Skip to main content

PHIL 260 Philosophy of Law: Philosophy of Law

Provides access to governmental and commercial information resources dealing with U.S. legal philosophy and finding case, statutory, and administrative law.

Philosophy of Law

Purdue Libraries provides access to many information resources dealing with legal philosophy.  These materials can be found through searching the Purdue Libraries online catalog, various databases, federal and state court cases, laws, regulations, and numerous government information resources.

Examples of subject searches you can do in the Purdue Libraries online catalog to find relevant print and digital works include:

Judicial Review United States
Law Philosophy
United States Constitution 4th Amendment
United States Freedom of Religion
United States Freedom of Speech

Many publishers produce series of books on a particular topic.  A series of works like this is the University Press of Kansas' Landmark Law Cases and American Society which provide succinct but informative overviews and analysis of major U.S. Supreme Court decisions including Roe v. Wade, Mapp v. Ohio etc.

United States Constitution (Courtesy-United States Senate)
Indiana State Constitution (Courtesy-Indiana General Assembly)
(Court case opinions, whether they are federal or state court opinions, make reference to the U.S. Constitution or state constitutions in determining whether a law is constitutional.

Databases

LexisNexis Academic (Provides access to federal court opinions from 1789-present, state court opinions from the year the state entered the union, federal and state laws, law review articles from 1982-present, and newspaper articles.)(Purdue Users Only)
Journal Storage (JSTOR) (Provides access to historic journal articles in a variety of subjects including law.  Will not feature material newer than foyr years old.)(Purdue Users Only)
Google Scholar (
Find scholarly articles on multiple subjects and information on who has cited these articles.)
 

GovInfo    (This U.S. Govt. Publishing Office resource provides access to federal legal, legislative, and regulatory information resources from 1994-present)
Public Laws (1995-present.  Contains the text of public laws as passed by Congress and signed by the President)
United States Code (Contains the codified text of U.S. laws broken into 51 different titles/subject areas).

Indiana Code (Contains the codified text of Indiana State laws broken down into 36 different titles/subject areas)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007