Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Endnote Basic: COLLECT: Add Citations from Databases or Web Pages

This guide highlights the unique features of EndNote Basic (previously EndNote Web). EndNote Basic is free and can be used with or without EndNote Desktop software.

Problem with Macs and Firefox

Endnote Basic is not working with the new version of Firefox!   No estimated time frame on a fix, but I assume they are working pretty hard to solve this. 

In the meantime here are some options:

  • The best option:  use Google Chrome.
  • Second option: use the older version of Firefox for Endnote searching.
  • No need  to download the plug-in again, but if this is necessary try a browser other than Firefox.

Collect: Videos on 2 Ways to Add Citations to Your EndNote Basic Library

Note:  In some of the tutorials EndNote Basic is called EndNote Web, which is the former name.

EndNote and EndNote Web Contact Librarians

NAME 

 SUBJECT AREA

Natasha Johnson Math
Hal Kirkwood Management, Economics,   Ag Econ, HTM, CSR
Judy Nixon  Education, Liberal Arts, Human Development & Family Studies
Megan Sapp Nelson Engineering, Technology
Amy Van Epps Science, Engineering,  Technology
David Zwicky   Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Materials Engineering

Collect: #1 Using Capture

Drag "Capture Reference" to your Bookmarks,

then when at a web page, just click on the "Capture Reference" bookmark.

Collect: #2. Direct Export

Direct Export works in most of the Libraries' subscription databases and in Google Scholar.

To use "Direct Export":

  1. Go to the database via Library Home page  at https://www.lib.purdue.edu/find/databases and select database
  2. Perform search
  3. Select references 
  4. Export references to EndNote Basic

Although the steps are same, the "Direct Export" feature varies for each database Vendor.  See chart below.  

In most databases you can select multiple references and export them together.  In Google Scholar each reference is exported individually.  See Video on setting up Google Scholar to export to EndNote Basic.

Tips on Exporting Citations for Sample Databases

Database

Vendor

Export Citations into EndNote Basic

Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)

ISI/Thomson Reuters

Select “Save to EndNote Online”

Academic Search Premier

Education Source

ERIC

PsycInfo

EBSCOhost

To add multile references, add them to folder, then from folder....

Select “Export” 

   -- Direct Export to EndNote Web

ProQuest Request Library

ABI INFORM/COMPLETE

Dissertations & Theses

Sociological Abstracts

MLA

 

ProQuest

Check (or tick) selected references, then....

Select “Export”

   -- EndNote, Citavi, or  Reference Manager

  (EndNote Web is an option under EndNote)

JSTOR

 

JSTOR

Select “Export Citation”

   --  RIS file (EndNote, ProCite, Reference
     Manager)

   --  Select "open", not save