Skip to main content
Purdue University Purdue Logo Purdue Libraries

Endnote Basic: COLLECT: Add Citations from WITHIN EndNote

This guide highlights the unique features of EndNote Basic (previously EndNote Web). EndNote Basic is free and can be used with or without EndNote Desktop software.

Collect: Videos on 2 Ways to Add Citations to Your EndNote Basic Library

Note:  In some of the tutorials EndNote Basic is called EndNote Web, which is the former name.

EndNote and EndNote Web Contact Librarians

NAME 

 SUBJECT AREA

Natasha Johnson Math
Hal Kirkwood Management, Economics,   Ag Econ, HTM, CSR
Judy Nixon  Education, Liberal Arts, Human Development & Family Studies
Megan Sapp Nelson Engineering, Technology
Amy Van Epps Science, Engineering,  Technology
David Zwicky   Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Materials Engineering

Collect: #1. Adding References Using Online Search from WITHIN EndNote Basic

Collect: #2 Adding Reference Manually

What about databases not listed in the drop down menu?

EndNote Web Online Search Connection only works with a limited number of online sources:

-- works with almost all library catalogs (free and open to everyone)

-- only works with databases to which you have access rights, e.g.:

      ** Web of Science - can export citations into an EndNote Web Library seamlessly
         (EndNote/EndNote Web and Web of Science are both produced by ISI/Thomson Reuters)

      ** PubMed - also can export citations into an EndNote Web Library seamlessly
         (NLM database - free to all users)

 

For most databases, you will have to do one of the following:

1) for some databases (e.g. EBSCOhost databases, Ovid/SP databases):

             a) open a database first
             b) perform a search
             c) then "export" the citations from the database into EndNote Web
                     (see page TAB "Direct Export DBs" above)

2) for other databases (e.g. CSA databases):

             a) open a database first
             b) perform a search
             c) save the citations into a file (text format)
             d) use "Collect" | Import References | to retrieve the citations into EndNote Web
                     (see page TAB "Import Using Filter" above)