Research Guides: HIST 395: Politics and Culture in Cold War America: The 1950s: U.S. Government

U.S. Government

The U.S. Government is the world's largest publisher producing information on every subject from accounting to zoology. Government documents are excellent primary sources for documenting U.S. history and this includes state and local government documents as well as those from the federal government. Purdue Libraries are a depository for U.S. Government Documents and provide extensive access to government documents from the 1950s. U.S. Government documents are classified using the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification which arranges these documents alphabetically by the agency producing them.

Catalog of Government Publications
U.S. Government Publishing Office resource of recent and historic government publications.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Annual compendium of statistics from government and nongovernmental sources produced by the Census Bureau from 1878-2012 and ProQuest from 2013-present.

Historical Office of the Office of the Secretary of Defense
The mission of the historical office is to collect, preserve, and present the history of the Office of the Secretary of Defense, in order to support Department of Defense leadership and inform the American public.
Foreign Relations of the United States
Produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, this is the official documentary record of U.S. foreign policy. Volumes are arranged by presidential administration, geographic region, and topic area. These volumes are generally declassified and publicly released 30 years after they were written.
Harry S. Truman Presidential Library
Located in Independence, MO. Truman was President of the United States from 1945-1953.
Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library
Provides documentary materials from the Eisenhower presidency.
Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER)
Digital library of U.S. economic, financial, and banking history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System.
CIA Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Electronic Reading Room
Declassified historic national intelligence estimates on multiple countries & subjects.
Monthly Labor Review (MLR) (HathiTrust)
The Monthly Labor Review (MLR) is the principal journal of fact, analysis, and research from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), an agency within the U.S. Department of Labor.
NASA History Division
Documents history of NASA programs and facilities.
National Archives
Provides access to full-text resources and finding aids on 19th century U.S. History from the National Archives Records Administration (NARA).
Prices and Wages by Decade
A guide from the University of Missouri Library on consumer prices and wages reported in primary sources for each decade back to the 1700s.
Public Papers of the Presidents (HathiTrust)
Public papers of president of the United States search.
Smithsonian Institute Libraries
Provides access to many digital collections on various aspects of U.S. History.
U.S. Army Center of Military History
The mission of the U.S. Army Center for Military History is: "to accurately collect, preserve, interpret, and express the Army's history and material culture to more broadly educate and develop our force, the military profession, and the nation."