Primary Databases
Comparative Literature is interdisciplinary, exploring the interrelations between national languages and literatures as well as the relationship of literature to other disciplines. The following focus on languages and literatures as such.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. All aspects of linguistics and the study of languages, including translation studies.
- Literature Resource Center. A potpourri of biographical, bibliographical, critical, and contextual information on authors and their works, drawn from Gale publications and literary critical journals. Includes some French and German language articles.
- MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest Software). Literature, Criticism, Drama, Film, Folklore, and Linguistics are covered for all languages and literary traditions.
Other databases
The following is an eclectic selection of databases whose usefulness depends upon the focus of your project. Others may be found in other subject guides, English or Foreign Languages and Literatures for example.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book. A collection of e-books chosen by the most important disciplinary societies in their fields.
- Année philologique. International index of scholarship in classical studies.
- Art Bibliographies Modern. Art History, Industrial Design, Photography, Fine Arts, Graphic Arts, Aesthetics
- ARTFL -- the Treasury of the French Language. Full-text, French dictionary and French texts with an emphasis in the 17th to 20th centuries
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Designed to enable citation searching, this database also offers subject searching.
- BAS (Bibliography of Asian Studies). All subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
- Black Drama. Contains approximately 1,200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters & production companies.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD). Full-text reviews of children's books.Includes foreign language works.
- Early English Books Online. Full text photographic images of Titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) plus searchable texts produced by the Text Creation Project.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online. Full-text searchable facsimile pages of English-language and foreign-language books published in Britain and its colonies during the 18th century.
- Ethnic NewsWatch. Full texts of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- Film and Television Literature Index. Indexes film and television periodicals both scholarly and popular.
- FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Sciences). Indexes multilingual information published in journals, providing in-depth coverage of humanities and social sciences.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index. Index to Latin American journals primarily in the area of social sciences and humanities.
- Index Islamicus. Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world.
- International Index to Black Periodicals. Indexes scholarly and popular Black Studies journals internationally and includes full text for many titles.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Indexes books and journals pertaining to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400 - 1700 A.D.)
- JSTOR - The Scholarly Journal Archive. Full-text digital archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences,
- Music Index Online. Indexes more than international music periodicals covering nearly all styles and genres of music, including those that cross over to literature like opera and the ballad.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega. Numerous Wilson indexes folded into one huge database, including the Essay and General Literature Index, Humanities Index, the Play Index and the Short Story Index.
- Philosopher's Index. Covers all aspects of philosophy, where much literary theory originates.
PsycINFO. Indexes literature in psychology and related disciplines.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926. Searchable full-text of works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG). Searchable collection of all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Women's Studies International. Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies, and the latest scholarship in feminist research, including feminist approaches to literary authors and works.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
