Brandon Bowen's poster "An App for That, Too? The Top Ten Most Popular (and Useful) Government Information Apps" received a People's Choice Award at the 2013 ACRL Conference in Indianapolis. (Brandon Bowen-IPFW).
Indiana State Library Celebrates 50th Anniversary as a Regional Depository: The Indiana State Library will be celebrating its 50th anniversary as a regional depository between 11:00-2:00 on Thursday, July 25. More information is available here (Katie Springer-ISL)
AirSea Battle Concept: During the 1970s and 1980s's the Defense Department developed the AirLand Battle plan which sought to counter Soviet backed combined arms attacks in Europe by degrading enemy rear echelon forces before they could attack allied forces. With the shifting of geopolitical emphasis to the Western Pacific in recent years, the security community (represented by think tanks such as the Center for Strategic and Budgetary Assessments)(CSBA)and the military have developed an updated AirSea Battle Concept to address Chinese ascendancy in the Western Pacific and ways to address Beijing's potential to restrict the ability of the U.S. to assist its allies in this region through Beijing's Anti-Acess and Area Denial (A2/A2 programs). These programs seek to limit the ability of U.S. forces to stop potential Chinese aggression against targets such as Taiwan by cutting off U.S. access to Taiwanese waters and restricting the ability of the U.S. to defend Taiwan or other allies once U.S. forces gain access to adjacent territories and waters. The complete text of this strategy is classified but a summary document from the military can be found here. This document stresses collaboration among all U.S. armed service branches and with allied countries in realistic operational settings. The following article from the Oct. 2012 Joint Force Quarterly and this CSBA report provide additional information. (Bert Chapman-Purdue University).
Marine Corps University Press: This is the publishing arm of Marine Corps University in Quantico, VA. It produces academic and policy oriented works on military affairs and international security with particular emphasis on counterinsurgency warfare and other Marine Corps related issues. Its publications include an annual scholarly journal
and various scholarly books with representative examples including Counterinsurgency Leadership in Afghanistan, Iraq, and Beyond, Acknowledging Limits: Police Advisors, Counterinsurgency, and Afghanistan, Confronting Security Challenges in the Korean Peninsula, and Rethinking a Middle East in Transition. (Bert Chapman-Purdue University)
Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration: Recent relevations that the Obama Administration's Internal Revenue Service targeted conservative and pro-Israel groups for extra and questionable scrutiny in their applications for tax-exempt status has increased public awareness of the role of the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration (TIGTA). TIGTA was established in 1998 under the IRS Restructuring and Reform Act (Public Law 105-206) to provide independent oversight of IRS activities. It aspires to promote economy, efficiency, and effectiveness in internal revenue law administration and is committed to preventing and detecting fraud, waste, and abuse within the IRS and related entities. Its website provides information about its activities and the text of its reports including semiannual reports to Congress and other audit reports. (Bert Chapman-Purdue University)
NASA Ebooks-NASA's History Office is a long-time producer of excellent in-depth analyses of NASA history and program development. It is now putting some of its works online in ebook formats such as Kindle and these can be found here.
(Bert Chapman-Purdue University).
Purdue Libraries News: We have migrated to Primo as our online library system. Our retrospective cataloging of historic U.S. Government documents these past few months has focused on documents from the Engineering Library's Department of Transportation and EPA collections. Bert Chapman has contributed several entries to CQ Press' Encyclopedia of Politics of the American West. These entries, on a variety of topics, are posted here within Purdue's digital institutional repository. He has also contributed material on the history of U.S. Government energy and climate change policy, and Russian and Chinese energy and climate change policy, to the forthcoming book Understanding the Global Energy Crisis to be published in March 2014 by Purdue University Press. Photos of historic Indiana bridges from 1921-1941 have been digitized by the Libraries Archives and Special Collections and can be found here. (Bert Chapman-Purdue University).
British Cabinet Office Historic Meeting Minutes-The British Cabinet is the key policymaking body of the British Government featuring decisions made by the Prime Minister and other cabinet secretaries on a variety of domestic and international issues. The British National Archives provides access to Cabinet meeting minutes and papers from 1915-1982. A rich variety of documents are covered within this collection including those covering the post-World War II creation of the National Health Service, Agricultural Policy since 1945, coal mining policy, and documents on the 1982 Falkland Islands War with Argentina. These are essential primary source documents from any student of 20th century British History. (Bert Chapman-Purdue University).