Skip to main content

HONRS 399 The Wabash: A Historical, Artistic, Anthropological, Economic, Political, and Scientific Understanding of Indiana's State River.: Commercial Databases

Provides access to historical and contemporary information resources on this topic as well as information on using credible scholarly resources to conduct research for this class.

Commercial Databases

Purdue Libraries have numerous commercial databases providing multidisciplinary information resources on the Wabash River.  Examples include:

ABI Inform (Covers articles from business & management journals and include coverage of regional economic developments in the Wabash River region.)

Agricola (Scholarly agriculture research)

America:  History and Life (Scholarly U.S. and Canadian historical literature including articles from journals such as the Indiana Magazine of History and HERE, 

Traces of Indiana and Midwestern History,

Outdoor Indiana (Courtesy:  Indiana University Libraries 1934-1993).  2008-Present and HERE for other years.

 Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society

American Indian Histories and Cultures (Resource from Chicago's Newberry Library containing manuscripts, art work, maps, and rare printed books)

America's Historical Newspapers (Early American Newspapers Series 6 & 7 (Features 215 fully searchable newspapers from 27 states and Washington, DC from 1741-1922)

ASFA Aquatic Science and Fisheries Abstracts

CSPAN Video Library (Provides access to government, public affairs, and U.S. History programming telecast by CSPAN from 1987-present)  See April 8, 2016 program on American Indians & Europeans in the Great Lakes Region, Nov. 17, 2014 program "Growth of Lafayette, Indiana", and Nov. 17, 2014 program Battle of Tippecanoe.

Gannett Newstand (Regional U.S. newspapers including the Indianapolis Star, (May 21, 1991-present) &  Lafayette Journal & Courier (Nov. 29, 2002-present)

GeoRef (American Geosciences Institute database of geoscience literature including maps)

LexisNexis Academic (Text of U.S. federal court legal opinions (1789-present) and state court legal opinions from the year the state entered the union (Indiana 1817-present), federal and state laws and regulations, newspaper articles, and television news broadcast transcripts.

LexisNexis State Capitol (Provides access to state government information such as laws, legislation, regulations, and news from 1990-present)

ProQuest Congressional (Database of historic U.S. government documents including congressional debates, congressional committee hearings and reports on legislation, and executive branch agency reports to Congress.  Some materials date back to 1789)

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses  (Database of doctoral dissertations and masters theses.)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Full text articles from major U.S. newspapers like Chicago Tribune, Indianapolis Star (1903-1922), New York Times, Wall Street Journal etc.

Sabin Americana 1500-1926  (Collection containing works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.)

Water Resources Abstracts (Coverage of scientific water related literature from 1967-present)

 

 

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007