POL 120 Introduction to Public Policy
Purdue Libraries have many resources you can use to find scholarly information about the public policy process. The Libraries website
provides access to an immense variety of carefully selected and scholarly books, journal articles, databases, and government information resources. It is critically important that you use credible and peer-reviewed scholarly resources to conduct your research. The following resources provide information on finding and using credible scholarly resources including determining if an article is scholarly and how to use the Libraries online catalog system Primo.
The Libraries have numerous databases which can be used to conduct research for this class. Examples of these include:
Academic Search Premier (Provides access to journal articles on a wide variety of topics.)
Associations Unlimited (Provides access to information about U.S. and international nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) representing a variety of perspectives on various subjects and seeking to influence the public policymaking process.)
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (Provides access to many recent full text U.S. Government information resources on multiple topics.)
CQ Researcher (Explores a single current news issue on various public policy topics with report lengths averaging 12,000 words.
CQ Weekly (Weekly objective overviews of congressional developments on public policy issues)
Environmental Law Reporter (Covers articles, laws, court decisions, and treaties on environmental issues)
Global Reference on Energy & the Environment (GREENR) (Provides global and topical coverage on environmental issues)
Press Display (Provides access to nearly 2,000 global newspapers from multiple countries with 60 day archive)
ProQuest Newsstream (Articles from over 1,300 U.S. and international newspapers 1980-present)
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) Provides access to journal articles, think-tank reports, and selected U.S. Government documents.
Research Centers: Access to reports from U.S. and international think tanks representing a variety of perspectives on a variety of subjects.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (Annually produced collection of government and non-government statistics)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Major database of political science journal articles)