include: PDF, EPUB, MOBI, GIF, etc.
      • Internet Archive
        Free books and texts. The "Text Archive" contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historial texts, and academic books.
      • World Public Library
        750,000+ free PDF publications in 125 unique collections.

      Contact

      Profile Image
      Gretchen Stephens
      Contact Info
      Veterinary Medical Librarian
      & Associate Professor of Library Science
      Veterinary Medical Library
      Lynn Hall, Rm 1133
      Purdue University Libraries
      ph: 765-494-2852
      Send Email

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      Amanda Gill
      Contact Info
      Operations Manager
      Physical Sciences, Engineering and Technology Libraries
      49-42870

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      David Hovde
      Contact Info
      Send Email

      Subject Guide

      Profile Image
      Beth McNeil
       

      Libraries Hours

      Click here for the Hours of the Purdue Libraries.

       

       

      Libraries Contact

      Questions, comments or suggestions...

      http://www.lib.purdue.edu/contact/

      Telephone: (765) 494-2900

      Federal Depository Library
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip