Skip to main content

HIST 302/COM 497: Journal Articles, Newspapers, Databases, Video

Provides access to books, journal, articles, statistics, websites, and video webcasts about U.S. Presidential elections.

Resources

Purdue Libraries provide access to many journal article and newspaper databases, along with video webcasts, which can be used for conducting research on U.S. presidential debates.  Examples include:

America:  History and Life (Indexes scholarly articles from U.S. History journals)
April 3, 2014 Washington Post article on history of U.S. campaign finance reform
Archive Finder (Describes archives and manuscript collections in the U.S. and United Kingdom)
Connecting Presidential Collections (University of Virginia resource providing access to information on Presidents.  Some resources may require payment!)
CSPAN Video Library (Covers video broadcasts from 1987-present); See especially Road to the White House

IPoll Databank (Covers public opinion poll questions and results from 1935-present)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) (Provides access to books, newspapers, maps, and statistics published in the 19th century)
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Over 500 U.S. newspapers representing a variety of perspectives and geographic regions.  Biographical information on newspapers provided).
PAIS International (Covers articles from political science journals, books, some U.S. Government documents, and public policy research institute reports)
ProQuest Congressional (Provides access to U.S. Government documents, including congressional committee reports, from 1789-1969 with Congressional Record debate since 1969.)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Provides historical text of major newspapers e.g. NY Times, Wall Street Journal, and ethnic newspapers e.g. Chicago Defender for various dates)
ProQuest NewsStand (Text of major U.S. and international newspapers 1980-present)
Sabin Americana (Text of works published in North America from 1500-1926)
YouTube (Features many historic election debates and campaign advertisements)

SUBJECT SPECIALIST

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007