Skip to main content

HIST 302H: Aerospace History: Archival Research Seminar: Journal Articles & Databases

Provides access to newspaper and journal articles, scholarly books, government information and military resources, and Internet resources for this class.

Journal Articles & Databases

The Libraries provide access to multiple journal article and newspaper databases useful for conducting aviation history research.  Examples include:

America:  History & Life (Covers articles from U.S. & Canadian History journals)
C-SPAN Video Library (Videos of C-SPAN programs including congressional hearings and presentations on various U.S. History books)
Gale/Smithsonian Evolution of Flight 1784-1991 (Materials from Smithsonian Institution libraries and archives)
Hathitrust Catalog (Access to many historic U.S. and foreign government documents plus books published before 1924)
Historical Abstracts (Covers articles from history journals for South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, & Oceana)
Measuring Worth (University of Illinois-Chicago data set measuring purchasing power and consumer prices over time)
Periodicals Archive Online (Full-text coverage of articles from over 700 journals from 1665-2000)
ProQuest Congressional (Provides historic and recent U.S. Government documents on aviation history and government policy)
Proquest Historical Annual Reports (Contains annual reports of companies dating back to the 19th century)  Paper copies of many company annual reports can be found in the Hicks Undergraduate Library.  These paper reports can also provide information about graphic design and typography.
Reader's Guide Full Text and Retrospective (Features articles from popular magazines like Time.)
Times Digital Archive (Full-text of Times of London articles from 1785-1985)
Wall Street Journal Historical (Articles from this business newspaper from 1789-1996)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007