Short, four minute demonstration of an ERIC database search.
To: 59100 Students
FROM: Judy Nixon, Education Librarian
DATE: January 2018 (slightly updated January 2020)
Important links:
· Education Librarian, Judy Nixon: jnixon@purdue.edu
· Education Subject Guide: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/education
· EndnoteWeb Guide: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/endnoteweb
· Tutorial for Education Students: http://www.lib.purdue.edu/content/tutorials-education
Quick notes:
1. Education books are at the Humanities, Social Science & Education Library, called HSSE, in Stewart Center. The E in HSSE stands for Education. Here is a tutorial which is a tour of the HSSE Library. Tour of HSSE
2. Purdue Libraries home page is www.lib.purdue.edu
Here is a link to a tutorial on using the home page: Home Page Tutorial
3. To see if we own a book in print or electronic format, click on the "Books & Media" tab.
5. 80% of our education journals are in electronic format. To find a specific journal online click on "Online Journals" link. Print journals are located in the Periodicals area of HSSE Library. Enter from HSSE 1st floor – northeast corner.
See map: http://www.lib.purdue.edu/sites/default/files/pdfs/firstFloorDetail.pdf
6. I recommend using specific databases, rather than the “Search All” tab. The most important database in education is called ERIC. Here is a link https://go.lib.purdue.edu/db/ericebsco . Or click on the icon for “Databases”and type ERIC in the search window.
7. Another major education database is called Education Source.
8. Need quick help? Use our “Ask a Librarian” service to chat or email a librarian. Go to https://go.lib.purdue.edu/web/askalib or look for this link: 
9. Need to renew a book, or ask Interlibrary Loan to get a book or article that Purdue doesn’t own, click on the “SERVICE” tab.
Need help finding education related resources?
Go to URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/education. Here is what the page looks like. Under each tab are hints, tutorials and links.
Doing a literature review:
1. Tutorial on Literature Reviews http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/content.php?pid=140332&sid=1641331
2. To find journal articles use a subject database.
a. The two most important databases in education are ERIC and Education Source. Here is a link to ERIC https://go.lib.purdue.edu/db/ericebsco .
b. Other useful databases; you can add them when in ERIC:
i. Education FT
ii. Family & Society
iii. Family Studies
iv. PsycINFO
3. Using keywords: Tutorial on keyword searching “Tricks of the Trade” is at
a. Use quote marks around phrases.
b. Combined synonyms with OR.
c. Combined separate concepts or ideas with AND.
d. Group concepts or ideas together with parentheses ()
e. A basic keyword search in ERIC from EBSCO would look like this:
4. Using subject headings. Each article is assigned subject headings (descriptors) related to the topic of the article. Use records in ERIC to find additional subject headings.
a. Possible subject headings for Building Coalitions:
Cooperation OR "Agency Cooperation" OR "Community Cooperation" OR Networks OR "Integrated Services" OR "Cooperative Planning" OR Coordination OR "Community Coordination" OR "Cooperative Programs”
b. Possible subject headings for youth programs:
Youth OR "Rural Youth" OR "Youth Programs" OR "Youth Agencies”
In ERIC from EBSCO, using all the subject headings, this search would look like this
Want to learn how to use EndNote Web and sign up for an account; it is free, go to http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/endnoteweb.
Need more help; ask for an appointment in my office. jnixon@purdue.edu
