Skip to main content

POL 501 Introduction to Political Methodology: Data Sets

Provides information about information resources useful in conducing research in political methodology.

Data Sets and U.S. Government Resources

Numerous data sets and government information resources are available for this class including:

Data Management for Graduate Researchers (Purdue Libraries)

Purdue Scholarly Communication/Publishing Resources

Purdue University Research Repository (PURR) (Includes data sets compiled by Purdue faculty and staff).

Epubs (Purdue's Digital Institutional Repository.  Includes materials by faculty, staff, and students)

Associations Unlimited (Lists U.S. and international organizations trying to influence public policy)

CSPAN Video Library (Covers programming from 1987-present)

Census Bureau's American Factfinder (Find current and recent historical U.S. Census Bureau data)

Data Access & Research Transparency (DART) -American Political Science Association initiative to promote transparency in these areas)

DataPlanet Statistical Datasets (Provides access to government and non-government data and includes data visualization capabilities)

Dataverse (Harvard University sponsored open source research data repository)

Green Book (Collaboration between House Ways & Means Committee and Congressional Research Service on federal social program spending).

InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)-Network of political and social science research.

IPoll Databank (U.S. public opinion polling from 1935-present)

Military Balance (Military spending and developments data set from the International Institute of Strategic Studies (IISS)-Purdue Users Only!

Minnesota Research Data Center (Access non-public data from the Census Bureau and other federal agencies.  Registration required))

Polity Project (Measures political stability of foreign countries)

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)(Access to numerous examples of social science research).

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) Military Expenditure Database  (Covers 1949-2016)

SIPRI Arms Transfers Database (Covers 1949-2016)

Thucydides Trap Project (Harvard Belfer Center resource examining historical precedents where a major rising power threatened a major established power.  Places particular emphasis on a possible China-U.S. military confrontation.)

Data Citation Index (Access to various international data repositories)

Data.gov (U.S. Govt's primary dataset access portal)  Statistical Programs of the U.S. Govt. Fiscal Year 2017

Defense Security Cooperation Agency (DSCA) annual statistics on U.S. foreign military sales.

Office of Management & Budget-Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (OIRA)-This organization directs federal agency statistical data gathering and privacy policy.-Still the Obama Admin website.  Trump Admin website not established)
OMB Office of Federal Financial Management

National Institutes of Health (NIH) Sharing Policies and Related Guidance on NIH Funded Research

National Science Foundation (NSF) Social, Behavioral, & Economic Sciences

(These two U.S. Government agencies provide information on data management and archiving for federally funded research projects.)

Regulations.gov (Comment on proposed federal agency regulations and information gathering activities including data))

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (Annual compendium of U.S. Govt. and non-government sources from the Census Bureau from 1878-2012 and from ProQuest since 2013).

U.S. Foreign Aid Explorer (U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) resource documenting U.S. foreign economic assistance)

USA Spending  (Provides detailed coverage of federal agency spending by agency, state, zip code, and recipient)

FY 19 Administration Research and Development Priorities (Aug. 17, 2017 OMB Documents)

Commission on Evidence-Based Policymaking

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007