Home - Krannert - EBV: Library Resources - Research Guides at Purdue University Libraries

EBV

Off Campus Access

Learn how to access Parrish Library resources from off campus.

Purdue Link to Qualtrics

Link to Qualtrics: Survey making platform like surveymonkey. Use your purdue id.

Classification Systems for Industries

The Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) is a U.S. system for classifying industries by a 4-digit code. In most cases it is being replaced by the more recent 6-digit North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). Many databases will let you search by SIC and/or NAICS code, so it can be helpful to know the code(s) for the industries you are interested in.

NAICS Homepage

This official U.S. Government Web site provides the latest information on plans for NAICS revisions, as well as access to various NAICS reference files and tools.

SIC Manual

Online, searchable version of the Standard Industrial Classification Manua l , 1987

SIC Code & NAICS Code Conversion Tables

Online comparison between the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification Manual and the 1997 North American Industrial Classification System.

Prezi

EBV - Resources for Entrepreneurs

Portals

Business Magazines and Articles

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship A portal for entrepreneurs containing business plans, entrepreneurial articles, small business forms and related information. Includes small business encyclopedias.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating 75 business news magazines, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform Collection An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications, dissertations, and working papers, including sources like The Economist, Financial Times, and Wall Street Journal.
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete An all-purpose, vast business database with thousands of full-text academic journals and mainstream publications. Also includes thousands of case studies, SWOT analyses, industry reports, and a selection of brief company profiles.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.

Coverage: 1871 - current

Health and Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Medicine
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Health Source Plus is a database of both general health magazines and professional health care journals. It includes full text from nearly 300 periodicals, nearly 1,200 pamphlets, 20 books, 7,000 Clinical Reference Systems reports, Stedman's Medical Dictionary, and Clinical Pharmacology.

Gale Directory Library Search, sort, and export a variety of information from multiple premier directories - use this database to locate approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. The database is also used to monitor association trends; identify related associations; networking and making professional contacts; marketing to associations, their members and markets. Includes: Biography and Genealogy Master Index Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Market Research

IBISWorld Industry Reports Large selection of industry reports for the US, China, and Global.
- This link opens in a new window
Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new window Market research reports and news articles: primarily advertising, marketing, financial services, and technology with particularly strong coverage of overlap topics like ecommerce, digital marketing, digital payments, mobile banking, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MarketResearch.com Academic Large variety of market and demographic specific market research reports.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mintel To search, you will need to create a userid and password.
- This link opens in a new window
Plunkett Research Aggregates industry reports, company profiles, and job-seeker resources.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bizminer Provides access to national and local industry averages of balance sheet and income statements for a wide array of industries.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Companies/Prospects/Competitors/Distributors/Suppliers

Data Axle Reference Solutions
Basic directory data including 93 million US businesses, 379 million historical US businesses, and 261 million individual US consumers. Use it to build lists like these examples: all coffee shops in Indianapolis, all semiconductor machinery manufacturers in California and Indiana, or consumers in West Lafayette interested in cooking / wine with a household income between $125,000-$200,000.

ThomasNet: Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Multimedia company profiles, new supplier refine options and revolutionary product sourcing by specification.

NexisUni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use this search to aggregate information from Nexis Uni about companies. Choose "Company Dossier" from the menu at the top of the page to access the company search page.
D&B Hoovers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Aggregates company profiles, business news, and industry reports.
Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Company financial statements, ratios, and other quantitative data. Other information includes but is not limited to SEC filings, analyst reports, executive/board biographies and compensation details, and historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.
PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for business and financial data on over 300,000 major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Note: This resource requires you to create a user account.

Vendor Information Pages: Veteran-Owned Business Directory
A non-comprehensive directory of veteran-owned businesses.

Demographics

US Census Data
US Census demographics: population, housing, economic and geographical data
US Census Bureau
New York Times- Mapping America

Sage Data
- This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest collection of organized statistical data, offering highly interactive data visualization, interactive maps, trends, and rankings. Also has options to export into MS Excel, XML, PDF, Shape Files, and Reference Management Tools.

Who's Buying....
eBook series containing consumer buying trends in specific product categories including: alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, entertainment, groceries, household furnishings, and several others. (Click on:Get Full Text)

MRI-Simmons Catalyst
- This link opens in a new window
Demographic, lifestyle, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences reported by a sample of over 25,000 US consumers.
SimplyAnalytics Web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization of demographic variables, psychographic variables, and business locations. Map any area down to the US census block level. Add map data data variables and create custom reports. Includes MRI-SimmonsLOCAL and EASI customer data.
- This link opens in a new window

US Gov't Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
U.S. Department of Labor statistical arm preparing statistics on employment and unemployment, workforce trends, consumer expenditures and prices, and wholesale prices.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
U.S. Commerce Dept. agency featuring statistics and analysis of U.S. economic conditions and trends including Gross Domestic Product (GDP).
Occupational Outlook Handbook
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics describes working conditions earnings and trends.
Statistics of US Businesses (SUSB)

Funding Sources

Trade Leads

Subject Guide

Prof. Heather Howard

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Business & Entrepreneurship, Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Krannert - EBV: Library Resources: Home

EBV