Research Guides: HIST 395: History of Human Rights: Nongovernment Organizations

Nongovernment Organizations

Nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) play a significant role trying to influence national and international governments human rights policies. Representative examples include:

Alliance Defending Freedom
Conservative Christian legal organization defending religious freedom, the sanctity of life, and traditional moral and family values.
Amnesty International
Long-standing organization advocating for international human rights.

Gale Directory Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search, sort, and export a variety of information from multiple premier directories - use this database to locate approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. The database is also used to monitor association trends; identify related associations; networking and making professional contacts; marketing to associations, their members and markets.
Includes:
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations
National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations

Freedom House
Nonpartisan organization advocating international human rights and freedom.