Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

HIST 306 Technology & War in U.S. History: Purdue Libraries Databases

This guide provides links to Purdue libraries databases and government and military information resources for the Spring 2019 class taught by Professor Mary Mitchell.

Purdue Libraries Databases

 

 

America:  History and Life  (Provides access to articles from U.S. and Canadian History journals)

America's Historical Newspapers (Newspapers from 27 states and Washington, DC covering 1741-1922)

Harp Week Archive (Major illustrated U.S. newspaper from 1857-1912)

Hathitrust Catalog  (Provides access to historic full text publications from U.S. Government and military agencies and other sources)

IISS Military Balance  (Annual review of international military trends and developments (1961-present) from London-based International Institute of Strategic Studies)

IPoll Databank (Public opinion polls 1935-present)

Measuring Worth (University of Illinois-Chicago database calculating historical purchasing power and costs of U.S. dollar and British pound sterling with current prices.)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Articles from nationally and regionally prominent newspapers from the 1800s-recently including New York Times and Wall Street Journal

SIPRI Arms Industry Database (Swedish organization producing information on the international arms industry) 2002-present)

SIPRI Arms Transfer Database (Swedish organization producing information on international arms transfers 1950-present)

SIPRI Military Expenditure Database (Swedish organization producing information on international military spending from 1949-2017)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007