Skip to main content

World War I Libraries Research Guide: Journals & Newspaper Articles

Provides access to scholarly resources on this topic including digital government and military documents from multiple countries.

Journal and Newspaper Articles

Newspaper and scholarly journal articles are excellent sources for conducting research on World War I.  They can give information about battlefield developments as well as topics such as public opinion, economic trends and developments, political debates and controversies, and the social impact of war on everyday life.

Examples of newspaper articles and journal databases Purdue faculty, staff, and students have access to include:

African-American Periodicals 1825-1995 (Provides perspectives on this community's views on this conflict.
America:  History and Life (Scholarly articles from U.S. and Canadian History journals.)
Dissertations and Theses (Doctoral disserations and theses from U.S. and foreign universities.)
Early American Newspapers Series 6 and 7 (Contains articles from U.S. newspapers between 1741-1922)
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2003) Articles from prominent British news magazine.
Historical Abstracts (Scholarly articles from history journals covering areas outside the U.S. and Canada)
Humanities and Social Science Retrospective Index (1907-1984)(Articles from news magazines during this time frame.)
JSTOR (Provides access to scholarly journal articles in a variety of disciplines.)
LexisNexis Academic (Legal section of this database provides access to federal and state court case opinions during World War I)
Military and Government Collections (Provides access to military related journal articles)
New York Times Historical (Provides articles from this newspaper from 1851-2009)
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports (Provides major business company annual financial reports)
Sabin Americana (1500-1926) Features the full text of most books published in the Americas during this time period.
Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 (Features articles from the Times of London during this time period.)
Wall Street Journal Historical 1889-1995 (Features articles from this key business newspaper during this time period.)

Selected Journals

Australian Army Journal

Canadian Military Journal

Historical Journal (Purdue Users Only)

Journal of Contemporary History (Purdue Users Only)

Journal of Military History (Purdue Users Only)

Military Review (Published since 1922 by U.S. Army's Command & General Staff College)
Naval Review (
British Royal Navy Journal published since 1913-Most recent 10 years not available)
Parameters:  Journal of the U.S. Army War College

Nongovernmental Archive
Hoover Institution Library and Archive
(Contains strong 20th century Russian and Eastern European collections.)

Subject Specialist

Bert Chapman's picture
Bert Chapman
Contact:
(765) 494-2837

Fax: (765) 494-9007