Style Manuals
This is the "Conducting Research" page of the "Conducting Research and Communicating Your Results" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Conducting Research and Communicating Your Results   Tags: ethics, presentation, publishing, research, speaking, style manual, writing  

Selected resources on conducting research and communicating research results more clearly and effectively.
Last Updated: Aug 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.purdue.edu/conductresearch_shareresults Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Conducting Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librari

Conducting Research Links

  • Conducting Research (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
    "These OWL resources will help you conduct research using primary source methods, such as interviews and observations, and secondary source methods, such as books, journals, and the Internet. This area also includes materials on evaluating research sources."
  • Purdue University Research
    Overview of research at Purdue University, including the University's Statement on Integrity, with links to the many research related units.
  • Research Development (Purdue Office of the Vice President for Research)
    Provides information on services such as proposal preparation, limited submissions, seed grants, grantsmanship events, as well as information on resources such as the Purdue grants process, proposal preparation resources, faculty expertise profiles, funding resources, etc.
  • Research Integrity and Regulatory Affairs (Purdue Office Of the Vice President for Research)
    Provides information on conflict of interest, research integrity, research records, responsible conduct of research, intellectual property, freedom of inquiry, and scholarly communications. Also includes information on human research protection program, care and use of animals, biohazards and rDNA, radiation/lasers, controlled substances, and export control, as well as a link to the Purdue Hot Line.
  • A Guide to the Grants Process at Purdue University (Office of the Vice President for Research)
    "This booklet, created by Research Development staff, includes timely, useful information about resources and processes relating to funding and administering research grants at Purdue. Each chapter also includes tables, side bars and highlighted text areas detailing Purdue-specific information such as websites, e-mail addresses, personnel contacts and important notes."
  • Animal Care and Use
    Information on the Purdue Animal Care and Use Committee (PACUC) and the Laboratory Animal Program (LAP) at Purdue.
 

Books on Conducting Research

Cover Art
Clinical research: what it is and how it works. - Lori A. Nesbitt
Call Number: 615.50724 N367c 2004 Veterinary Medicial Library
ISBN: 0763731366

Cover Art
Designing clinical research. 3rd ed. - Stephen B. Hulley
Call Number: 610.72 D46 2007 Veterinary Medical Library
ISBN: 0781782104
Explains how to choose well-focused research questions and details the steps through all the elements of study design, data collection, quality assurance, and basic grant-writing.

Cover Art
Explaining research: how to reach key audiences to advance your work. - Dennis Meredith
Call Number: Q223 .M399 2010 Veterinary Medical Library
ISBN: 0199732051
Also available online (click title above)


Cover Art
Principles and practice of clinical research. 3rd ed. - Gallin, J. I.
ISBN: 9780123821683
Publication Date: 2012
The third edition of this innovative work again provides a unique perspective on the clinical discovery process by providing input from experts within the NIH on the principles and practice of clinical research

Cover Art
Purina research handbook for veterinary residents: a guide to successful research. - Martha M. Thacker
Call Number: 808.066636 T119p 2000 Veterinary Medical Library (Reserves & Reference)

Cover Art
Understanding Clinical Papers. 2nd ed. - Bowers, David
ISBN: 9780470091319
Publication Date: 2006
Available online (click title above)

Contact

Profile Image
Gretchen Stephens
Contact Info
Veterinary Medical Librarian
& Associate Professor of Library Science
Veterinary Medical Library
Lynn Hall, Rm 1133
Purdue University Libraries
ph: 765-494-2852
Send Email
 

VM Library Hours

Spring Semester 2014

Mon -Thu      8 am - 10 pm
Friday            8 am -  5 pm
Sat                 1 pm -  5 pm
Sun                1 pm - 10 pm

Spring Break: closed March 15-16;
open 8AM-5PM March 17-21;
closed March 22; open 1-10PM March 23.

Library doors are locked 15 minutes prior to closing.

 

VM Library Contact

Questions, comments or suggestions...

vetmlib@purdue.edu

Telephone: (765) 494-2952

Federal Depository Library
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip